Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2011
After the splendid recent adaptation of 'At The Mountains Of Madness' by Eye Classics comes this exceptional compendium of some of Lovecraft's most celebrated short stories. As is necessary with comics the text is economical but, essentially, doesn't lose the essence of HPL's voice. The graphics themselves are extraordinary with vastly varying styles, none of which put a step wrong. Taken together these leave the tales positively dripping with the all-pervading paranoia, hopelessness and fear reknowned in the original stories. The art is enormously imaginative and adds hideous flesh to the bones of Lovecraft's often 'indescribable' entities from Dunwich Horror's Wilbur to Dagon's wasteland to Cthulhu itself.
I can't recommend this collection highly enough and would even point to it as an entry level primer to anyone curious about the dark allure of Lovecraft. Can't wait for volume 2...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Very nicely put together collection. Little bit smaller in format than most graphic novel/tpb collections but feels just right. Stories adapted with respect for the source material but also a nice understanding of the differences between prose and comics and how ro make them work in the latter. Lastly, there's a nice variety of contributors, esp. in the art department - with some interesting styles for the different pieces in the anthology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Really like the artwork in this book, really brings the stories to life. I liked the variety of having different artists rather than one person doing the whole book.

I'd definitely recommend this for Lovecraft fans, but if you haven't read any of his stories already you may not get as much out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2011
I had read a review of this book in a magazine, and as a fan of HP Lovecraft, i took that excellent review and ordered my copy from Amazon.
My initial impression wasn't great. I quickly opened the book and thought the artwork wasn't as good as i thought it could have been. However, when i sat down and actually read it, i could see where the artists were coming from in their interpretation and their style. And then, there is the writing; the short stories of HP Lovecraft are very short in this book. This sounds like i am criticising both artwork and writing/editting, but in fact nothing could be further from the truth. When these two elements combine in the book, you get a really gripping, clever, artistic realisation of Lovecraft's work. And i absolutely loved the collection. I read it in one sitting!!
Praise indeed! However, there is one flaw in my opinion. And that is the fact that this volume misses Lovecrafts best known work out all together - At the Mountains of Madness is nowhere to be seen! This is his most famous work, and it is missing! Hopefully, there will be a volume 2, and it will be included in that volume.
Other than this, i would have given this book 5 stars without a second thought.
The stories this volume contains are; Call of Cthulu, Haunter of the Dark, Dunwich Horror, Colour out of Space, Shadow over Innsmouth, Rats in the Walls and Dagon.
I would recommend this book to anyone who has read Lovecrafts other books, and would suggest that newcomers to his work should read those first before reading this book. Had i come to this graphic novel first, i may not have appreciated everything it was attempting.

For every Lovecraft fan, this is an essential purchase though - roll on volume 2!
55 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Having never encountered Lovecraft in graphic novel form, I approached this volume with some trepidation, having been persuaded to purchase by the glowing reviews above. This collection is, simply, superb. The tales selected are Lovecraft's most famous tales, but are presented with such verve that they are rendered fresh to even those most familiar with the works.
The artwork of all involved perfectly captures the mood of Lovecraft's writing and even suggest some new takes on the tales.
Recommended without hesitation.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
I saw the exact same anthology but with a different cover for around £40, and the only difference i can tell is that this may be a US edition.
Either way, I'd never read Lovecraft before, but had a slight knowledge of the mythos and I thought I'd give it a go, I was not disappointed!
The Graphic Novel is fairly long, and has about 7 or 8 different short stories in it. They're illustrated by different artists, and the artwork is fantastic overall!
I was a little apprehensive because I thought it might be a difficult read due to the dated language Lovecraft uses, but because if the nature of the artwork and storytelling, even if you don't understand a word of a phrase it's still simple to follow what's happening.
Very good purchase, I will be getting the second anthology
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
The first and most important thing I should compliment about this collection is the artwork, each tale is illustrated by a different artists and they are all fantastic in there own ways. The highlights are most definitively The Colour Out of Space for its stomach turning imagery and wild colour palate and Dagon for its haunting vistas. that is not to take away from the other tails, you will not be disappointed by any of the tails found in this short but sweet collection.

The stories themselves offer an extremely good slice of what makes Lovecraft such an enduring writer, including some of his classics along with a few that may be lesser known works. I would recommend that you seek out a collection of his works before reading this though as it is always better to imagine these things for yourself first.

This is a great collection for any fan of Lovecrafts work and a good way to win over any newbies to his work.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Like Vol 2, I bought the Kindle version of this in an Amazon sale. Each story is drawn by a different artist and the differing styles really help with the way the take unfolds. I like that the artwork is often kept quite simple as it adds to the imagined horror the narrators of the stories are dealing with, Its almost like only catching glimpses of the monster in a horror movie, which works well only often we're disappointed by the eventual 'reveal' - not so here.. The artwork always works to the stories best advantage. The stories themselves are short but unfold at a natural and eventful pace. If you can pick it up at a reasonable price, Its well worth getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
A great read for Lovecraft fans familiar with the stories. The cartoon grotesque of the artwork is particularly good. The Colour out of Space being a standout. 1 star less as I don't feel some of the dialogue in Shadow over Innsmouth worked well in graphic novel format for an otherwise excellent story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
This is a great book for those who love comic books and who enjoy seeing work from a range of graphic animators. However I sent them back since in my opinion Lovecraft stories have to be read in their full glory, the whole story word for word. Otherwise the quality withers. Great for people who may not like reading very much though - which I am like that! - but I would miss out too much if I didn't read the book and copped out with a graphic novel. That's in terms of content. In terms of quality, the images are fantastic and quality of books are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)