Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (231)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great extras.
If you are looking at this product you probably don't need me to sell you the series itself, you likely know how engrossing and how brilliantly put together it is. Why then should you buy this box set instead of watching or re-watching the series on a catch-up service?

The extras are why. All three series have some incredibly interesting and entertaining audio...
Published 3 months ago by Kowetas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it all there, am I?
I watched this on television as did many other people. My son bought me the box set for Christmas and I have just started watching it. Maybe my memory is failing but bits seem to be missing. The dragon lord isn't quite as nasty to his sister and young Brandon out for the first time on his new disabled rider saddle doesn't have his dire wolf with him, the dog doesn't rip...
Published 25 days ago by MR P BUCZKO


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great extras., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are looking at this product you probably don't need me to sell you the series itself, you likely know how engrossing and how brilliantly put together it is. Why then should you buy this box set instead of watching or re-watching the series on a catch-up service?

The extras are why. All three series have some incredibly interesting and entertaining audio commentaries that accompany the episodes. Some are really informative, with the director or writers giving insights into how particular things were done, where, when and why. Each series George R.R. Martin commentates the episode that he specifically wrote, and this is especially interesting for those who have not read the books as he points out some of the differences in characters, or settings, or slight plot changes. Some of them that feature the actors have less (although still a reasonable amount) of insight into the filming process, however they are fun and entertaining and allow the watcher to learn a bit about the actors behind the characters and what may be involved with their daily lives on and off the shoot. Unfortunately there are usually about two or three episodes a season without commentary, however in seasons two and three some of them have two. This is a bit disappointing as I re-watch the series and want to have a commentary an episode as I do so and not have to watch episodes twice in succession, but is not a major issue.

'The Making Of' documentaries are also insightful and as a filmmaker myself they are inspirational in giving me ideas for ways of shooting things. Although some of the things that they talk about are touched upon in the commentaries, overall they are still worth the watch for a bit of a closer look, and to see how things looked before the editing and visual effects teams got a hold of them.

In addition to this there are many other short featurettes about the 'Game of Thrones' world and the making of the series, and for season three there are extended and deleted scenes.

Something that I think is a very nice touch is the episode guide pamphlet included for each series. In all the seasons it has the episode names and summaries on it. For the first season also included on it are family trees, and a map of the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros. The second series has information about the characters and a map that extends to show all of the areas that the show visits. In the third season pamphlet there is a nice piece of concept art of the Throne Room in King's Landing.

Overall I am very impressed with the box set as a whole. I do think however that the third season lacks somewhat in the 'Making Of' department, however it has other featurettes on aspects of the cultures within the series and extended and deleted scenes that somewhat make up for this. If you are a fan of the show and are looking to know more about it, or even want to re-watch it, I do recommend this box set with the audio commentaries on (and you can subtitle the show so you can still keep up with the story).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 2 April 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Hutchinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not stop watching this - it took me about 4 days to watch all 3 seasons - and i will watch them all again - excellent series, acting, plotting etc. although i have not read the books it is very addictive and can't wait for season 4 to come on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest series to ever grace the small screen?, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm by no means an expert on critiquing or reviewing tv as i'm more of a music man. I also don't like seeing premature reviews just for the sake of it, but I felt I simply had to strike while the iron was hot whilst i'm at my most enthusiastic about Game of Thrones. Or as original long-term fans would dub it, A Song of Ice and Fire.

Having watched all three seasons multiple times and devoured the five volumes of books, I can honestly admit that this medieval period masterpiece has got me well and truly hooked. Literally not a day goes by when I don't think or talk about a certain set-piece, line of dialogue or a flippant action of one of it's many masterfully written characters, my work colleagues are no different.

Over these three seasons you'll be taken on an exciting yet convoluted journey, while your emotions will be toyed with left right and center. This show is an adaptation of the George RR Martin book series, 'A Song Of Ice And Fire' and what a tremendous effort it does in staying faithful to the source material. *Mild Spoiler Alert - Everything you've become accustomed to over your whole lifetime of watching tv? Best pretend that didn't exist as this bastard keeps you guessing every step of the way. In my opinion 'Game of Thrones' is a real game changer in the way we judge characters, feel about characters and flat out what we've come to expect after a lifetime of watching tv. 'Rules'... this show just doesn't abide by them.

It's hard to explain without ruining things but let's say that this story/tv show tears the rule book in half as to what we've come to expect from a story/tv show. A fantastical undercurrent is prevalent in this fictional land and it's something to behold in the books, but HBO have very deftly removed some elements to make it more palpable to a tv audience who may not be too familiar with x-rated fantasy storytelling (your reviewer was one of them). I've also heard people complaining that the show is too slow at the beginning, but personally I found that to be nonsense as the very first episode holds an almighty cliffhanger. It will take you a while to suss out each character and their respective 'Houses', there's a lot of information to get through.

Another noteworthy topic to discuss is the actual EXPANSION of the original story. For example, the books' chapters are all done from Point Of View complete with an inner monologue, but what happens to the non-POV characters once they close the door behind them? Well the writers do a sterling job in showing you, like a superb conversation between the king and two of his bodyguards (Kingsguard) in Season 1 which kills two birds with the one stone, essentially expanding characters which don't get much 'page time' and filling you in on some juicy backstory.

Season one plays most like a drama out of the three. An honorable man leaves the sanctuary of his home and (half) his loving family to aid his long-term war ally (who also happens to be King) in the "Rat's Nest" capital, Kings Landing. Meanwhile across the narrow sea, Viserys Targaryen, his sister Daenerys and an army of Dothraki Horselords plan an assault on the kingdom of Westeros in an attempt to re-claim the Targaryen's ancestral chair which was usurped by the current King, Robert Baratheon. That's just the tip of the iceberg as there are several key storylines running parallel with one another. This Season is mostly designed to get you used to four of the major Houses and to give you an idea of each colorful characters' (initial) agenda. DO NOT mistake this for a bland season as it's anything but that ;)

Season two ramps up the action with five lords laying claim to the be the rightful king. By this stage things have gone a bit pear shaped regards the laws and politics of the coveted "Iron Throne", which in turn allows for more players to emerge. I found this to be a step up from the first Season as it had the perfect balance of great scenery, compelling drama and exemplary battle sequences. Admittedly they do stray from the books quite a bit this time around and with such a wealth of material to work off of, you wonder why this is the case. Although not all changes are for the better, I must commend the show runners for handling some transitions quite brilliantly. Two characters, Roose Bolton and Tywin Lannister, both take up identical roles in almost identical scenes in the book and show respectively. They work flawlessly in both mediums and it's a clear cut case of what works best on the page and on screen. Lest we forget Episode 9 - Blackwater. One of the greatest tv episodes i've ever seen.

Season three brings us firmly back into book territory (for the record 'A Storm of Swords' is an amazing read and is considered the best book). Here's where your metal will be tested. How will this occur? Hmmm. How can I put this? If you've enjoyed the show up until this point for whatever reason (pro Lannister, pro Stark, pro anything, it makes no matter), I think this is the Season that will make you or break you. Is it bad? Far from it, in hindsight I think it's the best. There's lots of new characters to explore and the already momentous freight-train of the main storyline (Starks vs Lannisters) that's been ploughing along goes into the stratosphere.... Episode 9 'The Rains of Castemere' overtakes 'Blackwater' for my favorite episode of ANY tv show of all time, so that's two from this show alone!

Last but not least, the extras. Oh the extras. This is why it's worth forking out for the official release. There is absolutely no stone left unturned here. A huge portion of the rich lore is presented over the three seasons and is an almost essential addition imo. There's an interactive guide to Westeros (the fictional land in which it's set). It gives you the history of every major House in the land, perfect for those (like me) who'll miss something first time round. Character profiles which are actually interesting to watch and enrich the overall experience greatly, and a damn lavish packaging job to boot ;)

Game of Thrones is a show that'll leave you with more questions than answers. Its characters will have you baying for their blood one minute and eliciting endless sympathy the next. The violence, language and sex is very close to the edge, and is beyond doubt unsuitable for children. Be prepared for an unyielding, unapologetic masterpiece of a story. Be prepared for emotion, heartbreak and triumph. Be prepared for A Song of Ice and Fire.

Here are Season 3's extras, in case you were wondering...
Blu-Ray - In-Episode Guide - In-feature resource that provides background information about on-screen characters, locations and relevant histories.
"The Rains of Castamere" Unveiled - Get an in-depth look at the creation of the most pivotal episode of Season 3 in this comprehensive exposé featuring cast and crew.
"The Roots of Westeros" - Explore the interconnected web of relationships, rivalries and conflicts between the noble houses of Westeros with this interactive guide.
"Histories & Lore" - Learn about the mythology of Westeros as told from the varying perspectives of the characters themselves.

DVD - "A Gathering Storm" Featurette - Look back at the stormy events of Season 2 in this 14-minute recap with cast and crew.
"The Politics of Marriage" Featurette - The concept of matrimony in Westeros is all about making power plays and political alliances. Cast and crew examine this ancient institution and its place in Game of Thrones.
"Inside the Wildlings" Featurette - Go beyond the Wall with this introduction to the wildlings to gain a better understanding of their backstory.
"New Characters of Season 3" Meet the new faces in Season 3: Olenna Tyrell, Missandei, Mance Rayder, Tormund Giantsbane, Orell, Jojen & Meera Reed, Blackfish & Edmure Tully, Thoros of Myr and Beric Dondarrion.

*Amended Review
I forgot to mention a slight niggle regards the functionality of the discs. As you know, a lot of DVD's/Blu-Rays come with a continuity feature which basically lets you take off from where you left it. Here it's not an option which can become quite annoying after a while. They DO however provide disc to disc sequential running. If you make a mistake by putting in the wrong disc or you run out of episodes and want to carry on to the next disc without going through the (many) unskipable menus, you're allowed eject the disc and replace it with your desired choice without being punished. Just something to take into consideration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it all there, am I?, 29 Jun 2014
I watched this on television as did many other people. My son bought me the box set for Christmas and I have just started watching it. Maybe my memory is failing but bits seem to be missing. The dragon lord isn't quite as nasty to his sister and young Brandon out for the first time on his new disabled rider saddle doesn't have his dire wolf with him, the dog doesn't rip the throat out of a female Wilding. Half way through the first series and I am wondering which other bits will have been cut out, why do they do that? Further on the scene with Joffrey and the whores does not end with target practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 28 Feb 2014
By 
D. G. Thomas (Laugharne, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
this was the only thing that I miss from cancelling sky, much cheaper to buy this than keep a subscription!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing tale of love,lust, greed, murder and fantastical beasts!!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Right from the first episode, you are drawn into the magnificence of Kings, Queens, lovers, haters, mythical beasts and the legendary storytelling that is A Game of Thrones. The twists and turns of the lives of the characters have you hooked from the start.....and it never lets you go! If you are at all squeamish this may not be your cup of tea....and there is plenty of colourful language and nudity. Having said that, none of it is gratuitous - in this viewer's humble opinion.
I would recommend this to everyone who is not easily shocked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing. Great price. Can't wait for season 4. Love the dragons and the effects of how they were born.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box set. Excellent series, 10 April 2014
By 
Walshy (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I already had both the season 1 & 2 box sets on DVD, however after buying an Xbox One, I decided to repurchase them along with season 3 on blu-ray. I'm fairly new to blu-rays, so I apologise in advance if I sound like a blu-ray noob.

Packaging 9/10 - The outer box the blu-ray cases come in is really good quality. One the outside is a cardboard sleeve with a raised print of a map of Westeros, with the title text also being raised. The map itself has a matte feel to it and is really good quality. Underneath the sleeve is a simple but solid black cardboard case with just a raised title again in a shiny gold colour, which also the same down the spine. Each season has its own blu-ray case, each containing 5 discs, featuring roughly 2 episodes per disc. The cases are good quality and have a good weight to them, unlike some cheap box sets you see on the market.

Bonus Features 10/10 - Every episode has the option to enable an in-episode guide which in my opinion is great. It allows you to bring up a well presented pop-up menu which provides background info on the on screen characters or environments at any particular moment. While very well presented, I preferred not to use the guides as I'd rather just enjoy the show, after all there is plenty of lore on the web for those interested. As well there are hours of behind the scenes, making of and cast interviews to watch also.

Sound & Picture quality 10/10 - Just as if I was watching it broadcast on Sky Atlantic HD, not much else to say.

Game of Thrones season 1-3 9/10 - Some fantastic acting, especially from many of the younger cast members. I won't reveal any spoilers but the series is fantastic, many of the characters are likeable while others you're made to despise, in a good way of course. One of the great things about the story is that it really is ruthless and doesn't think twice about killing off key characters. My only criticism would maybe be that sometimes there seems to be sodomy and torture just for the sake of it, personally I don't mind it and some of the darker scenes really do make you feel tense emotions.

Final verdict 9.5/10 - The box set itself will look great amongst your collections, there's an abundance of extras and the transfer from TV to blu-ray is seamless. The final 0.5 was me being really picky, having watching Breaking Bad, seasons 1-5 and being utterly engrossed by the story I feel that sometimes GoT doesn't quite make you invest so much emotion into certain characters as their are so many different characters to follow all at once. However please don't let me put you off as I don't think I'll ever be able to give another show a 10/10 when using Breaking Bad as a benchmark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must,really exciting., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had to limit myself to 2hrs a night until i finished all 3 seasons,can't wait for the next season.and yes i shall watch it again,several times i expect.great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good product, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must for all GOT fans , cant wait for season 4 as i watched all these 3 in 2 weeks, one of the best tv boxsets ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
55.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews