Customer Reviews


312 Reviews
5 star:
 (279)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're already a fan you'll love it. If not become one.
I'm tempted to say I defy anyone to NOT like this series.
ITs got everything - except action scenes and blood and gore.
There's a love story. There a re parables, morals, pathos you name it.
It shows us that you can be clever in one area and lost in another. it shows bonds between ordinary people. It shines a light on all thes things but never says this is...
Published 4 months ago by tencsboc

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great product
I am a huge fan :) I love TBBT. I have been watching it when I can. I am on s3 at the moment and iv just watched episode 4 and gone to put the next disc in and it skips for from e4 to e9 how is that possible or is that just a error. I would like to rate this more as I'm am a big fan and it's a great price to pay as to buy them separately they are about 10 quid each...
Published 8 months ago by alr1234


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're already a fan you'll love it. If not become one., 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I'm tempted to say I defy anyone to NOT like this series.
ITs got everything - except action scenes and blood and gore.
There's a love story. There a re parables, morals, pathos you name it.
It shows us that you can be clever in one area and lost in another. it shows bonds between ordinary people. It shines a light on all thes things but never says this is the answer. It says this is the way things are and you are lef mulling how you would handle them.

The characters easily identifiable. I guess there's a favourite for almost everyone.
There are explorations of emotions from unedurably crushing hurt and pain to inconceivable boundless joy and rapture.

I'll finish watching these thru and then pack them away knowing that it wont be long before I re visit this underrated overlookd masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show, great boxed set!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
KRB (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Big Bang Theory is really funny and enjoyable comedy. By far one of my favourites.

This 19 Disc DVD boxed set has all 135 episodes from the first 6 seasons, so it really worth getting.

Inside this set are two thick DVD cases. Hosing the discs for the set:

Case 1 has seasons 1-3 on 10 discs:

Disc 1 - Series 1 disc 1
Disc 2 - Series 1 disc 2
Disc 3 - Series 1 disc 3
Disc 4 - Series 2 disc 1
Disc 5 - Series 2 disc 2
Disc 6 - Series 2 disc 3
Disc 7 - Series 2 disc 4
Disc 8 - Series 3 disc 1
Disc 9 - Series 3 disc 2
Disc 10 - Series 3 disc 3

Case 2 has seasons 4-6 on 9 discs:

Disc 1 - Series 4 disc 1
Disc 2 - Series 4 disc 2
Disc 3 - Series 4 disc 3
Disc 4 - Series 5 disc 1
Disc 5 - Series 5 disc 2
Disc 6 - Series 5 disc 3
Disc 7 - Series 6 disc 1
Disc 8 - Series 6 disc 2
Disc 9 - Series 6 disc 3

A detailed episodes guide is also featured in the cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Comedy, Brilliant Box Set!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I think “Big Bang Theory” is brilliant for many reasons.

It’s very funny and the scripts are very clever. I am not particularly interested in comic books and sci-fi, but I am interested in particle physics and general science. I like the fact that the science is accurate and current. It’s amazing that a comedy can give insights into physics and other science subjects that prompts afterwards looking things up on the internet. The show also portrays psychology and emotions which I find enlightening.

Sheldon is the main star, but all the cast are very good actors. I think that Leonard, Howard and Amy give particularly convincing performances. And Penny is gorgeous and funny!

Sheldon’s eccentricity and his genius level of intelligence are impressive to watch as well as very funny. His performance, each episode, of his huge part of the script is amazing. The whole show is dialogue dense and written with precision. There are some cringe-worthy moments. but not many. The scripts pull in a very broad range of topics and an equally broad range of vocabulary, with correct grammar (otherwise Sheldon gets upset).

I imagine that the “quality” of the English makes it a good show for anyone learning the language. Regarding the DVD’s, I use the show to try to learn Spanish and French. I watch each show twice with English audio. Once with Spanish subtitles and then again with French subtitles (both are available on all series except series 1). The broad English vocabulary and big range of topics is excellent for learning new foreign words. It’s also great that the elaborate sentence structures of the English audio are faithfully retained in all the subtitles (including the English subtitles).

Fantastic funny show, great comedy characters and excellent high quality box set! Great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
What can I say. A great series. Recently took this on holiday and it was great evening entertainment. Its easy to watch the same episode over again without getting bored. Great humour and attention to detail and good quality DVDs. The only downside is that some of the series episodes have titles and some do not, so you won't know what you are selecting to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite modern sitcom, 21 Aug 2014
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This nineteen disc set includes tie first six seasons of the very entertaining `Big Bang Theory'. `The Big Bang Theory' is easily the most entertaining sitcom around at the moment with many very funny episodes spread throughout the six seasons in the set.

The first season starts the series very well with a lot of very funny moments and episodes. It is a little weird watching some of the early episodes however as the characters haven't really been locked in yet and Sheldon especially doesn't have many of his trademark eccentricities. Of the episodes in the first season my favourite has to be `The Luminous Fish Effect' that has the first appearance of Sheldon's mother, closely followed by `The Cooper-Hofstadter Polarisation' that sees Sheldon and Leonard falling-out over a paper. My least favourite episode of the season is `The Loobenfeld Decay' that sees Sheldon obsess over a lie.

Season two is the season that I am probably most familiar with and it contains a lot of extremely humorous episodes. The season sees the introduction of quite a few side characters such as Barry Kripke, Leonard's mother and Stuart the owner of the comic book store. The season also sees a special guest appearance by Summer Glau and there is a three episode romantic arc for Leonard as well. It is very difficult to choose a favourite episode for this season as they are all extremely good and even the weaker episodes tend to have some very funny scenes here and there. If I had to choose a favourite I would say that it is probably either `The Euclid Alternative' where Sheldon learns to drive, `The Panty Piñata Polarization' that sees Sheldon and Penny get in a fight or the shows first Christmas episode `The Bath Item Gift Hypothesis'.

Season three continues the shows run with more very entertaining episodes as well as the introduction of some new recurring characters and a funny cameo by Stan Lee. The new characters include Zack Johnson and the new girls Amy Farrah Fowler and Bernadette Rostenkowski, who become regulars in later seasons. The season also sees former Star Trek actor Wil Wheaton get recurring role as himself, and his interactions with Sheldon are all very funny. There is also something of a romantic arc for Leonard and Penny that lasts for most of the season. My favourite episodes from this season include `The Adhesive Duck Deficiency' that sees Leonard, Howard and Raj go to view a meteor shower while Sheldon has to deal with an injured Penny, and `The Einstein Approximation' that sees Sheldon get weird(er) after getting stuck on a physics equation and is probably one of the best episodes in the entire show. Another good episode is `The Staircase Implementation' that flashes back to when Leonard moved into the apartment and reveals why he puts up with Sheldon's eccentricities. If I have to choose a least favourite episode it would probably be `The Guitarist Amplification' that sees Leonard and Penny have relationship trouble

Season four sees Amy and Bernadette get much bigger roles in the series (both of whom get quite a bit of development) and also includes a romance arc that sees Leonard date Raj's sister Priya number. While the season does have many funny episodes throughout, I have never been much of a fan of Priya and I don't like the episodes that she is in as much as some of the others in the series. As well as the usual Wil Wheaton cameo, the series also has cameos by LeVar Burton, Katee Sackhoff and George Takei. Of the episodes in the season my favourites have to be `The Hot Troll Deviation' that has the Katee Sackhoff and George Takei cameos, `The Justice League Recombination' that sees the boys bond with Zak and `The Love Car Displacement' that sees everyone go to a science convention with hilarious results.

Season five is another very entertaining season and one that actually has a minor arc plot as Howard has a chance to go to the International Space Station. There are quite a few good episodes in this volume with some of the better episodes being episode 6 `The Rhinitis Revelation' where Sheldon's mother comes to visit, episode 14 `The Beta Test Initiation' that sees Leonard and Penny's relationship enter a new stage episode 18 `The Werewolf Transformation' that sees Sheldon have trouble after missing a haircut. There are three episodes that stand out as the best though; episode 17 `The Rotthman Disintegration' where Sheldon and Kripke fight over an office episode 21 `The Hawking Excitation' that has a cameo from Steven Hawkings and Sheldon is willing to do anything to meet him; and episode 22 `The Stag Convergence' that shows us Howard's very funny Stag Party. The only episode I didn't like much was probably episode 11 `The Speckerman Recurrence' that sees Leonard confront an old bully but even this episode has a nice B-Plot with the female cast members.

The sixth and final season in this boxed set is another very entertaining season that includes some very nice episodes. The first half of the season deals with Howard's time in space and across the entire season we see Leonard and Penny's relationship grow stronger. The season sees Stewart get a bigger role for the first half of the series and also sees a number of new recurring characters introduced such as Alex (Sheldon's assistant), Janine Davis (the Human Resources Administrator at the university) and Lucy (a girl Raj meets towards the end of the season). The season also includes a number of cameos with LeVar Burton and Buzz Aldrin making appearances along with the usual Wil Wheaton cameo. The season also sees Bob Newhart making an award winning appearance as a TV scientist Sheldon looked up to as a child. Of the episodes in this season I think `The Parking Spot Escalation', where Sheldon and Howard are fighting over a parking space and `The Egg Salad Equivalency', where Sheldon gets in trouble with Human Resources, are some of my favourite episodes of the season but my overall favourite has to be `The Tenure Turbulence' where the guys are fighting over an opportunity to get tenure.

All the recurring cast are very good but I feel that Jim Parsons as Sheldon is easily the best part of the show as it does a brilliant job at portraying the eccentric scientist.

The set includes a number of different special features such as interviews and bloopers.

`The Big Bang Theory' is a great series that has far more brilliantly funny episodes than it does bad episodes and I feel that it is easily worth a full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great show, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Alex S (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Big Bang theory is often funny and has generally great plots with a brilliant cast, and is certainly worth a watch. Some stories are better than others, but if you've never seen it before definitely get this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American Comedy Series about Science/Geeks/Past Science Fiction TV Programmes, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I am hopelessly hooked by this American TV series. I am one of those people who do not have the time to sit each day and watch the box. However, there are certain American cultural soaps/sitcoms that come along once in a blue moon which we inhabitants of the United Kingdom take to our hearts. The last 2 for me were Fraiser and the early programmes of Hill Street Blues. How many TV programmes make you laugh openly, be honest? The Big Bang Theory does it every time for me. A pure enjoyment to watch. The writing/scripts are superb. The comedy/punchlines/references to previous Geek Science Fiction programmes easily translate across the Atlantic Ocean to the UK. Be surprised and watch a few of the programmes which are shown on E4. I became hooked and decided to buy the box set for posterity, and it is good value for money. I don't want to write endless sentences about the characters or references to specific programmes, just watch one of these and decide for yourself. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i wanted, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for my sister for Christmas and she loves it! She had watched most of the episodes on E4 but they cut a lot of the jokes out and so she enjoyed watching them in their entirety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great catch-up, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Having discovered The Big Bang Theory only recently, this is an excellent way to catch up on all the episodes we missed at the start. Very fast delivery and excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of epsisodes., 3 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection includes the very first episode, which does rather look like the pilot. So when watching all 6 series included here it is fascinating to see how the series and all the characters have evolved.

The picture and sound quality are good but the disc navigation menus are not perhaps the clearest or easiest to use.

If you missed any shows or just want enjoy them again, this box set is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013]
The Big Bang Theory - Season 1-6 [DVD] [2013] by Johnny Galecki (DVD - 2013)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews