Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
"Myrthdom" by Jasper T. Scott is a fantastic blend of science fiction and fantasy that sparks with vivid imagination and great ideas. Our hero Aurelius needs to find a way home to his world and his own time, that is the main storyline of this book but it is filled with great fantasy episodes and characters to make this a very engaging read.
I am not a huge fan of...
Published 23 months ago by ChristophFischerBooks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars writing not mature enough for me
This book looked really promising with the fantasy and time travel theme.

Chapter one with the space battle kicks off well.

But it flops badly as the writing is too immature and the "hero" seems to jump from one crisis/battle to the next with no real character or story development.
Published 20 months ago by A. Frid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
"Myrthdom" by Jasper T. Scott is a fantastic blend of science fiction and fantasy that sparks with vivid imagination and great ideas. Our hero Aurelius needs to find a way home to his world and his own time, that is the main storyline of this book but it is filled with great fantasy episodes and characters to make this a very engaging read.
I am not a huge fan of science fiction or fantasy and only occasionally read works of those genres but I am very impressed with Myrthdom and its use of popular themes of fantasy and turning them into a new and original mix, some kind of Stardust meets Twilight and Lord of the Rings. An ambitious undertaking that works very well for me.
Scott has created an entire world of elves, leviathans, gryphons, werewolves, trolls, dragons, gremlins and meremaids, but with such love for detail and his work that the book easily stands out from the often repetitive and mediocre helpings of an overcrowded genre. Scott seems naturally at home in his style, confident in his writing and has created memorable characters.
I must confess I was surprised how easily the space ship and time portal part of the plot fitted into the fantasy world but the main focus is on Mrythdom, the new world that Aurelius encounters, where he and his companions have to brave the challenges a world full of fantasy creatures creates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars writing not mature enough for me, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
A. Frid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
This book looked really promising with the fantasy and time travel theme.

Chapter one with the space battle kicks off well.

But it flops badly as the writing is too immature and the "hero" seems to jump from one crisis/battle to the next with no real character or story development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi and magic, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
Decent quick read. Moves along at a pace from the start. Slightly odd mix of Sci-fi and magic and fantasy. Still, entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mrythdom was a good read, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed Mrythdom very much , a very good story but a few errors which didn't put me off on the whole very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp into fantasy, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
Slightly confusing at first, especially as to which "wrinkles" was which. Loads of scope for follow on books, could have descended into horror but kept moving and made an enjoyable light hearted read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
it got me hooked on the sample,nicely written will have to read more of his books in future,its nice read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Read!!!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
Starts off as a Lord of The Rings type buddy novel full of interesting nothing in common characters. People only put together due to fate. Turns into a sex, violence, girl power novel full of lust and dominance, Crying out to be made into an HBO special Rom Com in the style of Game of thrones.
Well written. Flows smoothly. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MRYTHDOM:game of time, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
Mediocre tale using Adam and eve principle nothing new just a different slant on as n old theme
But not too bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mrythdom, game of time., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
I like a long and well constructed story, particularly with a good ending, and this one fitted the bill. The concept of time travel, within science fiction writing is not new but Jasper Scott has struck the right balance. His interplay between the characters is good but I must confess that the wizards Gabian and Malgore confused me at first. It was difficult to see just who they were shape shifting with at the time but that small hiccup soon passed and the story went along at a good pace. Given that the plot was set well into the future, it did not "blind the reader with science and too much technojargon". I liked the concept of a mermaid queen and , together with her daughter, rather fancied meeting them !
To conclude, Jasper hit most of the right buttons with story content and plot and having read other books by this author, I can happily say I look forward to reading others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mrythdom, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrythdom: Game of Time (Kindle Edition)
This was quite a good story, it kept me busy reading for quite a time, I took about a week to read it all as I had to stop several times and I prefer to read a book in one 'sitting'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrythdom: Game of Time
Mrythdom: Game of Time by Jasper T. Scott
£2.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews