Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sort of True Dutch Kidnap Thriller.
In 1983 Freddy Heineken head of the brewing giant that reaches the parts other beers just can not reach, was reached himself by a gang of petty criminals and along with his chauffer was kidnapped. They demanded a ransom of 35 million guilders. For those that know what happened to say anymore would be like saying of the film `Titanic' that it sank and there would be no...
Published 22 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history
The book (by Peter R. de Vries) is always better, although I read it more than 20 years ago. The book was written in collaboration with the late Cor van Hout and probably has its own veracity.

The film is fictionalised and quite well, except for the silly man hunt on St. Martin. In the book, the long stay in Martin became too tedious for van Hout and Holleeder...
Published 6 months ago by Ben D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history, 17 Jan. 2015
The book (by Peter R. de Vries) is always better, although I read it more than 20 years ago. The book was written in collaboration with the late Cor van Hout and probably has its own veracity.

The film is fictionalised and quite well, except for the silly man hunt on St. Martin. In the book, the long stay in Martin became too tedious for van Hout and Holleeder (Rem in the film) and they gave up, home sick. Simply a situation that doesn't lend itself for a film, and neither does a local uproar with locals chasing the baddies with machetes.

Rutger Hauer is carrying his weight and the younger lot make a good effort. Worth watching if you're not familiar with the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sort of True Dutch Kidnap Thriller., 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 21 Days: The Heineken Kidnapping [DVD] (DVD)
In 1983 Freddy Heineken head of the brewing giant that reaches the parts other beers just can not reach, was reached himself by a gang of petty criminals and along with his chauffer was kidnapped. They demanded a ransom of 35 million guilders. For those that know what happened to say anymore would be like saying of the film `Titanic' that it sank and there would be no surprises, but as I did not know an iota about this I will say no more of how it turned out.

The kidnappers were quite ruthless especially Rem as depicted in the film. It was his idea and he was the nastiest toward Mr Heinken, this is explained away as him blaming Mr Heineken for his father's alcoholism. His father having been a sales rep for twenty years for the company and saying there was an `unwritten law' that they had to drink with the punters - sounds like my ideal job to be honest. Well Rem's father now runs a fancy dress shop but is slowly dying and Rem uses some of the wigs and stuff as disguises to `case the joint' as is the underworld parlance. These are of the type famously sported by Inspector Clouseau in the Pink Panther films, and gave me a mild chuckle.

Well they go for the heist and what transpires next is a truly engaging and twisty tale. Mr Heineken is played by screen legend Rutger Hauer and he is rather good managing to licit both empathy for his predicament and a bit of loathing for his use of influence and wealth, and I spotted him drinking wine in one shot so not a good advert for his company either. As a side the real Heineken company paid millions of dollars to get James Bond to drink a bottle of their Export in the last Bond film! One of the kidnappers is a bit psycho that is Frans and Rem does the dirty and goes for his `mol' type girlfriend, so we have the inter rival shenanigans as well as the extra marital goings on with Jimmy the vino drinker to all add to the mix.

I really enjoyed this film and then did my research and found there are a few inaccuracies, one being there were five kidnappers and not four as portrayed but the team were threatened by one of the crims for using him, so all very forgivable. It lasts just over two hours and is in Dutch and a bit Of English and a tad of French, all sub titled reasonably well though not always literal. I also got to learn a bit about history that I knew nought about so all in all a very rewarding watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, the ending doesn't work for me. But i'm not the Director., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is not like the beer Heineken, which you could drink all day and night with no effect. But the film has a lot of truth for most of it. I liked the way it came together, until the ending which was very poorly put. This was no where near the truth, they gave up bored and home sick. Not being chaser by locals with machetes. Rutger Haver who is a screen legend, played Mr Heineken to the full, outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles ? Really didn't matter., 30 Mar. 2014
Wow, great film, from start to finish I was really impressed by this Dutch thriller. Based on a true story and completely gripping, I recommend anyone who doesn't like watching subtitled films to watch this one because I don't and yet didn't mind this in the slightest, in fact, I think it was well made, very absorbing and a good way to spend an hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT FILM, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
DAVID LE QUESNE (Great Britain Channel Isles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 Days: The Heineken Kidnapping [DVD] (DVD)
Knowing a little about the history connected with this film, and also aware of the aftermath, this film makes great watching. Rutguer Hauer plays a great part, he is totally remorseless in his pursuit of his captors, although the ending is a little slow it portrays accurately all the happenings in this true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 29 May 2014
very good film indeed, cant beat a true story and this one comes very close to it. I think Heineken did know the truth about the sale's reps though in which they were encouraged to drink it.
The film leaves you with this thought and it would be hard to dismiss the facts of running a large business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow, deceivingly - once you start to watch- it is gripping and you have to see it to the end., 4 May 2014
I started the film as I love this actor, he does not take on anything without a reason, I highly recommend holding on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21 Days : The Heineken Kidnapping, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 Days: The Heineken Kidnapping [DVD] (DVD)
Very harrowing. Good acting, very realistic and quite frightening that people can kidnap a well known person and keep them in such a miserable place. Good acting by Rutger Hauer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 2 May 2013
By 
T. KELLY "timjkelly23" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor Heineken went through quite a bad time but went about his revenge very well. Great dutch film and looks amazing in Blu Ray as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ., 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21 Days: The Heineken Kidnapping [DVD]
21 Days: The Heineken Kidnapping [DVD] by Maarten Treurniet (DVD - 2013)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews