Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars108
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.06+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2015
DVD VERSION.

Sound

I owned the DVD version of this disc and played it either through an upscaling Panasonic bluray player or my Pioneer upscaling DVD player. In the initial settings, you need to select Dolby DTS 5.1 or the soundtrack will default to a two channel PCM soundtrack. When played through a home cinema system, the results are as different as chalk and cheese. There is a full and rich surround sound track that gives very much an arena feel. You soon lose yourself in the concert and forget about being too critical in the audio soundtrack. It's certainly top notch for DVD.

Video

The quality is good but there is a little graininess where the coloured shafts of light blend into the darkness of the arena. All in all though, the colours are bright and true with what appears to be the right amount of saturation. The clarity is also good but some definition is lost in the graininess described above. If you have a regular DVD player, you won't be disappointed in this DVD.

BLURAY VERSION.

I was a bit concerned that my £18 investment might not be worthy having after all been laid down to disc from the same sound and video equipment that was used way back in 2004. Would it be an improvement or just amplify the imperfections of the DVD. I'm pleased to report that my concerns were unfounded and that the equipment that was used that night was capable of some astonishing results.

Sound

OK, lots of talk about lip sync problems in the attached reviews. I don't know if this was with faulty discs or with the equipment but let me assure you that at no point in my copy is there the slightest hint. It is perfect from start to finish. In the settings, you need to set DTS 5.1 again but this actually results in a Dolby DTS HD master soundtrack and the results are astounding. You are there amongst the crowd and having been to several live Eagles concerts, there is no way I could detect a difference between the recording and actually being there. The base is full and the treble is clear. It just makes you want to turn it up.

Video

Viewed on a high end Panasonic plasma, the results are very pleasing. It is just like looking through a 42 inch window where not only has that graininess gone in the shafts of coloured light but the guys are human. You can see beads of sweat on Henleys top lip that aren't there on the DVD version! Deep blacks merge into rich colours and pure white. Skin tones are natural and it's all beautifully smooth. The cameras have captured it pin sharp and in my opinion, worth every penny of the purchase price. Another benefit of the Blu-ray disc is that there is no need to change discs half way through. The only critism I have which is minor, is that the there is a slight delay in the soundtrack when indexing through the tracks. I believe it's only a result of all the ones and zeros catching up with each other and after a couple of seconds it all syncs up perfectly. Don't forget you have to select the HD master sound track every time you load the disc in the sound settings or it will default to PCM. If you don't have a home theatre, don't touch it, it will play just fine.

Perfect!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
I own the 2 disc DVD version of this and thought the DTS sound quality was great for DVD format, so when I realised the Blu Ray version was available I didn't hesitate to buy it.
Is the Blu ray version that much better? Absolutely. The HD audio and picture quality completely trounces the DVD format and all on a single disc too
Highly recommended as demo material for a decent AV system, even if you're not an Eagles fan.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This is a lovely blu ray DVD to watch. Even if you have a (well worn like mine) copy of the otiginal 2-disc DVD it is well worth upgrading to this. You could be IN the Rod Laver arena. The accoustics (particularly with the horns) are fantastic and the picture is crystal clear!

This is a very pleasant evenngs viewing while I wait for the Documentary DVD to be released later this month.......
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
This is a great concert. The sound and picture is good but particularly the sound. It is good quality and the DTS soundtrack is very clear and well done. Its as if you are at the concert itself the sound is so clear. The fact is in owning this you can have the eagles play in your living room everyday or night you choose and save on the three figure ticket fees they currently charge. Well worth owning and I personally think it has more varied viewpoints than Hell Freezes Over and the sound is just as good if not better than that. Great Concert!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I HAD THIS ON ORDINAIRY DVD YET WAS COMPELLED TO BUY MY FIRST EVER BLUE RAY AS MY COMPUTER CAME WITH A BLUE RAY DRIVE.

OMG WITH THE 5.1 SURROUND SOUND TURNED UP , MY WHOLE FLAT SHOOK WITH SOUND QUALITY TIGHTER THAN A BUDGIE'S BACKSIDE SORRY FOR THE CRUDE EXPLANATION BUT THIS WAS TIGHT AND IT WAS JUST LIKE BEING AT THE GIG, I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING LIKE IT BEFORE IN MY LIFE AND THE QUALITY OF PICTURE HAS IMPROVED ABOUT 500% FROM THE ORIGINAL DVD, MEAT LOAF GET ONE OF YOUR GIGS ON BLUE RAY, PLEEEEEEEEASE!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
These guy's are great, every track has a diffrent take, simply put,
they are timeless music to my ears, most of the times i watch this concert, i find a new take to the tracks, guitars or keyboards,
another thing about these guys is that they are so relax, very enjoyable disc & concert,
not in a rush, like some other bands, who just wanna get it over & done with,
not this group, even coming back to stage due to encore request from fans at the end of concert twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
Having been a fan since seeing the Eagles live at Bingley Hall Stafford, England in May 1977, I had only relied on LPs (Remember those?)and CDs. This was my first Hi Def music DVD and the quality was stunning. Its nice to see that all the members of the group have matured with grace. Just good quality music without the need to prance about like over aged teenagers. The sound and image quality are superb. It was like having your own personal concert it your living room. My only hope after watching them live in the Manchester arena, England in 2009, is that they consider releasing a new Blu-ray DVD of the Road out of Eden tour. It would be a delight to have some new tracks to compliment the superb old tracks on all their current DVDs. However that said if you are going to buy only one Eagles DVD then the Farewell Tour is for you.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
For me this was a Blu Ray that exceeded my best expectations.

An outstanding performance from the Eagles, with perfect execution and nice sound and image. A very professional work from this guys.

All Eagle fans will listen the songs they want, since the old times until the most recent. It's a very complete and nice song selection.

They can say it was a Farewell Tour, but I'm happy just to be able to play this Blu Ray when I want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
Another quality concert release from The Eagles. Great HD picture quality and the sound if fantastic. Although it is not advertised on the packaging anywhere, this HD-DVD features a "DTS-HD Master Audio" audio track which gives outstanding audio quality if you have the right decoding equipment.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I am a great fan of the EAGLES and already had the DVD version of this great concert which was recorded at the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne. As this Blu-ray version was available at a good price, I bought it and have been very impressed with the overall improvements in both sound as well as video quality. Highly recommended to all fans of the Eagles who will surely enjoy this as much as I do - repeatedly!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)