Customer Reviews


622 Reviews
5 star:
 (434)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


253 of 268 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but be aware it's not a complete soundtrack
I'm a long-time fan of Les Misérables and I was eagerly awaiting the release of another interpretation of the classic musical. I won't discuss the film here, but will concentrate on this album.

There are 20 songs on the disk, less than half of the 49 in the film. This is clearly listed as a highlights album so I don't believe it is at all misleading, but...
Published 19 months ago by Shane

versus
161 of 176 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing THAT song!
I came back from the cinema buzzing after seeing this film and couldn't wait to get the soundtrack.

'Ok' I said to my boyfriend (who is a huge Les Mis fan) '.. which one is the song?'

'Which song?'

'You know... THE song... do you hear the people sing, singing the songs of angry men, it is the music of a people...?'

'Oh, it's...
Published 19 months ago by Spyro


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

253 of 268 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but be aware it's not a complete soundtrack, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Shane (North-East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
I'm a long-time fan of Les Misérables and I was eagerly awaiting the release of another interpretation of the classic musical. I won't discuss the film here, but will concentrate on this album.

There are 20 songs on the disk, less than half of the 49 in the film. This is clearly listed as a highlights album so I don't believe it is at all misleading, but I thought it important to stress that fact here in the review. Some of the omissions are a surprise to me; notably "Come to Me", "Do You Hear the People Sing?" and "A Little Fall of Rain" - all iconic songs for the musical in my personal opinion (plus I'd have liked to have "Little People" included as it's one I enjoy a lot). However, included is "Suddenly", a new song for the film, and the songs that are included are very strong.

Of the songs on the disk some stand out and I would like to comment on them...

Anne Hathaway's rendition of "I Dreamed a Dream", a portion of which was used in the trailer and has gone far and wide across the internet, is the run-away piece of this compilation for me. From it's jarring and quiet start it rides a roller-coaster of emotion and is truly amazing.

"A Heart Full of Love" shows the vocal talents of the singing actors exceptionally well as they sing together. You can feel the passion in the piece, and things like this show exactly why the cast singing live together was a great choice.

"On My own" has been my favourite song from the musical, from the very first time listening to it, and Samantha Barks doesn't disappoint as she delivers it exceptionally.

One final nod goes to the unlikely pairing of Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter for "Master of the House". Although I have read a couple of articles expressing that maybe they weren't ideal choices for the film (and my wife was very unsure about "Borat doing Les Mis") they perform a brilliant and funny double act. Great stuff. Nobody else will truly be Thénardier for me after this!

The quality of the recordings is very good, though the large ensemble numbers (such as "Master of the House") can sometimes get a little hard to follow some of the lyrics with a large number of background singers - the only thing that is a negative to the idea of the actors singing live.

All-in-all this is a great version of an amazing musical. I'm very positive about this (as I am sure you have detected through my subtle review...) and I have no hesitation in giving it a five-star review as it is fantastic soundtrack collection. My one caveat (and may seem contrary to the five-star review, but I don't believe so) is that if you want the whole soundtrack, this isn't it and don't buy it (I chose to buy it in the hope that sales will drive an earlier release of the full soundtrack). What is here, however, is more than worth the ú4.99 it cost me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 176 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing THAT song!, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Spyro (Colchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came back from the cinema buzzing after seeing this film and couldn't wait to get the soundtrack.

'Ok' I said to my boyfriend (who is a huge Les Mis fan) '.. which one is the song?'

'Which song?'

'You know... THE song... do you hear the people sing, singing the songs of angry men, it is the music of a people...?'

'Oh, it's just called "Do you hear the people sing?"'

... and then we both looked for it, and it wasn't there. I couldn't believe it! We played every song on here just in case it was called something different, but nope.

As other people have said, I know it's only meant to be the highlights, but the biggest song from the film, which has been in my head for days, isn't on here. I have no idea why! The whole story is about the french revolution and this is THE song which gets to the heart of that. So 2 stars I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables audio recordings, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
In my opinion the best Les Mis vocal recording is the 10th anniversary Gala Performance recorded at the Royal Albert Hall. The film is wonderful, but that is mainly down to the acting, the sets etc. The singing (recorded live whilst filming) is less than perfect although completely appropriate in the film. This recording is also Highlights only and a lot of memorable songs are not included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great just wish there were a few more tracks., 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
great just wish there were a few more tracks. anticipate a further album with more on , still i am still pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
What a fantastic soundtrack! ever song still has all the emotion that was in the film unlike some that just record a 'nicer' version. sad that some of the songs I loved didn't make it on the album guess ill just have to wait till the DVD 😊
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really need to see the film now!!, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
This is lovely - very evocative - even if it isn't the complete soundtrack. It has my favourite songs on it. Now all I need is a babysitter so my husband and I can go and see the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les meris, 19 Jan 2013
By 
I loved it was good and I like the Anne Hathaway girl she is good and it was a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant listening follow up from seeing brilliant film, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
fantastic follow up if you enjoyed film, still fantastic to listen to would recommend it to any person who loved this story, film, book and London show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The glums, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Brenda M. Worthington (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't sing any of them. Tenth anniversary recording so much better. Better they had singers who could act than vice versa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides a great follow up to the film, 18 Jan 2013
By 
D. Gordon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les MisÚrables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
This soundtrack is excellent and as you listen, it reminds you of the various parts of the film. Thoroughly enjoyable and at a great price this week...half the price of itunes!!Les Misérables: Highlights From The Motion Picture Soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews