Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars45
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2013
It started with 50 Shades (naturally) then 'Bared to you' followed up swiftly with 'Haven of Obedience' and a good few others in between. However, I have one request when it comes to erotica - good characters and a good storyline. These are just two of the things that I love about this book. That and the absolute dedication by the author on research into the BDSM lifestyle.

It's the usual story - refreshing though that the male lead for once wasn't a big CEO gazillionaire. Our male lead, Alec is an author and very well know Dom. Our lead female, Dylan is an erotic author who is writing a novel on BDSM. Introduced to Alec by a friend with the view to pump (sorry no pun intended) Alec for information to help her write said erotic novel, Alec suggests that in the name of research Dylan should experience it for herself and become his sub. What a great idea!

Wonderfully written, I was gripped from the very first chapter - I read it in two days and could not put it down. If like me you love erotica with a great story then you must buy this book. I promise you will love it :)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Enjoyable book. I liked that the writer gave both the main characters perspectives. It would have earned more stars from me if the storyline had developed a bit more with other characters. The whole book focused on Alex and Dylan's relationship which was in danger of becoming boring if it went on much longer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Enjoyed the sensual, erotic and really emotional style of the author. The story was well written and not as heart wrenching as others in this genre. I would love to read more about this couple and enjoyed the BDSM introductions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
I received my copy from Black Lace through Nudge and rated it 5-.

Dylan Ivory is an author of erotic romances. In her next book she wants to explore a BDSM relationship but she is well aware that she doesn't know enough about the subject to write a credible story. In order to do her work justice she sets out to interview people involved in power-exchange relationships and ends up meeting Alec Walker, a very attractive and very dominant man. It isn't long into their first meeting that Alec issues Dylan with a challenge. Instead of telling her what it is like to be Dominant or what is involved in a BDSM relationship he will show her. Because:

"You cannot begin to describe the dynamics involved without having been there."

He will take her in hand and train her, as the submissive he's convinced she is. Dylan however is sure that she doesn't have a submissive bone in her body. She has had to be in control for most of her life and likes it that way. She does accept the challenge though; on the condition that once it is clear that he has failed at "taming" her she gets the opportunity to top Alex. It soon becomes clear though that this is one power-exchange in which both participants will learn new things about themselves.

I really like this book. I like that there is no overpowering male more or less bullying the innocent young woman into something she knows nothing about. I like that Dylan went into this arrangement with her eyes wide open, willing to try even if she didn't think being submissive would work for her. And I liked that Alec took the time to explain things to her, was happy to take it slowly even though his own need was enormous.

"It's hard to let it all go, to hand over your power to another person. Just remember there is power in doing that. In making that choice."

I also liked that this is a story about equals. Dylan and Alec may be in a power exchange relationship, but we're not dealing with a strong and a weak character. Both Dylan and Alec are extremely independent, and guard that independence jealously. And that is the one and only issue in their relationship. As the experiment slowly turns into a need to be together, neither are able to deal with it or to recognise their feelings for what they are. They may have their own personal reasons for rejecting commitment and love, but their feelings on this point are equally strong for both of them.

There is real character development in this book. I really enjoyed the process Dylan went through from complete denial of certain feelings through fighting them to accepting them for what they were. And the same is true for Alex; he too has to open himself up to emotions he has denied for as long as he can remember. And I liked that the BDSM experience the two characters shared works both as a mechanism for them to get to that acceptance and a sort of metaphor for the process.

On the back cover it says that this book is "perfect for fans for E.L. James and Sylvia Day" and I completely understand why. Having said that, I would rate this book higher than the works of either of those authors. First and foremost because the characters in this book are easier to relate to than those in the "Fifty Shades" and "Crossfire" trilogies. Dylan and Alec are less extreme (in wealth, in innocence, in damage from the past and in their reactions) than the characters in those other books. I also like that in this book we got the thoughts of both main characters rather than only one of them.

A quick word of warning; as the story-line in this book suggests, this story contains a lot of sex. And while the author never sets out to shock, there may well be scenes in this book that fall outside some peoples' comfort zones.

This book is very well written, very sensual - not to say sexy - and totally engrossing. I am already looking forward to reading the second book, "Desire's Edge", in the not too distant future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Very good story well written loved Alec & Dylan both finding how to get over their pasts. For once Alec (the dominant) was a really nice guy all the way through which makes a change. Very erotic and the author has done her homework on the BDSM. Would have been nice to have heard a little bit more about them but I suppose just nice the way it finished. I understand book 2 will be out in March and will be about Dante (Alec's friend) so will look forward to that as he sounds another nice guy. Would recommend this book a pleasant read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I've read both books currently available, Pleasures Edge and Desires Edge.

The first book, is about two authors. Alec writes thrillers and is a well experience Dom in the world of BDSM. Dylan writes Erotica and her current book is about BDSM. She needs to research BDSM for her novel and is introduced to Alec.

The Pleasure Dome is name of a BDSM club which Alec attends and he invites Dylan to join him and experience it for herself. . . .and so the story begins and ends.

I found the first book quite informative, sizzling and erotic.

Unfortunately, while most of the book was a good read and exciting in parts, the story did not develop and I personally felt it needed to progress beyond the BDSM club and a little more into the romance, and perhaps a bit of drama to give the story a bit more punch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
There's nothing new in this book....it's full of "making love", scene after scene, interspersed with a little BDSM. It has the usual break up and make up towards the end, but other than that there is barely any storyline.

Disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Easy to read romantic bdsm erotica . Berlin isnt over graphic but she is good at a flirty banter between the two characters as they begin to fall for each other . Dylan is an erotic writer who decides she needs to find out a little more for her next book and Alex suggests she trys being submissive . As she is a confident sucessful woman she thinks that this will be impossible . But this isnt just about a contract and breaking a strong woman down. The danger for them both is not what sex they get up to but if they can dare to fall in love/ have a relationship. Maybe a few other characters and details could have made it a better book , this is rather like a tub of pig out ice cream to be enjoyed over a couple of evenings for pleasure .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Dylan is a professional author and needs some help with research regarding the BDSM scene and for this Alex who is also a professional writer and a Dom is willing to show her.
But things start to heat up when they both realise love is in the air. This makes Dylan question her emotions over caring for someone and Alex realises he actually cares for some one.
Quite erotic with some depth to the characters and a story of trust.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
This book was ok but unfortunately not my favourite! I got bored in the end as it was the same thing all the time, him trying to get her to submit and her permanently saying she wouldn't give up control. Every scene became about that and the fact that even near the end he was still having to "convince" her every time.. for me I just couldn't get a story out of that. The other 2 in the trilogy are much better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.