Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba 401333B
So, I've had this tv for approximately 1 month now and so far I am really impressed! I don't use the tuner as I am a virgin media customer so can't comment on the picture when using it. When watching it through the TiVo box the picture is good for the sd pictures and fantastic when watching the hd channels!

I also do some pc gaming using it and again the...
Published 12 months ago by Dave

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great picture Quality, Poor Audio quality
Ok, some have already mentioned a big issue with this TV. If you already have a sound bar, or a surround sound system, then the poor speakers on this TV will not matter, but I would see if your device supports a digital Co-axial lead input, which can buy through amazon at just 2.97, before buying, and don't think connecting HDMI leads will solve it, the TV is not...
Published 4 months ago by A. J. Carter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba 401333B, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
So, I've had this tv for approximately 1 month now and so far I am really impressed! I don't use the tuner as I am a virgin media customer so can't comment on the picture when using it. When watching it through the TiVo box the picture is good for the sd pictures and fantastic when watching the hd channels!

I also do some pc gaming using it and again the picture quality really is amazing with no noticeable input lag. It has taken some fiddling with the settings to get the best out of it but there are plenty of pre-sets, some of which can be altered and are stored so it's easy to swap between your favourites. There is a small amount of bleeding at the corners of the screen, particularly where the power light is but I barely notice it when watching movies. I also like to change the screen ratio to remove any black bars at the top and bottom of the picture which removes the issue completely.

The sound settings also needed altering but in my opinion it is perfectly acceptable for a mid-terrace living room.

The usb media players is also useful and very good. It plays all the mp4 and avi files I have tried, removing the need to use the pc for watching them.

All in all, I'm very pleased with this tv and wold certainly recommend it to anyone who is considering it. For anyone not with virgin etc it may be worth checking the picture quality on the next model up which has a freeview hd tuner for 50 extra as if the improvement in quality from sd to hd is the same as it is wth TiVo then it is definitely worth it!

Hope this is useful, Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great picture Quality, Poor Audio quality, 7 Dec 2013
By 
A. J. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
Ok, some have already mentioned a big issue with this TV. If you already have a sound bar, or a surround sound system, then the poor speakers on this TV will not matter, but I would see if your device supports a digital Co-axial lead input, which can buy through amazon at just 2.97, before buying, and don't think connecting HDMI leads will solve it, the TV is not compatible with HDMI ARC. If you don't have an external speaker system, then you are going to have either splash out a 100+ on a reasonable sound bar, or just get a TV with better speakers. Because I will honestly say, adequate speakers do not even describe how bad these speakers actually are, even at 50% volume they are struggling. That said, unless you are spending considerable amounts on any TV, the speaker systems are always going to be inferior to a good sound bar or surround sound system. If it wasn't for the fact that I could connect this TV to a sound bar, I would have taken it back and bought something different. TV + 120W Soundbar connected via a digital coxial lead, very good, TV on it's own, purchase something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba 40L 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV, 7 Sep 2013
By 
C. F. Carron (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
The specification and price determined my reason for purchase. The set was very simple and once the settings were sorted out this TV excelled in every way. Clarity was excellent especially in HD. The menus are easy to navigate and I particularly like the special safety feature of the set turning itself of when the handset had not been used. All in all a great value basic TV,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy sound, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
Bought this TV before Xmas and it really ruined my Xmas viewing. Returned just after Xmas for a full refund. Tesco were great. Just wish I had read the reviews. Sound from day 1 was very poor. Tinney is the best word to describe it. However after about an hours viewing the sound deteriorated badly sounded like the speakers were rattling and high pitch voices became more and more distorted. The end of peoples words were just a screech. Became unwatchable and we switched back to our old faithful 32 inch Panasonic. would not advise anyone to buy this or any other Toshiba TV. Talking to Tech Support in Tesco they told me they had a number of returns for similar issues. Only 2 questions really, why don't Toshiba take notice, and why do Tesco sell this when it only means trouble!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
ordered it thursday morning and it came early friday,brilliant service..
The telly is very easy to set up, took about 20 mins with 10 of that spent getting it out of the box ..lol.
One thing i would say is get a soundbar because the tv speakers are terribly whiney and tinny,got a sharp for about 80 quid and brilliant....the HD picture is outstanding..watching footy is brilliant...and there are so many different settings for picture but i'm just using ;natural' might experiment with others later on...Fabulous set very slim..very light ...excellent picture 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
I have no complaints it arrived as they said easy to set up lovely picture very pleased I do most of my shopping with amazon now they havnt disappointed yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not for games, 15 July 2013
By 
S. Music (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
as a tv, given the price, it's fine. contrast can be really impressive at times and there are plenty of customisable settings. however, once you plug in a ps3 where details really matter, you notice that moving images are way to bluru due to lag and ghosting... this problem was a lost less noticable on my old toshiba set, a tube backlit one. some games are hardly playable because everything turnes into one big blur. other games look impressive due to contrast and sharpness, but only if there is no too much movement.
there is also a lot of bleeding around the edges. this really bothers me at night when a dark environment is begin presented on the screen. will keep the tv because of the price, but eventually i will have to get a monitor to play games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware - Firmware Issue regarding Backlight, 7 Jun 2013
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
While this is a fully featured television at a good price, there is an issue with the backlight that seems yet to be addressed by Toshiba. I noticed that while attempting picture calibration, the backlight controls seemed to do nothing for the image. Only after a bit of fiddling did I find that if I was able to change the power mode from "off" to "eco" then back to "off", magically changing the backlight from "Low", "Medium" and "High" actually had an affect on the televisions image.

Unfortunately you have to go through this procedure every time you turn your television on, rendering calibration useless as it will always default to a certain backlight level.

After being in contact with Toshiba, and them confirming their own test equipment has this fault and that it seems to be an issue with the televisions firmware, I have been informed that... They don't see it as a major issue and the best that could be promised is a update to the firmware in the unspecified future.

So if you care about calibration or consistency of your television picture, I would suggest you give this product a miss. At least until they decide that it is an issue that could possibly provide their consumers some bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
Bought this TV for bedroom, and am very happy,

TV Full HD, Looks great with very thin frame around the screen, if i'm being picky, the sound isn't that brilliant, this is an LCD TV with LED back light,

If using External drive to watch movies it needs to be formatted with fat32 file system, compatibility very good plays all my movies avi. mp4. mkv etc.

3 x HDMI inputs, not four as listed on some sites, 2 x USB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Toshiba 40L1333 40" Full HD 1080P LED TV with Freeview (Electronics)
We purchased the Samsung Ue40eh5000. What a mistake that was. We had to send it back 3 times in 5 months. As it suffered badly from ghosting/ smearing, blue halo around faces. White/grey lines and splodges formed on all 3 TV's.
We have had the Toshiba for about 2 weeks now. Have got to say that HD is good. But as we don't have that much HD content SD holds its own very well.
Very pleased we were able to return the Samsung and purchase the Toshiba instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3440930)

This product

Only search this product's reviews