Customer Reviews


530 Reviews
5 star:
 (408)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better, solid series
This has seen a return to form; no random, melodramatic storylines, some shocks and well executed arc to the story. Ok, it is not as fresh as Series 1 but it never could be. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable series with several storylines which are clearly being planted and not rushed.

To be truthful, I can't wait for the Christmas special!
Published 10 months ago by S&S

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey is carefully done but
I miss Matthew. I adore Maggie Smith but there is too little of her in the series. I would enjoy more speed and substance than is now present in this slowly moving series. I rather look at garden series now, there is more to see in them.
Published 3 months ago by Toivonen Terttu T


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better, solid series, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This has seen a return to form; no random, melodramatic storylines, some shocks and well executed arc to the story. Ok, it is not as fresh as Series 1 but it never could be. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable series with several storylines which are clearly being planted and not rushed.

To be truthful, I can't wait for the Christmas special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting viewing, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
While I enjoyed watching this series i felt it lacked the fascination of the last series.I think too much emphasis was put on the lad who didnt return daisies affection and not enough on other characters.hope the next series captures the warmth of earlier series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Junk food for the brain., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great for binge viewing. The only disappointment was that the special Christmas episode was not included in the collection I purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey is carefully done but, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I miss Matthew. I adore Maggie Smith but there is too little of her in the series. I would enjoy more speed and substance than is now present in this slowly moving series. I rather look at garden series now, there is more to see in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molesley, 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I read that many viewers were let down by season 4 but I watched all eight episodes in two sittings. I think Mr Molesley is my new favorite character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Studios MAKING $$$$$, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
If you purchase this UK version you will not get the complete series. The last episode is missing from this series. You have to buy it separately. If you don't purchase the extra episode events in the next series will not make sense. The US versions have all of the episodes. This is the studio making money & not informing the sellers of this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pricing structure for series 4 - blu-ray, 3 Dec 2013
By 
D. Riley "David Stephen Riley" (Poole, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was just about to place my order for the latest series series 4 of Downton Abbey until I realised that the cost of £34.99 was only a penny less than the complete series 1-4 plus the two Christmas editions. As the complete set is around 30 hours compared with 8 hours for series 4, this makes no economic sense. Plus the fact that the blu-ray discs for the previous series are only about a third what Amazon are currently attempting to charge, I cannot help but feel that we are being taken for a bit of a ride bearing in mind the close proximity of Christmas.
I have cancelled my order until the price drops to a more realistic level and Amazon apologises for attempting to rip off the public.
David Riley, Poole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars actors seem and look bored with their lines, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It was a bit disappointing, no real new believable plots, a lot of deja vu and sometimes questioned the quality of the acting, actors seem and look bored with their lines; pity as seasons 1 to 3 were so good. Don't have much interest in season 5. Having said that settings, dresses and watching the world of that time changing is still very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snore- fest, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Drone drone drone - blah blah blah - bland. Totally lost interest in this series. It's over already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding series but blatant studio profiteering!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Outstanding series. However, I watched series three and then started four to find things had moved on significantly! Come on Universal Pictures UK. Include everything in the series box sets including the specials which are required to tell the whole story. Profiteering at its worst!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] by Maggie Smith (DVD - 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews