Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun compilation
Bought this as a Christmas gift and then read it myself after it had been opened as it's ideal for dipping in and out of and having a laugh. The book has two front covers, one side is 'Dumb Britain', daft answers on tv and radio quiz shows such as the Mississippi is in Egypt, Mary I was a Buddhist and Shane Warne played cricket for France while the other side is...
Published 18 months ago by indoors

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny book
As a subscriber to Private Eye I found this a good read but I guess that says more about me than the book itself!
Published 6 months ago by Gary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun compilation, 28 Jan 2013
By 
indoors (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Christmas gift and then read it myself after it had been opened as it's ideal for dipping in and out of and having a laugh. The book has two front covers, one side is 'Dumb Britain', daft answers on tv and radio quiz shows such as the Mississippi is in Egypt, Mary I was a Buddhist and Shane Warne played cricket for France while the other side is 'Commentatorballs' from people as diverse as Robbie Savage and Nick Clegg. With some of the choices, it's possible to see what the speaker meant, I liked Ian Holloway's "We're on the crest of a slump" and some are just mixed metaphors or slips of the tongue while others take a little more working out.

It depends on your attitude whether you think people are stupid and it's a damning indictment of Britsh society or whether it's just a bit of fun as people get nervous on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colemanballs16 and Dumb Britain 3 in one book, 2 Jan 2013
By 
D. J. Brimer (Nottingham - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
If you're looking for Colemanballs edition 16 and can't find it, don't despair. This is it, kind of. It's called Commentatorballs now. The name change coinciding with creator and long-time compiler Bary Fantoni's retirement combined with the realisation that not all readers will know who David Coleman, the original inspiration for the series, is.

If you're looking for Dumb Britain edition 3. This is also it. Flip the book over and the other half is Dumb Britain, a collection of daft answers from UK quiz shows.

The two sections meet in the middle.

Anyway, five stars from me. Because it's two books that I know and love combined into one volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
I thought it would be annual size. It is very very funny and I had to wrap it up to stop myself reading it before giving it to hubby for his birthday. Wish they were still called Colemanballs though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but they are all along the same joke., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
Not a book to settle down and read from cover to cover. It's a dip-in book - read a bit and then leave it a while. If only I could think of a good room in the house to keep it in for just such a reading style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very amusing, 21 Mar 2013
By 
LadyB (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
An ideal book to dip in and out of . A definite for fans of Private Eye, and quiz shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny book, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
As a subscriber to Private Eye I found this a good read but I guess that says more about me than the book itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
I used to love Colemanballs and still have every copy in my collection, but eyeballs is even better.

Well worth buying as a tonic for the blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eyeballs book, 30 April 2014
By 
S. Walford "loyal reader" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
So funny - we can't stop laughing! It amuses adults and older children too Well worth buying. A brilliant book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Staring down the barrel of a good laugh, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs: A Double Vision of Delightful Drivel (Private Eye) (Kindle Edition)
This is great if you want a good chuckle at the more "interesting" answers given in British quizzes and the gaffes of sports commentators. A nice read and just about the right length, although part of me thinks it's a little on the short side. Nevertheless, a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Christmas gift, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyeballs (Private Eye) (Hardcover)
If you're instinctively drawn to the "Dumb Britain" and "Commentatorballs" segments of the regular magazine, this is perfect for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews