Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Varied talent, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This is the only Kirsty Macall CD I have, it was an impulse buy, but I really like it. It's a wonderful mix of genre, pace and mood. What a versatile talent she was. There is humour too and a vibrant cuban element with energetic trumpets. A fabulous mix to enjoy not only the music, but the clever witty lyrics too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific collection, 1 May 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a really good collection. Kirsty MacColl was a terrific songwriter and a great performer of her own and other people's material, and much of the best of her is collected here.

I think MacColl's greatest strength was her ability to produce a hugely enjoyable song which is often both lyrically and musically extremely witty but still conveys genuine, important emotions. There's A Guy Works Down the Chip Shop is the classic example (and remains one of my favourite pop records ever) but there's plenty else - in the excellent England 2, Colombia 0, for example - and, frankly, anyone who can write a song called Don't Come The Cowboy With Me, Sonny Jim (which is brilliant) deserves everyone's attention.

Her covers, too, show a real intensity, always leavened and somehow deepened by a twinkle in Kirsty's eye. Ray Davies's Days and Billy Bragg's A New England are both masterpieces, in my view, and others are very good indeed.

The remastering on this album seems very good to me, with excellent sound but the original feel of the tracks preserved. I suspect that if you're looking at this page then you're already a Kirsty MacColl fan and don't need any encouragement from me, but for what it's worth I warmly recommend this as a fine collection of great songs by a great writer and performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Sharp, observant, poignant, touching songs on youth, love and the UK by a much-missed genius. They Don't Know is a perfect pop song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty MacColl, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I love this product, great to have all Kirsty's hits on one cd, such a sad loss. Great seller, arrived very quickly. If you are a fan buy this, good listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 17 April 2013
By 
A. Lowe (Northwich, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Simply a Masterclass in how to put over a song. Some of the lyrics are pure magic especially "In these shoes?" and England 2 Columbia 0. What a great loss to music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Albulm, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Really enjoyable Album. Love playing it.Never realised what a good singer she was. Great for listening to in a car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery, 28 May 2014
By 
sarah (WELLS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This was a Xmas gift for my sister and I think she liked it. Can't go wrong with Kirsty I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just great., 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I was so happy when i got this,it's a great album and arrived in good time.What more can i say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I knew what I was getting, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
No surprises. It is Kirsty MacColl. What can I say? it isn't a fake, it arrived when it should have done and was packaged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fine addition which will grow on you, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New England: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This CD seems to creep up on you. It starts by just being a good collection of Kirsty's music but the more you listen the better it gets. I was a bit disappointed that, like many other artists, some tracks are replicated on other CD's but what remains is a varied collection which stands listening to every now and again and not just played once and then forgotten. Oh and I just love Angel (floating round this house)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New England: The Very Best Of
A New England: The Very Best Of by Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews