Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A family-story of Scottish all-day-life from 1938 till postwartime at its best
This story about a Scottish family living in the Edinburgh suburb Leith is very well told. It's the kind of family-saga that is unputdownable. It covers the years from 1938 on through the 2nd World War and postwartime. It had been meagre years for the Campbell-family: first the parents separated, or rather the mother pushed a useless father out of the very modest home...
Published on 28 Sept. 2008 by bookreader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read
An Easy going book for reading. Enjoyable to read at the beach when you do not have much on your mind
Published 19 months ago by Erini-virginia Dafni


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A family-story of Scottish all-day-life from 1938 till postwartime at its best, 28 Sept. 2008
This story about a Scottish family living in the Edinburgh suburb Leith is very well told. It's the kind of family-saga that is unputdownable. It covers the years from 1938 on through the 2nd World War and postwartime. It had been meagre years for the Campbell-family: first the parents separated, or rather the mother pushed a useless father out of the very modest home. Then wartime made it more difficult to survive and make ends meet. And after war it was only a tedious start to struggle onwards and upwards.
Rachel, the brave Mum, with all her strengths and limitations, fights do do the best or what she thinks best for her children, often unrewarded. Carrie and Sam, the twins, are to take responsibilities not only for their younger siblings Paul and Alice, but for the economical survival of the family, and are supposed to do without any advanced education, though they were so capable. Despite the daily hardships they remained children, had a childhood with all the joys, excitements and disappointments. And there was Hannah, the eldest, who always seemed to be a bit turned away from family matters, but had her share too in their welfare. Granny Rosie was the children's comfort and her home a refuge. She was a Granny of the kind, every child should have one.
Finally the family members all made their way - one way or another. This all is quite humorously written, and amply used Scots makes the story authentic.
And for people who know Leith, the local colour will be an extra delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a Class of Their Own, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. A. G. P. Mclean (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A wonderful nostalgic read, made more poignant because I grew up in the area in Millie's story. She describes the poverty, hardships and struggles of the war years, but injects so much humour to keep the reader laughing heartily on one page then in tears the next. Her description of the Restalrig and Leith areas brought so many memories back to me that I intend to read it again - just in case I missed anything. I have bought the book for various members of my family and everyone of them, without exception, have loved it. Even my Mum of 91 thought it was a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
Erini-virginia Dafni (Athens Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
An Easy going book for reading. Enjoyable to read at the beach when you do not have much on your mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
Although I read it to the end, it was interesting but not particularly gripping. Having to re-read every second or third line to make sure that I had understood what was written in a Scottish accent got a bit annoying. A nice enough read but only because I paid less than £1 for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great book, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book ,laughed and cried but really enjoyed it . Being Scottish I enjoyed the dialogue in Scots . Keep the book s coming Millie .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
First time I have read a book by Millie Gray, was a very good read once I got into the dialect, will try another one of her books then maybe more stars next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In a class of their own, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
I give this book 3 stars cause I enjoyed the story based in Edinburgh and I would recommend this book to everyone especially if you live in Edinburgh and can connect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Scottish, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
Found this book very hard to understand, but persevered. Not really liking it. Far to slow, not enough going on to keep one interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend., 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Class of Their Own (Kindle Edition)
I usually enjoy this kind of story but I abandoned this one part way in. It takes too long to get anywhere and while I appreciate at times it is necessary to use a dialect for the characters speech, it should really be restricted to helping build a particular character. This author rather restricts her audience because if you are unfamiliar with the particular Scottish accent then it becomes quite a chore. Glad I didn't pay full price for this book & will not be looking for the authors further works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In a Class of their Own by Millie Gray, 14 Dec. 2010
This is an excellent insight into life as it was in Leith in the years prior to and during the second world war and the struggles the working class encountered then. Although the story line is ficticious, you can easily recognise the streets and places in the book, the standard of living so many encountered and the challenges they faced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In a Class of Their Own
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews