Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, Stunning, Stunning, Stunning. See the legend in full HD. Amazing., 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. R. H. Wilkinson "Roger" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't know they had the HD technology in 1991. I was totally, totally blown away by the picture and sound of this blue ray, Miles, Quincy and the Gil Evans Orchestra were in the room. Brought the hairs up on the back of my neck. Stunning, stunning, stunning !!!!!! They have re edited the whole film as well, getting rid of the dialogue which cluttered up the original documentary, you are left with what matters Miles Davis revisiting his past in what was to be one of the legends final performances. OMG you can see every wrinkle in those legendary fingers, just awesome.
This is a must for any musician or jazz messenger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but irresistable, 6 Aug 2013
By 
A. Korsner "Adrian Korsner" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My hero Miles, late in his life, for the first time ever going back to his roots. Its a revelation to hear his new approach to material he had assigned to history for so long.
He's clearly not well and struggling to play to his level. Nevertheless its still something that any Miles lover needs to see and learn from. The extra interviews with musicians, about Miles are worth the price of the disc anyway.
A unique experience and great in HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful late Miles., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1991 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a wonderful DVD record of one of the Icons of the great Jazz age. Miles Davis may have been only 3 months away from his passing, but his playing, as ever is as skilled and enjoyable as ever, and this is a concert that you will enjoy over and over again. I have had my copy for only one week and have watched, and listened 4 times already.
Every viewing reveals something new of the playing of Miles and the Quincy Jones Orchestra.
Do not hesitate. If you are a Miles or a Jazz fan, buy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles Runs the Ratings Up, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1991 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
This exceeded my expectations. As a retrospective of a wonderful episode in Miles' musical path it scores very high. The photography and sound
are really good. The close-ups of Wallace Roney as he admires, maybe wonders, at the magic of Miles, just bring a smile to one's face. Birth Of The Cool, Sketches,Porgy have always been memorable audio experiences but to see Miles performing the music adds a great deal to that. This film is a fitting tribute to Miles and a satisfying justification for those who travel the long,sometimes frustrating but always beautiful jazz road. We are so lucky.
Buy it. This is a gig you will enjoy many times, it sure won't collect dust on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 3 May 2014
By 
Norman Green (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1991 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD is just the thing for anyone who enjoyed the Warner Years CD Box. It is almost the complete Disc 4, Quincy Jones album, and is excellent for both sound and picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Document, 16 Nov 2013
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1991 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
All the reviewers have done a great job here & I have little to add except this:- No mention is made of the missing tune from the concert. Between 'Boplicity' and 'Maids of Cadiz' there was a version of 'Springsville' running 3.42 including a brief intro from Q. It's on the Audio box set 'Complete Montreux' also on the original cd issue and also on the original VHS issue (meaning that it wasn't omitted for visual reasons). Nothing is mentioned on the 'Complete Montreux' Video set which has this concert as the final DVD, and which is presumably the same as the single DVD reviewed here. Miles plays virtually throughout the tune & puts in a reasonable solo. Ok it's not top notch and the band is a little scrappy but it was only a few minutes into the concert before everyone had a chance to settle down. Despite this small omission this is still is a wonderful document of Miles 'Looking back' near the end of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first class, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. G. Simmons (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have disc for all miles Davis fans. Picture and sound first class. A good mix of content from his repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars much better than expected, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw Miles Davis in concert in Manchester's Free Trade Hall in 1960 it was almost the same musicians who recorded Kind of Blue. Sonny Stitt replaced Julian Adderley on alto saxophone. John Coltrane had pulled out of the UK part of the tour. However and stating the expected blindingly obvious the concert was superb. All the musicians concerned were at there very peak of inspirational ideas physically up to the task they were young and brilliant. They also looked good elegantly dressed in smart black tuxedos Miles in particular looked like a model from a fashion shoot. There were very few microphones and zero announcements. Indeed Miles would often walk off stage after is solo or stand with is back to the audience. If you were not familiar with the music well tough you would not know what the pieces were titled-so you just enjoyed or not. So the performance was almost acoustic and in both look and procedures almost a chamber recital I say almost the decibel's were somewhat higher at times. The concert was recorded by an amateur technician but it has now been given a digitally remaster. I purchased the disc from Amazon so if you wish you can hear for yourself if the combo were are as good as I said. Ten years later living in London I heard Miles's latest combo in London at the Festival Hall. It was packed full to the brim I was seated in the middle of a row on one of the balconies. However looking onto the stage alarm bells started to ring instead of the Free Trade Hall scenario of ten years earlier the stage was awash with cables, microphones, And huge speakers almost as high as the ceiling of the stage itself and of course there was the proverbial control desk with lights flashing like some lighthouse warning( as it happened it was for me) The concert was also nearly an hour late in starting (that made me happy!) So the concert did start eventually with certain young men just who they were I had no idea? Loaded with so called guitars I would call them sonic weapons. Miles finally made an appearance dressed in the full outlandish 70's fashion as was I as were all of us in the audience. But Miles had far more bling sequins and things even his trumpet was blingy black and gold with a mike clipped on to the trumpet. I just new that this was going to be a sonic battle between the guitar weapons and the bling over miked trumpet. It was and worse it just went on an on unceasing sonic torture. Selling ones soul to the devil came to mind. Anyway I left vowing never to attend another Miles concert. I kept to that pledge. Over the years I kept up to date with reviews of Mile's concerts and reviews of his records which were given good airtime on radio. I knew I was missing nothing. He had a spell when he dropped out and stopped playing partly to do with health problems . Then voila he was playing again dressed more bizarrely than ever dressed like character out of the Arabian Nights plus a rather obvious hair weave. He was getting older but did not want to admit it. But what about the music well it was still rock a little more populist strains of a melody but nothing of interest to me. There were those close Miles who were trying to get him to revisit the glorious days of his acoustic past-he was having none of it he didn't believe in playing old music? Then in 1991 after much persuading by Quincy Jones and Claude Nobs ( the organiser of Montreux Jazz Festival) to appear at the festival celebrating the music of his friend and musical collaborator Gil Evans. The music in question being the trio of classic albums for Columbia (as it was then now Sony) The albums in question being in sequence-Miles Ahead -Porgy and Bess-Sketches of Spain all ground breaking masterpieces of big band Jazz. Gill Evans was always thought more of an arranger than a composer. That does not do him justice because he completely de constructs these wonderful melodies which were not his own and creates these wonderful musical jewels .Pure magic, Miles of course was an equal partner in these iconic albums. Point being would these recreations be up to scratch. Quincy Jones was the man who organised the orchestras there were two. George Gruntz Concert Jazz Orchestra and The Gil Evans Orchestra led by Gil's son Miles Evans. Two orchestras were used because Quincy Jones felt the need to double up on the wind so they would not be overwhelmed by the brass. There was a problem however no original scores existed only sketches and of course the recordings themselves. Gil Goldstein pianist with one of the orchestras was given the task of transcribing. He succeeds beautifully. So what of Miles well he was now in his sixties though he did not look it despite his health problems. More to the point his trumpet technique was now more limited he could now no longer hit certain notes, the trumpet his a hard taskmaster. However no one could say Miles was a virtuoso but he was an intensely musical and lyrical player and that strikes a lot of bells for me. So bearing in mind his now more limited technique the programme now became a duo of two trumpets. Wallace Roney a young 31 year old player of considerable gifts in is own right was brought in to play alongside Miles, to play the parts Miles could no longer manage .The orchestra was now a fifty pieces . Quincy Jones conducting it was filmed and recorded in the concert hall in Montreux in a beautiful setting on the banks of Lake Geneva. Was it successful well when it was issued on cd the critics were divided inevitably comparing to the Columbia originals. Of course the originals were your first choice. Then soon after a DVD was released or was it cassette? Anyway that also had middling reviews. Having a beautiful boxed set of the originals plus. I decided I did not need this version. Then voila this Blue Ray version was released this year with much improved picture and sound quality plus a number of interesting extras at a very good price and improved reviews. So yes here I am now reviewing my copy. For the jazz fans is it worth buying?-most certainly you will not complain about the picture quality or the sound and the extras are interesting and amusing. However how does the performance stand up to the originals well it doesn't equal those masterpieces-BUT as my headline says its much better than I thought it would be .Miles in particular looked in far better shape than I would have expected and importantly he played much better than I was expecting. .Wallace Roney was a wonderful and discreet duo with Miles, hitting the notes Miles could no longer manage but you hardly noticed the joins. The orchestra was very good but you did get the sense it was more unwieldy than the nineteen piece original. There is no art filming a la "Jazz On A Summers Day" but let us not quibble. It is still good to look at and listen to. After this concert they reconstructed the second quintet in Paris with all the original players-Herby Hancock, Wayne Shorter et al. I do not know if it was filmed or recorded?. Certainly worth buying. Two little postscripts- I was in Venice a a few years ago and walked past the magnificent La Fenice opera house it so happened very conveniently they were having a exhibition of Miles Davis paintings and drawings in the stunning vestibule of the theatre believe me that was some vestibule. Anyway Miles's paintings sat very comfortably in those surroundings .Miles artistic style? think Matisse late period. And lo and behold there was a huge TV screen on which they showed this concert I have reviewed. Oh and the following week at the theatre was the Second quintet Herby etc. sadly no Miles. Finally anyone out there who likes to see the great jazz idols in performance I cannot recommend to highly the wonderful Jazz Icons series mostly filmed in black and white by European and British TV companies. They are a joy beautifully restored and with lots of documentation and pictures. They keep me happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How I rate this Product?, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What on earth does this question mean? As a piece of music it is one thing, and purely subjective. As a piece of hi-fi audio and video, quite another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Montreux 1991 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]
Live At Montreux 1991 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] by Miles Davis With Quincy Jones & The Gil Evans Orchestra (DVD - 2013)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews