Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James' long Hunt for happiness
Since James Hunts' sudden and untimely death in June 1993 I held certain beliefs and opinions of him, his career and his relationships.
The author of the book, Gerald Donaldson, dispelled some of these opinions through his excellent work.
James will always be a personal hero for me, it was he and the Hesketh team who attracted me to F1 (in the exiting days), his...
Published on 9 Aug 2004 by Philip L. Widdowson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
Very boring in the first half if you are not a racing fan. Got a lot better half way through as it was more about his personal life.
Published 6 months ago by kay kerr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I don't have much interest in F1 but having seen a documentary about James and Niki, then seeing Rush, I felt compelled to find out more about this intriguing character. I really enjoyed the book and was moved to tears at the end. I would definitely recommend it and would say don't worry if you're not in to the sport, it doesn't matter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating portrayl of a very interesting character, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having never had any interest in Formula 1 racing as a sport this was a unusual choice of subject for me to pick, but having seen the film Rush, I was interested in finding out more about the two main characters. I was really pleased I did as this book proved to be a brilliantly written portrayl of a very interesting man that I found very difficult to put down! I would strongly recommend this book to anyone whether you are interested in Formula 1 as a sport or not. Some of the racing terminology might have been lost on me at times but the story of James Hunt as a person both in racing and his personal life was very fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
lived the moment back in 76 & after watching Rush, I felt that I needed to read the truth about the real James Hunt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Very boring in the first half if you are not a racing fan. Got a lot better half way through as it was more about his personal life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars James Hunt, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Very informative, could not put it down. got a real understanding of him and just how dangerous f1 was in the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A moving tribute to one of our superheroes, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
A superbly written narration of Jame's life on and off the track. The extent of the research and effort that the author has gone to in creating this evocative story is truly remarkable. As a lifelong fan of James Hunt it is very reassuring to see the record set straight after so much misinformation had been published following his death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Hunt, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Read this book because the world needs characters like James Hunt. Read about the F1 scene and Hunts struggles to make it before he joined the top teams. Read about the life-style of racing drivers and film stars between races. Read about the demons that bedevil the lives of not only Hunt but others like Richard Burton. Read this book and you will be transported to the exciting and dangerous world of motor racing - read on and as you read you will be enveloped in the aroma of fast living and high octane racing fuel.

George Mountford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Man, What a Read!, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh I loved this book. James Hunt was a legend who put his money where his mouth was and also had the guts to try to save other drivers from the wreckage as others drove by. He was a hero who deserved more than his few years that were not always cheerful.
Its a great biography even if you hate motorsport. RIP James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best F1 biographies, 21 Nov 2011
James Hunt may have lived a short life, but it was certainly action-packed. In his relatively brief F1 career he took the World Championship and filled newspaper columns with his exploits, both off an on track. He battled with fear and depression towards the end of his racing and into retirement, but seemed to finally found happiness again before his death. Donaldson covers Hunt's entire life in good detail, with plenty of insightful comment - it is obvious that many of those who were closest to Hunt collaborated with the author. A shame that there are so many printing errors - many vanishing full stops and a few commas in the wrong place - but that doesn't detract too much from what is a great motorsport biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 Sep 2011
about a great driver ... did not know too much about hunt, but after reading this book, i am really up-to-date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9f30f444)

This product

James Hunt: The Biography
James Hunt: The Biography by Gerald Donaldson
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews