Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, exciting, magnificently dark
Like everyone else it seems, I discovered Elizabeth Haynes' writing through her magnificent debut, Into the Darkest Corner. Her second, Revenge of the Tide, was good too, but maybe lacking a little something for me. But as for this one - it really is absolutely fantastic, arguably her best yet, and I've honestly never read anything quite like it.

The whole...
Published 21 months ago by Welsh Annie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark, unsettling but slow-paced
Annabel lives with her cat, Lucy; a strange, unpleasant, smell, which she thinks is a gift from Lucy in the form of a dead mouse or bird, leads her to investigate the empty house next door. She finds a decomposed body propped up in an armchair. Working as an analyst in the local police Intelligence Unit she begins to notice than an unusually high number of similar deaths...
Published 4 months ago by Jood


‹ Previous | 126 27 2833 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Human Remains, 20 April 2014
This review is from: Human Remains (Kindle Edition)
Like every review that I have read, looked forward to Elizabeth Haynes third book Human Remains but could not believe how truly horrible it was, what a disappointment, not one likeable character and such a vile and depressing story, beyond me who on earth would give this 5 stars, horrid little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read behind the sofa, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Paperback)
This book made me want to hide behind the sofa in the sense that Dr Who shows made me when I was a child. I was scared about what was going to happen next, but I couldn't not read on. I haven't read her other books as yet, but have just had to buy both for my Kindle. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to early form for Ms Haynes, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Protovicar (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Kindle Edition)
Lonely misfit Annabel has difficulty making friends because of her lack of emotional intelligence. She misunderstands the motivations and intentions of the folk around her and responds by withdrawing deeper, even when we'll-intentioned Sam tries to befriend and help her. Lonely misfit Colin has difficulty making friends because of his lack of emotional intelligence. He misunderstands the motivations and intentions of the folk around him and responds by... Well, let's just say Colin's behaviour is not likely to earn him friends or help. Annabel notices that lonely misfits are dying alone and in suspiciously high numbers and remaining undiscovered and undisturbed for some time - except by Colin, that is!

I loved the highly praised debut by Ms Haynes, Into the Darkest Corner but was rather disappointed by her second novel, Revenge of the Tide. This latest represents a solid return to form. It is told in alternating first person narrative, which can be a very tricky style to work with (for evidence see several young adult novels which shall remain unmentioned here). However, Annabel and Colin are beautifully expressed as characters through their distinctive voices. Both "sound" just that little bit odd, which is perfectly right for their characters, but the beauty of the character development is through their different expressions of oddity. The vignettes by the murder victims help to flesh out some of the back story and give clues as to just how odd Colin actually is.

I don't give five stars to a book lightly, but this is definitely a more than four star effort and I thoroughly enjoyed the unfolding drama, even as I began to guess where the action was headed. This story has a strong action set piece in the third act and I think it would translate very well onto the screen. A two part prime time mini series perhaps? In the meantime, don't hesitate to buy the book and be entertained by an absorbing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking thriller..., 25 Mar 2013
This review is from: Human Remains (Paperback)
I have read all of EH's books and whilst Into The Darkest Corner remains my favourite this is certainly a close second. It's a genuis concept, very creepy and thought provoking. It also has a good ending, leaving enough mystery to make you go 'nooooo' but tying up enough loose ends for you to be satsified. Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human Remains, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Kindle Edition)
This book isn't quite like anything I've read before in terms of plot, quite an unusual but frightening idea. I will be forever suspicious of anyone who has ever studied NLP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping thriller, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Human Remains (Paperback)
This third novel from Elizabeth Haynes did not disappoint. I couldn't put it down as I was desperate to know what happened next. The writing style was easy to follow and the characters were very believable. I can't wait for her next book, this one was just brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Bakey (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Paperback)
Human Remains is a gripping, dark, psychological thriller that is full of tension throughout.
Annabel is a police analyst who lives alone with only her pet cat for company and an elderly mother she visits a few times a week. One night she discovers her neighbours decomposing body and realises that she can't remember the last time she saw her but that it never crossed her mind that anything was wrong. Once back at work she finds that these discoveries are very high in her town compared to the rest of the country, she meets journalist Sam and ends up helping him to investigate what is going on.
I really enjoyed the chapters written from the point of view of the dead, they gave a good back story to these characters as well as showing why they came to make their decisions.
I thought that Annabel was likeable and I often felt sorry for her, also Colin was very creepy and I raced through the novel in a hurry to find out how it would all end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Human Remains, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Kindle Edition)
An usual premise for a book but ultimately one that I enjoyed reading. Creepy, lonely and riveting are words that spring to mind. The story is told through the eyes of the two main characters, Colin and Annabel, but also flicks back in time using the voices of the dead too. A topical story with a warped twist create a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Kindle Edition)
I have now read all 3 books written by this author, and I wasn't disappointed with this latest one, gripping enough to keep you reading til the small hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Human Remains, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains (Kindle Edition)
Sorry, although well written, just not to my particular taste. I found the storyline far too morbid and had difficulty in even finishing the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 126 27 2833 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Remains
Human Remains by Elizabeth Haynes
£1.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews