Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, thriller, crime, romance ... and excellent bike touring insights
Alastair's first book was great: ordinary Yorkshire lad toughens up in the crucible of Africa and triumphs. In his second and much better book, Alastair pushes himself even harder and becomes a Nietzschean superman, riding the Road of Bones in Siberia in winter in temperatures of minus 40 degrees. It's quite incredible how tough a man can become and still remain human,...
Published on 23 Jun 2008 by Stephen Lord

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are better cycle books
i loved the Authors approach to cheap travel, but i found myself a little frustarated that it was too much about his emotions and not enough about the facts of the ride (just my opinion, other people will disagree). Still a very good read, but i'm not sure i'll rush to read the sequal.
Published 11 months ago by embryo


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matures into a fine read, 12 April 2010
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
I was unsure of this writer to start with. Wondering if he was just a tad pretentious, particularly 'networking' his way onto the cross-ocean yacht. However, I think I may have been wrong. As the book progresses the story becomes more down to earth and the true trials, and tribulations, and struggle, and the person, seems to be revealed. A good read. I enjoyed it. Particularly post 'the America's'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant story., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine: Around the World by Bike, Part 2 (Kindle Edition)
Alistair's story is inspirational. He shows that the world isn't such a bad place that the media make it out to be. Good look for you future expeditions, hopefully on some far flung adventure our paths will cross.

Captain Adam Hugill, The Yorkshire Regiment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and beautifully executed., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
A superb sequel to Mood of Future Joys. Alastair's honesty, humour and natural flowing style help make him a very engaging writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i was sorry when it ended, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine: Around the World by Bike, Part 2 (Kindle Edition)
What a great read and so well written. Alastair holds your interest throughout. Quite an achievement and it was heartwarming to see things turned out so well for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
Really great read. Even better than part 1. Covers the journey from southern tip of Americas through USA, Russia, Japan, China, Central Asia and home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional read, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Barbara (HOGNASTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine: Around the World by Bike, Part 2 (Kindle Edition)
Alistair's first book which took him from home, down through Africa was good. He is an honest down to earth author who tells it as it is. The good and the bad. This is something I like about him.

This book took him from where he left off in the first book, in Cape town to the lowest tip of the America's, up to Alaska, Siberia and home to the UK. What a journey. He describes the people, towns, countryside, conditions, dangers, weather together with his feelings, his hopes, fears and determination as we travel though the pages with him. It seems we are there with him from the heat to the freeze from the tears to the relief and the laughter.

He endured so much there were times when I wanted him to extend one part and not skip the next few days/weeks or even countries but he has had to condense a journey of many years into two volumes. I just didn't want the book to end.

This is a book to take with you when you are on a ride. If it is bad for you, Alistair has endured more and it has helped make him the man is now is. He has the ant philosophy - never give up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
Excellent sequel, more of the same good stuff. Really interesting perspective on cycling and travel writing. Travelling through South America and Russia are the most interesting bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine: Around the World by Bike, Part 2 (Kindle Edition)
I like riding my bike, I like reading about others riding theirs, particularly in far away lands. This book is the perfect balance of everything that is right with a cycle touring book. Pictures are painted in the mind of far away places, struggles are shared and emotions are empathised. I have read Rob Lilwall's "Cycling Home From Siberia" in which he rides through Siberia and Japan with Alastair and both journeys read completely differently. The only downside is that I've finished it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A.H. the Great, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
What an amazing book. I really like adventure Biographies and have read quite a few of them. This book by Alastair keeps up the interest all the way through and I like the way he describes the people and places and gets down to the nitty-gritty. He is an incredibly brave man and I admire his strength....not just his physical strength but also his mental strength. It wasn't untill I was checking the eye-Bookshelf at the back of the book that I noticed he had written part one 'Moods of Future Joys'.....it will be with me in a couple of days, courtesy of Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind boggling, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
If i thought Etheopia was tough it was childs play compared to siberia. At least if alastair could survive Siberia then things like ,bankruptcy,rudeness, robbery, homelessness starvation,mental and physical abuse,bullying,broken bones,loneliness would seem like a piece of cake.
Okay i have had a couple of near death experiences myself and yes i do feel those experieces have toughened me up. But just think of alastair who must have had thousands of near death experiences during his four years of cycling round the world. And it was not just the cycling but the low budget camping and eating that was so remarkable.
Well done alastair! This is a very well written book and an inspiation to all who read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews