Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you'll ever need for HDRI
I have the first version of this book on Kindle and hesitated to buy the physical product at first, but I'm so glad I did.

The book is substantial and has many new additions that newcomers and owners of the first edition will benefit from. It is exhaustive in it's exploration of the subject matter but not exhausting. The author writes in an entertaining and...
Published 18 months ago by _mg_

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too technical and not very readable
I didn't enjoy this book at all. OK, HDR is an inherently technical subject but that doesn't mean books about it have to be turgid.
Published 2 months ago by Wilf Kropotkin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you'll ever need for HDRI, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the first version of this book on Kindle and hesitated to buy the physical product at first, but I'm so glad I did.

The book is substantial and has many new additions that newcomers and owners of the first edition will benefit from. It is exhaustive in it's exploration of the subject matter but not exhausting. The author writes in an entertaining and engaging style and it's hard not to be won over by his passion for this subject matter. Aside from the business of making HDR images there are tutorials, software, image examples from the bracketed exposures to the sIBL library all included on the DVD and even open source projects to improve the functionality of your camera.

If you're interested or exploring HDR for Tone-mapping, panoramas, CG-Relighting this will take you from knowing nothing, to shooting and producing excellent results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in-depth guide to HDRI, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Derek Watkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HDRI Handbook 2.0: High Dynamic Range Imaging for Photographers and CG Artists (Kindle Edition)
This book should convince you to investigate the techniques of High Dynamic Range Imaging. The author includes many step-by-step guides to techniques using a variety of HDRI software, some of it freeware. Also included with the book is a DVD with example pictures for you to experiment with, a range of software and a host of other goodies. And if you're into experimenting with hardware, there's a couple of projects including one that modifies and programs a Nintendo DS console to control your camera's shutter for producing the necessary range of shots at different exposures (especially useful for Canon users many of whose cameras are limited to +/- 1 stop bracketing). Expensive, but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As others have stated - The Workflow Bible for HDRi, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HDRI Handbook 2.0: High Dynamic Range Imaging for Photographers and CG Artists (Kindle Edition)
Given the technical background of the subject this is an exceptionally easy read, extremely well compiled, also written with clarity and some appropriately placed humour. Haven't even got round to applying the exemplar 'lessons' yet, but already have found a greater and better understanding of the subject. Can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too technical and not very readable, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HDRI Handbook 2.0: High Dynamic Range Imaging for Photographers and CG Artists (Kindle Edition)
I didn't enjoy this book at all. OK, HDR is an inherently technical subject but that doesn't mean books about it have to be turgid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HDRI Handbook 2.0: High Dynamic Range Imaging for Photographers and CG Artists (Kindle Edition)
I love this book and bought primarily as a guide to HDRI. slightly disappointed towards the end of the book with the 3D & panoramic and CGI chapters. Personally I believe most people will not be interested in these last chapters & feel the subject matter contained in them should be confined to another book. Although detailed there is a lot of long winded technical info that is well beyond most. A more detailed approach to creating an HDR photograph with walkthroughs & settings would serve this book much better. A lot of early talk about settings that never seem to materialise! Far too much emphasis on the film industry. I'm sure there will be books better suited to a photographer than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything you need to know about HDRI Image based lighting etc etc etc. Great read looking forward to reading all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really very interesting, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to swat up on the subject and to help with HDR lighting in scenes. Interestingly it's a very good read regardless, well written by someone with a huge enthusiasm for the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews