Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POW!
It's fascinating watching the backlash from certain reviewers about SW. Most of it seems aimed at being annoyed that he doesn't like people ripping off his music or filming his shows. What can you say about that?

He doesn't like being stolen from, and he doesn't like unapproved versions of his performances (captured on smartphones) being the things that hit...
Published 20 months ago by C. Porter

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's weird
I don't really get it anymore. I am sure die-hard fans will rave about the unique, intelligent masterpiece for the happy few that understand it, but I just don't get it. Sure, he is a great songwriter and a good guitarist, but you can make it so complicated that is is no fun listening to it anymore. I recognise the man's talent and it is not as if it is punishment to...
Published 21 months ago by R. J. W. Degreef


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POW!, 5 May 2013
By 
C. Porter (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It's fascinating watching the backlash from certain reviewers about SW. Most of it seems aimed at being annoyed that he doesn't like people ripping off his music or filming his shows. What can you say about that?

He doesn't like being stolen from, and he doesn't like unapproved versions of his performances (captured on smartphones) being the things that hit YouTube. Sounds to me like an artist trying to retain control of his career. It might be foolish, or not, but not worthy of the vitriol here.

And this should be about the product. SW has regularly tried to produce what I would call 'premium' product - a physical experience that makes the purchase worthwhile in a tactile as well as artistic sense. Lush art, nice presentation, sturdy containers, hosts of extras to keep the true fan happy.

The documentary on the DVD is a thing of joy. I had no idea how funny Nick Beggs was until this!

These people are making artsy, pretentious music, but they are neither in themselves - as evidenced herein. As for the music - yes, it references plenty of other artists' work. And I guess you could say he is stealing from them. But if the net result is THIS GOOD, who cares? If the artists that he is borrowing from were still making albums this good, we wouldn't be bitching, we'd be buying them, loving them, poring over them. Not patting ourselves on the back if we happened to spot similarities to existing work.

Lose yourself in the music, kids, its what it's all about - how it makes you FEEL. And this stuff is sublime. I don't care if it is recycled. At all. And I'm not even saying that it is. It sounds amazing. I feel amazing. That should be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be Amazed!, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
Outstanding!
For the first time in ages I have just been transported back, reminded of a day long ago and far away of a certain younger man. Having eagerly run most of the way home with his newly discovered gate-fold vinyl album tucked under his arm and finally getting down to listen to some new sounds, waiting to be amazed.
Back then there was always something new to be amazed at.
These days - not so much.

This album is without a doubt the most authentic prog rock album to date by any artist who wasn't actually around in the 70`s. I use the much maligned term prog rock, though it's not a description I like. Sadly it's the only one we have for music as diverse, melodic, complex and compositionally interesting as this.

From the opening moments of `Luminol` and through its 12:10 minutes of intricate tempo changes and mostly instrumental interplay to the last blissful moments of `The Raven that Refused to Sing`, I was held spellbound in my armchair - not wanting this album to end. I couldn't believe 58 minutes had passed.

Sure there are musical references to many bands who were around in the seventies - King Crimson, Yes, Genesis, Camel, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd to name but a few.

WHO CARES when it's this good?

Also, if you have followed Steven and Porcupine Tree you know what they are about. The references are meant to be there. For goodness sakes, ALL musicians `borrow` from other musicians whether you listen to classical, pop or rock. It's what you do with it that makes the magic happen.

Steven Wilson has achieved what no other modern musician has been able to do, in my opinion.
He has taken prog rock and made it new again. (Now, if we could only give it a new name) !

To digress a moment, I was intrigued by a previous `review` of incessant whinging by a certain P.Hall `squonk_uk`, who ruthlessly laid into this album with some extremely derisory remarks that were laced with a particular personal axe to grind. OK, he is entitled to his opinion - even if it sucks. (How he thinks any artist should not be protective of his or her work and hopefully earn some money from it, beats me. It's how they make their living for God's sake) !
Anyway, moving on. Most of the other reviewers have already praised this album way more eloquently than me so I'll say no more, except this-
Trust me - this album is worth your attention.
It's worth listening to - all the way through.
It's worth buying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowingly good, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely incredible piece of work. Seriously, it's approaching genius level composition, arrangement and musicianship and has brought a much maligned genre (unfairly, in my opinion), prog rock, kicking and screaming into the 21st century. You can clearly hear the influences on this record, namely Pink Floyd, Yes, Rush, Camel, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and, naturally, Alan Parsons who is the engineer on "The Raven That Refused To Sing". With this album, prolific Porcupine Tree frontman Steven Wilson has surpassed any previous work he has been involved with, either solo or with his band, and has made a beautifully complex, artistic record that would be hailed as a classic in any pretty much any year since the late sixties. This isn't hyperbole; I own too many albums to be this impressed without good reason and don't bandy the word "genius" around without there being justification for such a high accolade, but Wilson and this tremendous project deserve all the superlatives thrown at them.

Unfortunately, this isn't an album I could write about easily without going massively in depth and I don't have the spare time or inclination to write an essay about the choice of instrumentation, the specific influences on certain tracks, the time signature changes, the stellar performances all of the musicians give, the rich textures and dynamics or the deliberately dark, heavy and slightly opaque lyrics, but, if I had the time, it's the kind of album I could enthuse about and analyse extensively. I will simply say that, from the moment it begins to the final notes, this is intelligent, emotive, creative, mind-blowing music at its absolute finest. I would recommend this without question to anybody who loves progressive rock, but would urge any lover of rock, jazz or classical to listen to this at least once, because this record has a depth and integrity that defies pigeon-holing it into any one specific genre. Just listen, that's all I ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album! A musical masterpiece, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best album this year for me, heard it on CD first and loved it so much I bought the vinyl later. Saw Steven's Royal Albert hall show and the band were note-perfect.

Nobody else is making music quite like Steven Wilson, and this makes him one of my very favourite artists. I was previously a little sceptical of his solo project, feeling that he never quite reached the heights of the Porcupine Tree catalogue, but this album has changed my mind.

There are so many moods in this album, the title track in particularly is so sad and haunting, it never fails to make the hairs stick up on the back of my neck.

Carry on making amazing music Steven! And to anyone who hasn't heard this yet, you don't know what you are missing until you have a listen- a musical masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of Prog Heaven, 28 Feb 2013
By 
N. A. Davies (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
Ok, now to quantify this review lets start by saying that I'm not the biggest Porcupine Tree fan. I thought The Incident was excellent, Stupid Dream, Lightbulb Sun was pretty good, and the rest pretty average, a few good tracks here and there but nothing too remarkable.

I would not have bought this if it had not received a glowing review in Classic Rock and thought I'd give it a punt and run a download. For £5.43 what could go wrong?

As soon as it was downloaded (took a while, broadband not too speedy here) I settled down with a mug of tea googled the lyrics and off we went.

Sailing from the speakers came a sublime mix of very retro prog mixed with jazzy interludes, atmospheric keyboards - each song intertwined with a narrative story of regret, death, etc - all the usual 'happy' prog staples. Wilson has assembled a very talented band capable of playing out his visions, an unashamed romp through extended pieces that billow out slowly and dramatically with all their prog roots showing. This is the kind of music that Punk tried, and failed to kill off in the 70's, but with a pristine clarity of recording that is frankly breath-taking. If it sounds good on an Ipod, what does the blue ray version sound like?!

Highlight for me has to the last song, the title track that tells of a man who loses his sister early on in her life, and struggling to come to terms with it convinces himself that a raven he has captured will prove that there is life after death if he can get the bird to sing. As the title suggests, the raven refuses and he is left to ponder whether there is anything beyond this life. Weird? Yes, Morbid? Indeed. Beautiful, heart wrenching and downright genius? You bet your bottom dollar...

Music for the heart, the head, the soul, the past, the future. Marvellous stuff Steve, thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man who regurgitated the past and other worries?, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
Not at all!

In a recent interview, Steven Wilson alluded to a view that at a basic level everything has been done and we can only regurgitate the corpse of what has gone before. (Apologies, if the words aren't exact).

All music has reference to what has gone before. Everyone has listened to one artist and thought: 'That sounds like so-and-so'.

But, this album will be listened to for many years to come just like the classics that came before it and which bear some influence upon it.

From the opening salvo of bass and drums of 'Luminol' to the melancholic denouement of 'The Raven that Refused to Sing' this is an album to savour, to listen to again and again.

All the instruments sound like they are supposed to, not overproduced and mastered into a digital mess. A tribute to Steven Wilson's production and the engineering of Alan Parsons.

The album sounds alive and the tracks have so many turns that you feel at any time the music could soar in a totally new direction.

This album has been called a love letter to the albums of the late '60's and '70's but I think it is a little bolder so perhaps we should call it a wolf whistle down the years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good it's scary!, 23 Oct 2013
SW really scored a gem with this current lineup, top notch and tasteful musicianship blending masterfully with Wilson's brooding moods. A musical throwback in time to the likes of King Crimson, Jethro Tull, maybe even a bit of Hawkwind. Just attended his concert at the Royal Albert Hall and was slapped silly by these guys. Simply mandatory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than excellent, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
It is a while since I heard such a range of musical ideas on a single album. From the piano based Raven, guitar arpeggios of Drive Home to the driving bass lines of Luminol, it has everything, and in the Watchmaker, everything in a single track. The drumming is Marco Minneman playing as if possessed, the guitar work flash but musical; the songs plaintive and heartfelt. Top Album, and the title track is a shining example of what rock music should be like. Passionate, sincere and driven. Well done Steven Wilson; you have given me many hours of pleasure on my Drive Home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven wilson, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
I don't like Porcupine Tree, but this is very different, sounds like King Crimson.in good old days! Carry on Steven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Raven That Refused to Sing, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album by a multi talented artist and certainly one of the best prog albums of the year which improves with each play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories)
The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) by Steven Wilson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews