Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customising the Acer Aspire S3
I purchased this laptop in late April sadly at a higher price than it is currently being sold at. I read the comments and criticisms of the item with interest. However all can be addressed with some simple configurations;

1. Colours washed out - You can increase the Saturation in the Intel HD Graphic Properties (You can find it in the Control Panel called...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. D.T. Aitkenhead

versus
54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not great, but great for what I paid
Let me start with the cons:

CONS
- Fan often goes on, so it's noisy. This can happen while doing mundane stuff, like web surfing
- Colors are washed out. The only good thing about the LCD is that it extends all the way back, nearly 180 degrees
- Shallow key travel makes for a subpar typing experience. It really is quite shallow to other notebook...
Published 19 months ago by M. J. De


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customising the Acer Aspire S3, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this laptop in late April sadly at a higher price than it is currently being sold at. I read the comments and criticisms of the item with interest. However all can be addressed with some simple configurations;

1. Colours washed out - You can increase the Saturation in the Intel HD Graphic Properties (You can find it in the Control Panel called "Intel(R) Graphics and Media") click it and navigate to "Display" >"Colour Enhancement" > "Saturation", for my setting I slide it to 20, but it is up to the individual user whether you like more colour in it or not.

2. Problems with Windows 8 on a non touchscreen device - Download a little piece of software called 'Startisback' (www.startisback.com)and you can set up the Acer as not only a Windows 7 User Interface but allows you to flip between a Windows 7 and Windows 8 UI so you can have both.

3. Sensitive mouse pad - it does take a bit of getting used to but connecting a wireless mouse effectively bypasses the problem

This is a good piece of kit from Acer and with these minor modifications, it is truly excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not great, but great for what I paid, 15 May 2013
By 
M. J. De - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start with the cons:

CONS
- Fan often goes on, so it's noisy. This can happen while doing mundane stuff, like web surfing
- Colors are washed out. The only good thing about the LCD is that it extends all the way back, nearly 180 degrees
- Shallow key travel makes for a subpar typing experience. It really is quite shallow to other notebook keyboards I've used. Almost comparable to the Surface keyboard cover.
- Poor keyboard layout, e.g. function keys aren't activated by a fn + x combo, but more useful keys are; the lift shift key is cut in half; 1/3 of the Enter key is cut off; the tilde is placed oddly, etc.
- The trackpad is super-clicky, but otherwise ok
- Battery life is nowhere near 6hrs. I'm getting about 3 while not doing anything too heavy and screen brightness at around 75% (bluetooth off, wifi on). One might be able to get 4hrs, but I guess you'd have to be doing something as basic as word processing.

PROS
- I paid a mere 430 quid for the Core i5, latest Ivy Bridge version with 500GB HDD and 20GB SSD. That's crazy cheap for this thin and light notebook
- This thing is very thin and very light.
- 2 USB 3.0 ports, though some may not like their rear placement
- Full HDMI out port
- Decent design and construction, especially for the price
- Fully compatible out of the box with linux (Kubuntu in my case), save for one config edit for brightness control

I'd recommend this thing to anyone looking for a thin and light notebook on a budget provided you can score it for very cheap. If you need a lot of battery juice though, I'd look somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price, this is an excellent ultrabook. It zips along, is pretty smooth and is as light as a feather.
And I write as an iMac, macbook and ipad user.
The only real drawback is that, at the end of the day, Win 8 on a laptop without a touch screen is a slightly strange experience – kind of two worlds in one. I suppose each user needs to find their way of working, switching (or not), between the traditional Windows laptop experience and the Win 8 app experience. Personally, the win 8 app thing doesn't really do it for me. However, there are a number of very welcome additions in Win 8, such as the back-up facility, which is about as like Time Machine as it's possible to be without actually being Time Machine. There are several other Mac-like additions, all of them good.
At the end of the day, using this laptop feels rather like using a poor man's Macbook Air or Macbook Pro; but at this price, it's only those who can afford the huge price differential who should even think about a mac alternative instead of this great, value-for-money little machine. Then again, if you have the dosh, there's no comparison....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good laptop, maybe better with Windows7 than 8., 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Computer is light and fast. No disk drive incorporated, but works fine with an external drive. Windows 8 is a pain- really designed for touch screens, so does not work so well on a conventional laptop. It kept changing Windows whenever I touched the left side of the touchpad till I discovered how to disable this. On the plus side, the speed of start-up and connection to the Internet is impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lap Top Too Noisy, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The lap top seemed okay, would have prefered a touchscreen. The problem was that when it was at rest it created a constant drone, must be the battery? It sounded like a low level hoover, so I sent it back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value and good looking laptop, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good build and value, and seems to be pretty reliable 7 months on. Worth a buy - good for university as it's easy to move around, looks good and does everything else you'll need it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ultra book to nice price, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Acer Aspire S3-391 13.3-inch Ultrabook (4GB RAM, 500GB HDD) (Personal Computers)
Works perfectly for surfing, office work, watching movies and some gaming! Battery capacity is also great and last between 3-4 hours when surfing or watching movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it. It looks classy and works well., 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't believe the experts. Acer are better than they say. I was put off by them but took a chance and have no regrets thus far. Experts you will find are not worth the paper their qualifications are written on.

This product does all it says on the label. Charge holding span of the battery could be longer but then it depends on how you use it. Would buy another one. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars light-weight and very slim, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire S3-391 13.3-inch Ultrabook (4GB RAM, 500GB HDD) (Personal Computers)
Just as described, light weight adn very slim. Not too keen on Windows 8, but I suppose I'll get used to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire S3-391 13.3-inch Ultrabook (4GB RAM, 500GB HDD) (Personal Computers)
I wanted a small lightweight notebook for travelling, and this is just perfect for me. I'm not equally pleased with the software though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews