Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and subtle
It is hard to explain how this music hits you when you first listen to it. It is a jazz-funk-soul-tribal-chillout fusion with a subtle texture that seems as if its barely gracing its beauty on the speakers. It is perfect in every way - two guys from Hull making heaven out of electronica.
Maim that Tune starts off with a funky riff and drowsy beats that develop into a...
Published on 7 Jan 2003 by A chillout fan

versus
17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Subtle Class
To be honest, I really didnt know what to expect with this cd. I had heard of fila b before, but in my mind I had pretty much thought it would be some kind of jazzy chilled drum and bass or something. Well, Im pretty damn wrong, but thats okay!
This cd really is something different. It is ultimately background music. It doesnt leap out at you. To be honest, half...
Published on 27 Feb 2004 by C. S. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and subtle, 7 Jan 2003
By 
A chillout fan (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
It is hard to explain how this music hits you when you first listen to it. It is a jazz-funk-soul-tribal-chillout fusion with a subtle texture that seems as if its barely gracing its beauty on the speakers. It is perfect in every way - two guys from Hull making heaven out of electronica.
Maim that Tune starts off with a funky riff and drowsy beats that develop into a more mature second track, A Zed and Two L's, which is a laid-back fusion of Native American tribal chanting and crystalline synthesizers.
At Home in Space is restful and funky at the same time, with solid bass guitar lines and captivating harmony.
Slacker is probably the best track, with a slowly developing four minute drum sequence broadening out into supersonic effects and loops.
Maim is concluded by Subtle Body, an extremely beautiful chill-out track with chimes and insecessant piano harmony.
Whether a rough day at the office, or just a bad time, an hour of this bliss will send all your worries flying. A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A downtempo classic, 9 Oct 2001
By 
Tom Douglas (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
Fila Brazillia. Two blokes from Hull.
And one of the cornerstones of the evergrowing downtempo movement.
While its basically electronica, Fila Brazillia have a ear for melody and a musical taste that takes in many influences.
And their albums do vary in style and content.
Maim That Tune is very downtempo, smooth, chilled. Its genesis is trancy club music, rather than breakbeat jazz, making it an ideal wind-down to a night out.
Stand-out tracks are Slacker, a hypnotic post-club voyage of trance, and Subtle Body, a zephyr of a track, so gentle it barely caresses your ears.
If you are new to Fila, this is as good a place to start as any. If you are expanding your Fila collection, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent chilled out funky grooves, 18 Dec 2000
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
This CD is True Relaxation with its fantastic trip-hoppy grooves combined with a Latin Flava! Beatifully constructed soundscapes abound in this eclectic collection. Check out the Bill Hicks monologue on no.7/8. And no.9 carries a health warning for rapid expansion of the mind..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from Fila, 3 Feb 2004
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
I now own a vast amount of Fila albums and this is the one which kicked it off, the one that brought my attention to these musical geniuses.
I actually bought the album because I had vaguely heard of Fila Brazillia, it was cheap and the reviews reckoned it to be one of Filas finest moments and the reviews were not wrong.
The album starts off fairly slow and mellow and peaks with a mix of funky tunes layered with spoken samples. This album is a must if you like electronic music.
A true classic and one of the best from Fila.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Fila Album!!!, 24 May 2005
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
Maim That Tune is the second album by Fila Brazillia and quite possibly the best in terms of longevity. This is due to the album taking a clear move from the abstract ambience of their first album Old Codes/New Chaos towards the funkier edge that dominates the albums following Maim That Tune, nestling perfectly somewhere between the two differing sounds. This makes the album an instant classic that can be listened to repeatedly due to it having an appeal of being both ambient and funk infused without ever becoming tired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST Fila B CD, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
You can't get better Fila B than this. This is the greatest of all their albums I think. The guys from Hull are the coolest underground musicians in the UK. Pure ear pleasure, beat fest and melody making coolness. TOTAL Atmosphere is all I can say. Go and get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What I Want To Hear, 10 Oct 2006
By 
Seamus Evely "Discover It" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
I am fairly new to Fila's work. I, however, am not unfirmiliar with downtempo and such genres of music. I had heard of Fila from a ways back and kinda forgot about them to be honest. I now listen to these guys almost exclusively and cannot believe their musical taste, it is so freakin' addictive. This album like mentioned by almost everyone else is very smooth and chilled out. I think of everything I have heard this album is the most cohesive and easy to digest. On most albums I find at least half of it toxic, in a good way of course, but the others a little more difficult to really get deep in groove. I am a musician and understand the concept of mixing melodies to create one sound and these guys are maestro's of this art. Album highlights are A Zed & 2 L's, Subtle Body, Leggy, the first track, which I refuse to type out due to the title, and Harmonica's are Shite. These are some of the greatest pieces of music that I am yet to experience. Great piece of music this album is and is unparalled with most electronica that I listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the early days Fila, 21 Feb 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
Fila sure have fired out alot of albums in their time. If I was restricted to only being able to own three I would say that Powerclown, Brazilification 1 and this little gem would be my choices.
Powerclown represents the best of more recent Fila and Brazilificaion 1 is the best of all their remixes, Maim That Tune is possibly the best of all their original works.
There are some simply wonderful spine tingler tracks on here. You can't pigeon the style and they are simple yet oh so effective. After a low key opener you're then treated to one of the best tracks I've ever heard, A Zed And 2 L's. Gentle keys washing over a lazy break with deep sub bass and laid back African chanting switch halfway through as the tempo doubles and the synths and breaks soar around your mind ... all this then gently settles back to its original tempo. Lush!
And its not a one track album either, 6ft Wasp grooves along with a wonderfully dirty funk bassline before a cunning Bill Hicks takes the album into Slacker, a hypnotic house groover. Not like any old house music, driving yet chilled with soft burbling acid synths running through it.
The album rounds off with some lovely laid back ambient moments, ensuring you're taken on the full rollercoaster ride. The boys from Hull on best form.
Ensure that you have this album in your collection SOON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the early days Fila, 3 Feb 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
Fila sure have fired out alot of albums in their time. If I was restricted to only being able to own three I would say that Powerclown, Brazilification 1 and this little gem would be my choices.
Powerclown represents the best of more recent Fila and Brazilificaion 1 is the best of all their remixes, Maim That Tune is possibly the best of all their original works.
There are some simply wonderful spine tingler tracks on here. You can't pigeon the style and they are simple yet oh so effective. After a low key opener you're then treated to one of the best tracks I've ever heard, A Zed And 2 L's. Gentle keys washing over a lazy break with deep sub bass and laid back African chanting switch halfway through as the tempo doubles and the synths and breaks soar around your mind ... all this then gently settles back to its original tempo. Lush!
And its not a one track album either, 6ft Wasp grooves along with a wonderfully dirty funk bassline before a cunning Bill Hicks takes the album into Slacker, a hypnotic house groover. Not like any old house music, driving yet chilled with soft burbling acid synths running through it.
The album rounds off with some lovely laid back ambient moments, ensuring you're taken on the full rollercoaster ride. The boys from Hull on best form.
Ensure that you have this album in your collection SOON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chillout at its best, 17 Aug 2005
This review is from: Maim That Tune (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after having the group recommended to me through an online music profile builder. I agree that it can be treated as background music, it is perfect for putting on when you are trying to do some work and just need something to keep you company. What sets this apart though is in how it stands up to the closer scrutiny of listening to it with your headphones on, concentrating on the subtle layers and deeper sounds.
This is my first Fila Brazilia purchase and I shall definitely be seeking out some more. I cannot believe that I have never heard of them before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maim That Tune
Maim That Tune by Fila Brazillia
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews