Customer Reviews


616 Reviews
5 star:
 (483)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better, solid series
This has seen a return to form; no random, melodramatic storylines, some shocks and well executed arc to the story. Ok, it is not as fresh as Series 1 but it never could be. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable series with several storylines which are clearly being planted and not rushed.

To be truthful, I can't wait for the Christmas special!
Published 12 months ago by S&S

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Studios MAKING $$$$$
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
If you purchase this UK version you will not get the complete series. The last episode is missing from this series. You have to buy it separately. If you don't purchase the extra episode events in the next series will not make sense. The US versions have all of the episodes. This is the studio making money & not informing...
Published 10 months ago by Eddie Nguyen


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better, solid series, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This has seen a return to form; no random, melodramatic storylines, some shocks and well executed arc to the story. Ok, it is not as fresh as Series 1 but it never could be. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable series with several storylines which are clearly being planted and not rushed.

To be truthful, I can't wait for the Christmas special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molesley, 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I read that many viewers were let down by season 4 but I watched all eight episodes in two sittings. I think Mr Molesley is my new favorite character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting viewing, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
While I enjoyed watching this series i felt it lacked the fascination of the last series.I think too much emphasis was put on the lad who didnt return daisies affection and not enough on other characters.hope the next series captures the warmth of earlier series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Studios MAKING $$$$$, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
If you purchase this UK version you will not get the complete series. The last episode is missing from this series. You have to buy it separately. If you don't purchase the extra episode events in the next series will not make sense. The US versions have all of the episodes. This is the studio making money & not informing the sellers of this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey-Why the handheld camera?, 30 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
What a classy well written, well acted show this but why the dreadful use of hand-held camera in so many sequences.....it's dated and boring and so out of place for a show like this.
Have never been able to sit thru an entire episode because of this.
Honestly....DP's, Directors, Producers of this show......why don't you all go out and buy 64 inch monitors
and see how horrible and distracting this technique is.
Get over it.....learn how to use a bloody dolly. Hand-held camera is cheap lazy shooting and adds nothing by way
of "feel" to anything other than a home-movie shot by somebody's Mum.
David Williamson-Camera Operator-Australia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Delivers Again, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
With a global audience of over 125 million, Downton Abbey Season 4 is probably the most anticipated show this year. This number of followers is set to increase as Chinese State TV has, apparently, just started to broadcast it, although what the average Chinese television viewer will make of the antics of the Crawleys I shudder to think! This time round we pick up six months on from the tragic end to the Series 3 Christmas Special.

Downton has moved with the times, and, as usual, great care has been taken to make the setting, including all the small details, correct for the period. Hence clothes and hair styles have changed and advances in technology, such as telegrams, telephones and even new fangled electric kitchen gadgets are evident. The cast has all the significant characters who survived the last series, so Maggie Smith continues as the matriarch who dominates every scene she is in and can always be relied upon for a caustic comment. There are some new faces to look out for, one of whom is Kiri Te Kanawa, the New Zealand opera singer as well as a couple of other well known characters in cameo roles.

More of the scenes this time round have been filmed on location in London. Meanwhile at Downton itself, the antics and interaction of those `below stairs' continues to contribute some very interesting story lines and their trials and tribulations are, in many ways, one of the most interesting aspects of the show. Above stairs initially Lady Mary is, understandably, rather subdued whilst Lady Edith takes a much more prominent role, having, perhaps, been somewhat overshadowed previously. In advance of this series the producers publicly promised no more deaths, at least for a while, but I will not be giving away any key parts of the plot here as I certainly do not want to spoil the enjoyment of anyone who has missed the series on TV!

Downton Abbey has certainly continued to go from strength to strength and has confounded those critics who thought it would peter out after a couple of series. If you enjoyed the previous seasons then Season 4 is unlikely to disappoint, and there is every sign that the show is set to continue. I do not believe any announcement has been made about Season 5 yet but apparently some of the key figures have already signed contracts for it. However, personally I would not be surprised to see it run up to the 1930s in due course. I certainly hope so!

For those interested in extra features, included with this set are 'A Making' , The Downton Diaries and New Arrivals.

The UK version of this DVD set does not include the Christmas Special 2013, and this will doubtless be issued separately following the Christmas Day showing. However, the North American DVD set will include this episode which is the finale of Season 4, when it is issued early next year. Also, for anyone outside Europe who is tempted to buy this set in advance of their locally issued version, please note that this is a Region 2 DVD which will only play on a Region 2 or Region Free DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pricing structure for series 4 - blu-ray, 3 Dec 2013
By 
D. Riley "David Stephen Riley" (Poole, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was just about to place my order for the latest series series 4 of Downton Abbey until I realised that the cost of £34.99 was only a penny less than the complete series 1-4 plus the two Christmas editions. As the complete set is around 30 hours compared with 8 hours for series 4, this makes no economic sense. Plus the fact that the blu-ray discs for the previous series are only about a third what Amazon are currently attempting to charge, I cannot help but feel that we are being taken for a bit of a ride bearing in mind the close proximity of Christmas.
I have cancelled my order until the price drops to a more realistic level and Amazon apologises for attempting to rip off the public.
David Riley, Poole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard, 5 April 2014
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The fourth season of the series suffers from its own format. The characters have become so numerous that squeezing the next chapter of their story into each and every episode makes it all very superficial. As much as I couldn't wait to buy season four, as indifferent I am now towards the waiting time for season five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, but just no pleasing some people, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Definitely pre-ordered! I love this programme and watch it every week, I am so glad there is going to be special features as well. Lots of people are complaining that scenes have been cut according to their maths or just a sixth sense, they obviously haven't read the product description very well, it clearly states "This product includes the same episodes that air on UK television and no scenes have been deleted. Both the UK and US versions have the same content; however the US version is converted to NTSC from PAL format and this conversion adds 5 mins per episode. This equates to an additional 45 minutes and is not extra content but the conversion rate." Please dont jump to conclusions and hate, if you hate Downton Abbey why are you commenting on Amazon, it makes no sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a nice surprise! Thanks very much Amazon, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Exellent delivery service, ordered this on 15th Ocbober late in the evening and it was waiting for me when I got home from work yesterday (17/10/14), a nice surprise! Thanks very much Amazon.
Have already watched the first two episodes from the first dvd and I am really enjoying it, as much as I have enjoyed series 1, 2 and 3. Love Downton Abbey, will be ordering the Downton London and Highlands series soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013]
Downton Abbey - Series 4 [DVD] [2013] by Maggie Smith (DVD - 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews