Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A first class read
A terrific read which kept me absorbed from the first to the last page. Well done Bob Carruthers and I look forward to reading some more of your works
Published 5 months ago by Mike

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ...gates of hell...
I found this book entertaining in some respects but in others a little slow. I did not like the personal "battle" between the individuals and found the story thin. I did like the technicla descriptions on the uses and limitations of the Stug which enhanced my understanding of its capability so in this respect it was worth the read. The defence of the fortress...
Published 9 months ago by PhippsAW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A first class read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
A terrific read which kept me absorbed from the first to the last page. Well done Bob Carruthers and I look forward to reading some more of your works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ...gates of hell..., 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
I found this book entertaining in some respects but in others a little slow. I did not like the personal "battle" between the individuals and found the story thin. I did like the technicla descriptions on the uses and limitations of the Stug which enhanced my understanding of its capability so in this respect it was worth the read. The defence of the fortress parts was as far as possible factual taking the Germans weeks to finally capture it after leaving it surrounded.
Not a great book but okay, worth a read if you like the German perspective as well as the other side...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Jonathan Baker (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
A prequel to tiger command this time set in the initial stage of attack on Russia. All characters are there from tiger command plus a new baddie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as Tiger Command, but still an enjoyable Story. The translation from german to english was obviously difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not great, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
I found this novel started out well with the writer really trying to get the atmosphere of suspense as the German force wait to unleash Barbarossa. Unfortunately not long after this the book becomes muddled and messy and it quickly becomes hard to identify one character as the main protagonist as we are shown events from more and more perspectives this leads to the main characters story becoming diluted.

Another problem I have is that for a book with this title I'd expect a fair amount of armoured combat to be included, but It seems that this is not the case as it features only a handful of times, what there is good and enjoyable to read but I would of liked more.

My main complaint however is that the book doesn't seem to know what it is, a historical journal or a piece of fiction set in WW2. This is due to the multitude of characters I mentioned all having their perspectives referenced which gives an overall/strategic view to the conflict you'd expect to find in a reference book not a personal account you want in a piece of fiction. Another example of this is the amount of name dropping there is which started to get a bit ridiculous.

**** SPOILER ALERT ****

Himmler, Heinrich Himmler and Canaris all feature in the book and Goering and hitler are also mentioned. All this together meant i reached the end of the book feeling confused as to what i had just read and waiting for some sort of conclusion which never came.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 13 April 2013
By 
Mr. Mark Hurry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
Great book well written and easy to read, I recommend Bob Carruthers as an author. Really well researched full of interesting details and facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the gates of hell, 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
Top book could not put down had to find out how it ended first class , good as other books by the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent book., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
A decent read in you are into Ww2 Geman Army, difficult to get into it but once started is a good read. Jumps about a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War book, 13 May 2014
By 
THOMAS MAIN (ABERDEEN ,SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Gates of Hell - StuG Command '41 (Kindle Edition)
I loved these books years ago and found out I still do. Can be quite horrendous but also funny at the same time. I have read the whole series of books and am quite happy to read again.It focuses on a German Penal Battalion whitch is a bit different from most war books but you soon learn to like the characters. Great read for anyone who reads war books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews