Customer Reviews


985 Reviews
5 star:
 (836)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


209 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Storm of Swords brought to life
Game of Thrones is one of the best TV series ever made- period. It's got wonderful production values, one of the finest casts assembled, brilliantly written source material to build fantastic scripts from and Season 3 is possibly - the best one yet. Yes it has issues, for fans of the books it makes more changes, character introductions, some characters cut clean out...
Published 20 months ago by Riffan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first two seasons.
Having read all the books I couldn't wait to watch Game of Thrones and thoroughly enjoyed Seasons 1 and 2. Alas I found Season 3 very disjointed as though they were trying to cram as much in as possible and the result is you are jumping from character to character very quickly and the smooth flow of the story is lost. For anyone who has read the books you can work out...
Published 9 months ago by Cire


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

209 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Storm of Swords brought to life, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Game of Thrones is one of the best TV series ever made- period. It's got wonderful production values, one of the finest casts assembled, brilliantly written source material to build fantastic scripts from and Season 3 is possibly - the best one yet. Yes it has issues, for fans of the books it makes more changes, character introductions, some characters cut clean out (Loras not joining the Kingsguard works surprisingly well for the plot) and there's some unnecessary elements added in for comedy - but most of them make sense and benefit the series to streamline an immense book like Storm of Swords into a 10 hour TV series. For non-book fans the pacing is much slower and at the same time there are so many threads and they often get a brief few minutes and then jump cut to the next, and the next. By Episode 6 this stops becoming such a problem and the pacing relaxes. But the episodes are all really strong, the characters and the actors playing them are at their best here. Season 3 covers more like 2/3 rather than 1/2 of Storm of Swords, not going far beyond the events of the Red Wedding which holds the prominent episode 9 slot. Whilst it doesn't end on a dynamic cliffhanger like Season 2 did, Season 3 closes before a book reaches its third act, before the climaxes (yes there are several), which will no doubt feature in Season 4, which will have more space to breathe if it commits solely to Storm of Swords.

So following the events of the Battle of Blackwater and the unseen battle at the Fist of the First Men, Series 3 has a lot to portray, the depleting cause of the Northerners, the union of the Tyrells and the Lannisters in marriage and Daenerys becoming a legendary conqueror with the Unsullied Army which is her main focus for the season. Whilst the cast is exceptional, there are two newcomers in particular who just steal every scene they're in. Kristofer Hivju as Tormund Giantsbane is almost lovable as the wall-climbing Wildling "I like you boy, but if you lie to me - I'll pull your guts our through your throat." The other is Dianna Riggs' Ollenna Tyrell who plays the Game of Thrones with every Lannister she can find and is one of the finest players, the only character able to put Tyrion down in wordplay, although Tyrion and Tywin's interplay this series is some of the finest ever presented. Also established characters get even more development, Jaime Lannister's character development is fascinating here as he turns from die-cast villain to humility and honor when things get out of hand. Having never liked Daenerys in the previous seasons (she didn't really do much) - her actions here turn her into one of the finest strong-willed characters which begins to remove her entitlement complex in favor of earning her place. Unfortunately knowing where she goes in "Dance of Dragons" it may only last until next season - rarely does the audience get what they want. Meanwhile Tywin gets more time to put down his family members (his scene tutoring Joffrey is legendary) and Tyrion remains a vital member but is no longer the show's star, the responsibility gets spread out. There's barely a weak member of the cast here and be warned for anyone who hasn't seen this season yet - as it is in Storm of Swords, the writers are willing to kill off characters front, left and center. To quote one of the best new members of the cast, Iwan Rheon's chilling Ramsay Snow: "If you think this has a happy ending, you haven't been paying attention."

One of the best things about the show is that it has made people think, judging by the fanbase; it has the scripting to make the abbhorent be considered possibly accpetable on themes such as incest, child-murder, betrayal and rights and means to lead and rule. How does one excuse a vile person like Jaime Lannister - put them next to someone like Walder Frey or Craster and you have the answer. Complex moral issues for the sake of family and power are constantly raised and the series always makes a good attempt to explore them with a full heart. The production in the season is faultless, the CGI has been put to good use for direwolves, a giant and the quickly growing dragons, while the location work is forever brillaint from the icy wastes of the North to the rolling plains of Slaver's Bay. Even the sex and nudity aspect of the show feels more rationalized with some of them actually contributing to plot and character development (although the writers still like to use the brothel and all that entails). With two weddings passed and one major one yet to come, the set is staged for some epic set pieces that Season 3 has set in motion and Season 4 will no doubt bring. Filled as ever with blood, betrayal and brilliance - Season 3 delivers the best of a Song of Ice and Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 proves Game of Thrones is one of televisions finest dramas.,, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The perfect gift to complement this wonderful series is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Game of Thrones is first and foremost one of the most ambitious and creatively challenging (and rewarding) series on television. Secondly, it's mighty dense. If you lack sufficient bandwidth in your memory or you haven't "marathoned" the previous season right before starting the next one, break out the Advil.

Season 3 can be comfortably described as insanely ambitious. In a series that already has so many characters and interwoven storylines, viewers get two fascinating new characters in Mance Rayder (Ciaran Hinds), the King-Beyond-the-Wall and Olenna Redwyne (Diana Rigg), a new location in Astapor, bands of warriors forgotten since Season 1 and enough fallout and intrigue from Season 2 to last a whole lot longer than 10 episodes (the third book in Martin's series will be split into this season and the next because it was so massive).

In keeping with the no-spoiler rule, all that really needs to be said about Season 3 is that the first four hours are immensely enjoyable and leave you, at the end of each, pleading like a junkie for the next six. This sprawling story being told in only 10 episodes doles out in an hour only precious morsels of plot from a variety of characters and clans, and then abruptly switches to the next character or clan and so on. The end result is, despite the brilliant quality, a bubbling frustration for more, more, more.

However if that's the main drawback of your series -- that viewers are so enraptured that they get frustrated in their desire for additional scenes, episodes or seasons -- then you're doing something truly right. Here's to a dense, layered, enterprising and fascinating journey through Season 3, and as many more seasons as need be to complete this incomparable fantasy. The perfect companion to this formidable series is THE ROMA VICTRIX wine beakerCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHERE ALL IS EXCELLENCE, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Another stunning, spectacular season as the power struggle intensifies - complete with new contenders and highly dramatic gory exits.

So many have reviewed, some in splendid detail, I shall merely dwell here on the extras.

The lavishly presented box set is crammed with bonuses. (A full printed list of cast and characters would, though, have been appreciated.) A most helpful fourteen minute feature reminds us of the story so far. (Best, of course, seen before venturing on Episode 1). Interestingly we are introduced to the new faces. Twelve commentaries accompany the ten episodes. All contain fine anecdotes and help to clarify certain storylines. They are at their best when a director or writer is included - an overall view then possible, reducing long silences when only cast members are involved.

The series is gripping all the way through, right from surely the most inventive title sequences ever - they changing each episode to focus on the kingdoms about to be visited.

Fans will have their favourite moments, there so many from which to choose. Few would argue that one episode has particular impact. When first shown it had viewers gaping in disbelief - then rushing online to share their grief and horror. (No wonder two stars in the accompanying commentary become so emotional, one of them watching the events for the first time.)

Great talents have converged to produce one of television's most acclaimed drama series. Full concentration is needed in order to keep up. No problem, many only too grateful for a good reason to see everything again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'TREACHERY IS A WAY OF LIFE', 11 Jun 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps one of the most followed TV drama's/series of all time, there have been many
great series down the years such as 'Roots' 'Rich man Poor man' 'Rome' and
'North and South' to pluck just one or two from the lists..
The first two series I waited for the Blu-ray release to watch over
just a few evenings, knowing i'd not want to wait a week for the
next instalment.
this time, I recorded the entire series over the pasr eleven Mondays
( Whit-Monday there was no episode in the U.K and have over the last few days
watched the third series, totally compelling and addictive viewing.
I will of course buy the box-set of the 3rd series when released.
what a truly brilliant series it really is.........................
after the victory brought about by the ingenuity of 'Lannister' dwarf
'Tyrion' and the timely intervention of 'Tywin' ( father of 'Cersei'
'Jaime' and 'Tyrion' ) the cruel and arrogant young king 'Joffrey' still
rules ( or does he ? )
( the casting of 'Joffrey' is a master-stroke, you actually feel the
need to rid the kingdom of him yourself )
there is still a queue waiting to depose the young king and the Lannister's
and claim the iron throne.
'Rob Stark' has interrupted his campaign of rescuing sister 'Sansa'
and revenging his fathers execution by order of the young king, to
return to 'Winterfell' with mother 'Catelyn' in search of his younger
brothers and sister, after 'Theon Greyjoy' had sacked the northern
kingdom.
many of 'Rob Stark's' army have left for home, now to pursue his aim
he must strike an alliance with the treacherous 'Frey's' a decision
his mother had advised him against.

meanwhile 'Mother of Dragon's' 'Daenerys' seeks to raise an army though
she has no wealth to do so, her only asset - her three Dragon's.
she grows impatient, however her young dragons are not yet ready, and
building her army of freed slaves will also take time.

those that have read the books, I haven't, will know of the unexpected
and dramatic twists that were in store for this series.
as in the previous two series the third is full of intrigue,treachery,
graphic violence and continuing adult theme.
all I can say, what a way to finish a series leaving you desperate for
the next instalment, i understand series four is still to be filmed
.....can't wait.......This remains a terrific series to follow.
Footnote:- Series four now seems to be underway along with several
new cast members, we have a while to wait before it reaches our Tv
screens, for those perhaps waiting to see series 3 for the first
time will be eager for it's Febuary 2014 release on Blu-Ray and DVD
(not sure why it hasn't already been made available)
('Sky Atlantic' have and continue to bring us superb drama's
such as 'The following' ( recently concluded ) 'Banshee' ( current series )
and starting up for it's third season 'The Borgias' among quite an
impressive list of must-see's )
For me, 'Game of Thrones' is a series right up there with the best both
past and present.
Great package presentation along with a booklet enclosed as usual.
There are extras on each of the 5-discs:
With this purchase there is a Bonus-disc.
Creating the World with visual effects (exclusive to Amazon)
There are a list of 'exclusive to Blu-ray' extras on board including:
* In episode guide
* The rains of Castamere: unveiled.
* Histories and Lore.
* Roots of Westros.
There is also a list of extras I assume are available on both DVD and Blu-ray.
* A gathering storm.
* The politics of marriage.
* Inside the Wildlings
* Audio Commentaries.
* New Characters.
* Deleted scenes/ Extended scenes.

THE LONG WAIT FOR THE FOURTH SEASON TO BEGIN IS NEARLY OVER: THE NEW
SEASON BEGINS '7TH APRIL 2014' on SKY ATLANTIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great continuation of the saga., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most purchasers will already know how great the show is, so I will concentrate on some of the extras instead, There are plenty of deleted scenes which are worth watching and the 'Histories & Lore' section voiced by various cast members is superb, giving lots of historical background to the series. I particularly liked the Varys and Petyr Baelish discussion about the final days of the Targaryan dynasty. Another highpoint is the feature on the politics of marriage in Westeros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 23 Mar 2014
By 
C. Winter "The Boater" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
As incredible as the first two and thoroughly engrossing. Watched it all in two days (thanks goodness I am retired!!) and now have to be patient about the fourth series!! Very true to the books, characters well played and effects brilliant. Wish I could give it 6 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb continuation of the series, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Ronnie Bradley (Wishaw, Lanarkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Season 3 continued the fine work of the previous two seasons, building up the characters and the political tensions, adding new layers to characters such as Jaime Lannister who is shown as far more honourable and decent a person than we were led to believe from season 1. My favourite characters remain Tyrion, Tywin, Daenerys and Lord Varys.

As others have mentioned the season is as brutal and uncompromising as ever especially in episode 9, which really does build to a shocking climax. Nothing anyone who has been watching the show shouldnt have seen coming, but shocking all the same.

I do have one quibble with this DVD package as currently advertised. From the box image it is claiming to be a 15. Surely not? The red wedding sequence alone should push it into 18 territory. Either the image is wrong and season 3 is an 18 as the previous 2 seasons were or I worry there has been cutting to the episodes to make it fit a 15 rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant again., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. Moore (Stoke-on-trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the most exciting series I have come across in years. The plot(s) is/are convoluted and well thought out. The whole storyline draws you and leaves you wanting more. My one regret! I have to wait another year for the next installment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I suppose it takes all kinds...!!!, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I have written before about the series so I won't do it again.It is simply excellent,whichever way you look at it.
I am,however,extremely amused by reviewers who rate this one(...or any other outstanding piece of cinematography...)with one-star only(meaning trash...)because the dvd is either expensive,or not functioning properly,or it has arrived late,and so on,and so forth !!
In my mind this is the equivalent of buying a Turner painting and trashing it because : it was expensive,or the frame is not nice,or the gallery delivered it late,,or the painting itself needed some "cleaning" !!!
But,I suppose,it takes all kinds ....!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class series, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The trouble with this GoT is that at the end of each season you are left wanting more. The effort taken to progress each storyline takes up so much time that by the end there has been little overall movement - which the author is addressing with a few of these lines being rather savagely pruned!

My main gripe is why oh why does there have to be such a long wait between its being shown on TV and coming out on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014]
Game of Thrones - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] by Peter Dinklage (DVD - 2014)
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews