Customer Reviews


514 Reviews
5 star:
 (457)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great extras.
If you are looking at this product you probably don't need me to sell you the series itself, you likely know how engrossing and how brilliantly put together it is. Why then should you buy this box set instead of watching or re-watching the series on a catch-up service?

The extras are why. All three series have some incredibly interesting and entertaining audio...
Published 8 months ago by Kowetas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected from the box
I am a bit disappointed with the box. I was expecting nice booklets as I have seen on youtube etc [...] yet this box contains normal bluray cases. I don't know why this version is different, really bummed me out to receive a normal package, being such a big fan of the show..
Published 5 months ago by R. Schut


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great extras., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
If you are looking at this product you probably don't need me to sell you the series itself, you likely know how engrossing and how brilliantly put together it is. Why then should you buy this box set instead of watching or re-watching the series on a catch-up service?

The extras are why. All three series have some incredibly interesting and entertaining audio commentaries that accompany the episodes. Some are really informative, with the director or writers giving insights into how particular things were done, where, when and why. Each series George R.R. Martin commentates the episode that he specifically wrote, and this is especially interesting for those who have not read the books as he points out some of the differences in characters, or settings, or slight plot changes. Some of them that feature the actors have less (although still a reasonable amount) of insight into the filming process, however they are fun and entertaining and allow the watcher to learn a bit about the actors behind the characters and what may be involved with their daily lives on and off the shoot. Unfortunately there are usually about two or three episodes a season without commentary, however in seasons two and three some of them have two. This is a bit disappointing as I re-watch the series and want to have a commentary an episode as I do so and not have to watch episodes twice in succession, but is not a major issue.

'The Making Of' documentaries are also insightful and as a filmmaker myself they are inspirational in giving me ideas for ways of shooting things. Although some of the things that they talk about are touched upon in the commentaries, overall they are still worth the watch for a bit of a closer look, and to see how things looked before the editing and visual effects teams got a hold of them.

In addition to this there are many other short featurettes about the 'Game of Thrones' world and the making of the series, and for season three there are extended and deleted scenes.

Something that I think is a very nice touch is the episode guide pamphlet included for each series. In all the seasons it has the episode names and summaries on it. For the first season also included on it are family trees, and a map of the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros. The second series has information about the characters and a map that extends to show all of the areas that the show visits. In the third season pamphlet there is a nice piece of concept art of the Throne Room in King's Landing.

Overall I am very impressed with the box set as a whole. I do think however that the third season lacks somewhat in the 'Making Of' department, however it has other featurettes on aspects of the cultures within the series and extended and deleted scenes that somewhat make up for this. If you are a fan of the show and are looking to know more about it, or even want to re-watch it, I do recommend this box set with the audio commentaries on (and you can subtitle the show so you can still keep up with the story).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones is a meaty specacle with an astounding cast., 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The perfect drinking vessel to compliment this wonderful series THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
For those of you, who have not read the book, prepare for a wild ride! For those of you who have, this is as faithful an adaptation as I have seen from book to film (or TV in this case.) Like Peter Jackson's "Lord of the Rings" trilogy, this series captures the tone and the emotion of the books perfectly, if not exact scenes and dialogue. With characters and situations as real and as strong as any other literature genre out there, well-paced, well-acted, well-shot--this is a piece glorious to behold!

The production is beautiful, the dialog economical and exceptionally well-delivered, and it is smart in bringing Martin's writing to screen: the spirit is all there, the grim tone, and even the added scenes created to flesh out the characters and the world feel natural, as if lifted from the novels. That's when you know the show runners understand the story and deeply appreciate the complexities. Standouts include Peter Dinklage (Tyrion), Maisie Williams (Arya), Isaac (Bran), Kit Harrington (Jon), Michelle Fairley (Catelyn), Sean Bean (Ned), Harry Lloyd (Viserys), Mark Addy (Robert), and Lena Headey (Cersei). That's quite a big roster of favourites, but therein lays the truth: fans of the novel or not, Game of Thrones is a meaty spectacle with an astounding cast. I'm looking forward to watching it all unfold and seeing (as well as reading, if he ever decides to finish the book series) how it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest series to ever grace the small screen?, 24 Aug 2013
I'm by no means an expert on critiquing or reviewing tv as i'm more of a music man. I also don't like seeing premature reviews just for the sake of it, but I felt I simply had to strike while the iron was hot whilst i'm at my most enthusiastic about Game of Thrones. Or as original long-term fans would dub it, A Song of Ice and Fire.

Having watched all three seasons multiple times and devoured the five volumes of books, I can honestly admit that this medieval period masterpiece has got me well and truly hooked. Literally not a day goes by when I don't think or talk about a certain set-piece, line of dialogue or a flippant action of one of it's many masterfully written characters, my work colleagues are no different.

Over these three seasons you'll be taken on an exciting yet convoluted journey, while your emotions will be toyed with left right and center. This show is an adaptation of the George RR Martin book series, 'A Song Of Ice And Fire' and what a tremendous effort it does in staying faithful to the source material. *Mild Spoiler Alert - Everything you've become accustomed to over your whole lifetime of watching tv? Best pretend that didn't exist as this bastard keeps you guessing every step of the way. In my opinion 'Game of Thrones' is a real game changer in the way we judge characters, feel about characters and flat out what we've come to expect after a lifetime of watching tv. 'Rules'... this show just doesn't abide by them.

It's hard to explain without ruining things but let's say that this story/tv show tears the rule book in half as to what we've come to expect from a story/tv show. A fantastical undercurrent is prevalent in this fictional land and it's something to behold in the books, but HBO have very deftly removed some elements to make it more palatable to a tv audience who may not be too familiar with x-rated fantasy storytelling (your reviewer was one of them). I've also heard people complaining that the show is too slow at the beginning, but personally I found that to be nonsense as the very first episode holds an almighty cliffhanger. It will take you a while to suss out each character and their respective 'Houses', there's a lot of information to get through.

Another noteworthy topic to discuss is the actual EXPANSION of the original story. For example, the books' chapters are all done from Point Of View complete with an inner monologue, but what happens to the non-POV characters once they close the door behind them? Well the writers do a sterling job in showing you, like a superb conversation between the king and two of his bodyguards (Kingsguard) in Season 1 which kills two birds with the one stone, essentially expanding characters which don't get much 'page time' and filling you in on some juicy backstory.

Season one plays most like a drama out of the three. An honorable man leaves the sanctuary of his home and (half) his loving family to aid his long-term war ally (who also happens to be King) in the "Rat's Nest" capital, Kings Landing. Meanwhile across the narrow sea, Viserys Targaryen, his sister Daenerys and an army of Dothraki Horselords plan an assault on the kingdom of Westeros in an attempt to re-claim the Targaryen's ancestral chair which was usurped by the current King, Robert Baratheon. That's just the tip of the iceberg as there are several key storylines running parallel with one another. This Season is mostly designed to get you used to four of the major Houses and to give you an idea of each colorful characters' (initial) agenda. DO NOT mistake this for a bland season as it's anything but that ;)

Season two ramps up the action with five lords laying claim to the be the rightful king. By this stage things have gone a bit pear shaped regards the laws and politics of the coveted "Iron Throne", which in turn allows for more players to emerge. I found this to be a step up from the first Season as it had the perfect balance of great scenery, compelling drama and exemplary battle sequences. Admittedly they do stray from the books quite a bit this time around and with such a wealth of material to work off of, you wonder why this is the case. Although not all changes are for the better, I must commend the show runners for handling some transitions quite brilliantly. Two characters, Roose Bolton and Tywin Lannister, both take up identical roles in almost identical scenes in the book and show respectively. They work flawlessly in both mediums and it's a clear cut case of what works best on the page and on screen. Lest we forget Episode 9 - Blackwater. One of the greatest tv episodes i've ever seen.

Season three brings us firmly back into book territory (for the record 'A Storm of Swords' is an amazing read and is considered the best book). Here's where your metal will be tested. How will this occur? Hmmm. How can I put this? If you've enjoyed the show up until this point for whatever reason (pro Lannister, pro Stark, pro anything, it makes no matter), I think this is the Season that will make you or break you. Is it bad? Far from it, in hindsight I think it's the best. There's lots of new characters to explore and the already momentous freight-train of the main storyline (Starks vs Lannisters) that's been ploughing along goes into the stratosphere.... Episode 9 'The Rains of Castemere' overtakes 'Blackwater' for my favorite episode of ANY tv show of all time, so that's two from this show alone!

Last but not least, the extras. Oh the extras. This is why it's worth forking out for the official release. There is absolutely no stone left unturned here. A huge portion of the rich lore is presented over the three seasons and is an almost essential addition imo. There's an interactive guide to Westeros (the fictional land in which it's set). It gives you the history of every major House in the land, perfect for those (like me) who'll miss something first time round. Character profiles which are actually interesting to watch and enrich the overall experience greatly.

Game of Thrones is a show that'll leave you with more questions than answers. Its characters will have you baying for their blood one minute and eliciting endless sympathy the next. The violence, language and sex is very close to the edge, and is beyond doubt unsuitable for children. Be prepared for an unyielding, unapologetic masterpiece of a story. Be prepared for emotion, heartbreak and triumph, and one of the greatest ever stories.

Here are Season 3's extras, in case you were wondering...
Blu-Ray - In-Episode Guide - In-feature resource that provides background information about on-screen characters, locations and relevant histories.
"The Rains of Castamere" Unveiled - Get an in-depth look at the creation of the most pivotal episode of Season 3 in this comprehensive exposé featuring cast and crew.
"The Roots of Westeros" - Explore the interconnected web of relationships, rivalries and conflicts between the noble houses of Westeros with this interactive guide.
"Histories & Lore" - Learn about the mythology of Westeros as told from the varying perspectives of the characters themselves.

DVD - "A Gathering Storm" Featurette - Look back at the stormy events of Season 2 in this 14-minute recap with cast and crew.
"The Politics of Marriage" Featurette - The concept of matrimony in Westeros is all about making power plays and political alliances. Cast and crew examine this ancient institution and its place in Game of Thrones.
"Inside the Wildlings" Featurette - Go beyond the Wall with this introduction to the wildlings to gain a better understanding of their backstory.
"New Characters of Season 3" Meet the new faces in Season 3: Olenna Tyrell, Missandei, Mance Rayder, Tormund Giantsbane, Orell, Jojen & Meera Reed, Blackfish & Edmure Tully, Thoros of Myr and Beric Dondarrion.

*Amended Review
I forgot to mention a slight niggle regards the functionality of the discs. As you know, a lot of DVD's/Blu-Rays come with a continuity feature which basically lets you take off from where you left it. Here it's not an option which can become quite annoying after a while. They DO however provide disc to disc sequential running. If you make a mistake by putting in the wrong disc or you run out of episodes and want to carry on to the next disc without going through the (many) unskipable menus, you're allowed eject the disc and replace it with your desired choice without being punished. Just something to take into consideration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 2 April 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Hutchinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I could not stop watching this - it took me about 4 days to watch all 3 seasons - and i will watch them all again - excellent series, acting, plotting etc. although i have not read the books it is very addictive and can't wait for season 4 to come on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Projection classic, 20 Oct 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally rented the dvd of Season one and viewed it on a mere 32' widescreen TV, not even flatscreen! At the time I found it interesting but not compelling. A couple of weeks ago I was feeling a bit blue, the world seemed dim. I decided to purchase the complete Rome on blu ray and I took a chance on this complete Game of Thrones.

I started to watch Season one on 100' projection screen and was completely taken in by the whole production. Suddenly scenes in woods were vivid depictions of other lands. Greens and browns and reds put me in the scene. Immaculate blu ray picture. If that was not enough the rear speakers often came alive, so completely immersing me in the narrative. Those dragons sound as fierce as they look.

And now I am analysing that narrative. Whereas before it may have been a good adventure yarn, now it resonates with power today and how it is harnessed and secured.

The only black spot is that I payed £50 for this box-set and see it for £42 (until 2nd Nov) less than a week later. Whilst the box-set appears to be three blu ray cases in a box, each case has two 'pages' allowing for each of the five discs to have its own page. I particularly like the foldout leaflet which identifies families and names of characters. And as for Rome: I know that will be the treat of all treats. On projection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 28 Feb 2014
By 
D. G. Thomas (Laugharne, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was the only thing that I miss from cancelling sky, much cheaper to buy this than keep a subscription!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brace Yourselves!, 3 Aug 2014
By 
G. HOLMES (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gritty, bloody, shocking, outrageous cruelty, merciless torture. The sheer wretchedly miserable lives of the folk of Westeros that forces you to concentrate on the plots in sympathy. An experience similar to, but that compares more favourably to filling in a tax return for HMRC., but equally unavoidable, unfortunately. A must-see for the telly watcher who loves fantasy over horror. This particular feature combines both genre that should satisfy even the most fastidious of viewers. Absolutely unmissable. I can watch these episodes over and over again. Few series command this much attention from me. Peter Jackson's 'Lord of the Rings' trilogy is better, with his latest 'The Hobbit' trilogy coming up on the rails. The arrival of this particular boxed set of 'Game of Thrones' will sit next to them on my bookshelf collection of precious, fantasy Blu-rays. I've a feeling that television is overtaking the Cinema in quality drama these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't blu-ray, it don't play…., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have not read the books, it will take you most of season 1 to understand what is going on. My recommendation would be to watch season 1, then some of the useful in-episode guides to the kingdoms and characters and then restart. The glorious colours, the pin-sharp blu-ray edition and the amazing soundtrack will make this a pleasure rather than a hardship and the second and third seasons become all the more immersing when you have a handle on "who is who" and "where is where". This edition really has some jaw-dropping moments that are brought out by the blu-ray technology. The wildfire explosion in "the Battle of Blackwater Bay" was visually amazing and shook my speakers to the core, while the moment when the White Walkers finally appear in the snow was dramatic in the extreme (those tendrils of frozen vapour…..). The scenery and colours, particularly of the scenes in King's Landing, are breathtaking and the costume details (apart from the somewhat wacky armour and overall lack of headgear (what, no helmets?) stunning. Three editions in a box saves shelf space, the only disadvantage being that I now have to wait for season 6 to buy a matching edition. Oh that life was always that easy….
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected from the box, 22 July 2014
By 
R. Schut "Invalescus" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a bit disappointed with the box. I was expecting nice booklets as I have seen on youtube etc [...] yet this box contains normal bluray cases. I don't know why this version is different, really bummed me out to receive a normal package, being such a big fan of the show..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free], 4 Sep 2014
By 
CharmaineZoe (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I bought this set I was a GoT virgin, knowing nothing about the series apart from some chatter I'd read on the internet. But what I had read got me sufficiently intrigued that when I was given a £50 Amazon voucher from the girls at work for my birthday I figured this was a good time to splurge and buy this set which ordinarily I wouldn't have! So glad I did as from the first episode I was hooked, and managed to watch all 3 series in a week - this involved hogging the big TV and banishing hubby to watch TV on his tablet on the kitchen table bless him, he was very forbearing! It took a while to get over the amount of sex, nudity and violence, and working out all the different families and who was who etc was quite tricky (there are so many characters!). Now I am completely hooked and can see what all the fuss is about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2014]
Game of Thrones - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2014] by Peter Dinklage (DVD - 2014)
£32.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews