Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story is better than the TV show
This was my first P.G. Wodehouse story and it completely justified my opinion that the TV show based on his writing, which is currently showing on a Sunday early evening, does not do justice to this writer. I am not laying the blame on the actors, many of whom having given me great pleasure in previous productions so I think it must be the director.

I was very...
Published on 2 Feb. 2013 by Silver Lady

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but short
This was a good book, Wodehouse at his best, but the book was too short and I was left wanting more.
Published 9 months ago by Will Morton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story is better than the TV show, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first P.G. Wodehouse story and it completely justified my opinion that the TV show based on his writing, which is currently showing on a Sunday early evening, does not do justice to this writer. I am not laying the blame on the actors, many of whom having given me great pleasure in previous productions so I think it must be the director.

I was very amused by the writing which is wittily descriptive and plainly shows that the main male character is not a buffoon, just an elderly gentleman, slightly hard of hearing, who tends to focus on one thing at a time to such an extent that conversational confusion arises frequently. He is obviously not comfortable around women whom he clearly finds either domineering or downright unfathomable, so his defence is to absent himself from their presence at the first available opportunity. He has reached an age when short-term memory begins to fail which some people seem to find irritating or funny. It is neither, just you wait and see . . .

Anyway, I recommend that you read Wodehouse for yourself and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very funny a daft story surrounding a pig great if you want cheering up cant wait to listen to chapter 2 well i. Off to fantasy land leave my cares behind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings part one, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
I love the characters and the castle. It is so well drawn that I can see it all in my mind's eye. It is so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
silly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but short, 3 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a good book, Wodehouse at his best, but the book was too short and I was left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read :), 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
Whilst I am thoroughly enjoying Blandings on the tv on a Sunday night; a perfect way to relax before the star of a busy week. I have the sample on my Kindle and enjoyed reading it. I will be buying the book once I have finished another book that I am reading. Love the characters in Blandings on the tv and when reading the book I can imagine who is who. Buy it and you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars E-book delight, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
I like P.G.Wodehouse, so no contest. A good read for all, nothing difficult to follow, a pleasure to read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Jeeves and Wooster, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've read all P.G. Wodehosue's Jeeves and Wooster books but this is my first Blandings one. It's impossible not to find PGW amusing but this is nowhere near as slick or as funny as the tales young Bertie Wooster and his resourceful valet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
LOVE ALL HIS WRITINGS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!: (Episode 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very poorly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews