Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better, solid series
This has seen a return to form; no random, melodramatic storylines, some shocks and well executed arc to the story. Ok, it is not as fresh as Series 1 but it never could be. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable series with several storylines which are clearly being planted and not rushed.

To be truthful, I can't wait for the Christmas special!
Published 19 months ago by S&S

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as fresh as the first seasons
I feel as if Downton Abbey has been going steadily downhill, the plots are not very original any more and some episodes felt like a glorified soap opera. Still very much worth watching for the occasional gems of witty dialogue, and because I had to find out what happens to my favourite characters.

My mother, on the other hand, enjoyed this much better than...
Published 4 months ago by Irene


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better, solid series, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This has seen a return to form; no random, melodramatic storylines, some shocks and well executed arc to the story. Ok, it is not as fresh as Series 1 but it never could be. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable series with several storylines which are clearly being planted and not rushed.

To be truthful, I can't wait for the Christmas special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as fresh as the first seasons, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I feel as if Downton Abbey has been going steadily downhill, the plots are not very original any more and some episodes felt like a glorified soap opera. Still very much worth watching for the occasional gems of witty dialogue, and because I had to find out what happens to my favourite characters.

My mother, on the other hand, enjoyed this much better than Season 3, which goes to show that it's all a matter of taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting viewing, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
While I enjoyed watching this series i felt it lacked the fascination of the last series.I think too much emphasis was put on the lad who didnt return daisies affection and not enough on other characters.hope the next series captures the warmth of earlier series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pricing structure for series 4 - blu-ray, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
D. Riley "David Stephen Riley" (Poole, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was just about to place my order for the latest series series 4 of Downton Abbey until I realised that the cost of £34.99 was only a penny less than the complete series 1-4 plus the two Christmas editions. As the complete set is around 30 hours compared with 8 hours for series 4, this makes no economic sense. Plus the fact that the blu-ray discs for the previous series are only about a third what Amazon are currently attempting to charge, I cannot help but feel that we are being taken for a bit of a ride bearing in mind the close proximity of Christmas.
I have cancelled my order until the price drops to a more realistic level and Amazon apologises for attempting to rip off the public.
David Riley, Poole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Studios MAKING $$$$$, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
If you purchase this UK version you will not get the complete series. The last episode is missing from this series. You have to buy it separately. If you don't purchase the extra episode events in the next series will not make sense. The US versions have all of the episodes. This is the studio making money & not informing the sellers of this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Delivers Again, 10 Nov. 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
With a global audience of over 125 million, Downton Abbey Season 4 is probably the most anticipated show this year. This number of followers is set to increase as Chinese State TV has, apparently, just started to broadcast it, although what the average Chinese television viewer will make of the antics of the Crawleys I shudder to think! This time round we pick up six months on from the tragic end to the Series 3 Christmas Special.

Downton has moved with the times, and, as usual, great care has been taken to make the setting, including all the small details, correct for the period. Hence clothes and hair styles have changed and advances in technology, such as telegrams, telephones and even new fangled electric kitchen gadgets are evident. The cast has all the significant characters who survived the last series, so Maggie Smith continues as the matriarch who dominates every scene she is in and can always be relied upon for a caustic comment. There are some new faces to look out for, one of whom is Kiri Te Kanawa, the New Zealand opera singer as well as a couple of other well known characters in cameo roles.

More of the scenes this time round have been filmed on location in London. Meanwhile at Downton itself, the antics and interaction of those `below stairs' continues to contribute some very interesting story lines and their trials and tribulations are, in many ways, one of the most interesting aspects of the show. Above stairs initially Lady Mary is, understandably, rather subdued whilst Lady Edith takes a much more prominent role, having, perhaps, been somewhat overshadowed previously. In advance of this series the producers publicly promised no more deaths, at least for a while, but I will not be giving away any key parts of the plot here as I certainly do not want to spoil the enjoyment of anyone who has missed the series on TV!

Downton Abbey has certainly continued to go from strength to strength and has confounded those critics who thought it would peter out after a couple of series. If you enjoyed the previous seasons then Season 4 is unlikely to disappoint, and there is every sign that the show is set to continue. I do not believe any announcement has been made about Season 5 yet but apparently some of the key figures have already signed contracts for it. However, personally I would not be surprised to see it run up to the 1930s in due course. I certainly hope so!

For those interested in extra features, included with this set are 'A Making' , The Downton Diaries and New Arrivals.

The UK version of this DVD set does not include the Christmas Special 2013, and this will doubtless be issued separately following the Christmas Day showing. However, the North American DVD set will include this episode which is the finale of Season 4, when it is issued early next year. Also, for anyone outside Europe who is tempted to buy this set in advance of their locally issued version, please note that this is a Region 2 DVD which will only play on a Region 2 or Region Free DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Junk food for the brain., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great for binge viewing. The only disappointment was that the special Christmas episode was not included in the collection I purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such enjoyable viewing, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have been addicted to Downton Abbey since the first episode and found it difficult to wait week to week for next episode !!!! I have watched every episode and have continued to enjoy series 4 and the the additional specials .Cant wait for next series and all it will offer !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... with Blake and Lady Mary saving the pigs are good, and the season finale was quite interesting, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Episode with Blake and Lady Mary saving the pigs are good, and the season finale was quite interesting. Though I have to point out that the storyline of Bates finding the note (spoiler alert for episode 9) is not believable. In previous scenes, Lord Grantham and Lady Mary didn't made it clear to Bates why they needed the forged letter, the only reason given to Bates was "it is for an honourable cause". When their plan failed, Bates happened to know exactly what to look for in the overcoat pocket?! Disappointed that Fellowes didn't check with script supervisor - it was non-sensical. Overall - I would like to see more of Charles Blake in season 6, his forward thinking could shake up Lady Mary's storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Instant video was useless, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as instant video. Waste of money, kept freezing and lagging even though my internet connection was good. Had to abandon viewing few times. Now have to spend more money buying the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] by Maggie Smith (DVD - 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews