Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (277)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast - Furious - Fun - Franchise!
Can't believe that it was 12 years ago. Back in 2001, I was in college, with all my mates going on about this latest film starring Vin Diesel, featuring flashy supercars, girls & insane car chases, called The Fast & The Furious. I watched it, enjoyed it...expected a sequel, maybe two...

But I NEVER envisioned an entire series would follow.

Cars,...
Published 19 months ago by R. Wood

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars All the things that hold the discs in place where ...
All the things that hold the discs in place where broken and so all the discs were moving around and scratched.
Published 12 days ago by Daniel Mclellan


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast - Furious - Fun - Franchise!, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Can't believe that it was 12 years ago. Back in 2001, I was in college, with all my mates going on about this latest film starring Vin Diesel, featuring flashy supercars, girls & insane car chases, called The Fast & The Furious. I watched it, enjoyed it...expected a sequel, maybe two...

But I NEVER envisioned an entire series would follow.

Cars, car-chases, guns, crashes, girls etc...it's a winning formula for dumb, cinematic entertainment, but the Fast & Furious Franchise has proven itself to be more than that. Why it's been able to thrive and generate a strong fan-base is because the makers have actually cared about producing something worthwhile. The series has prided itself on telling an actual story, with characters you can emotionally invest in, and after over a decade, the Fast & Furious has become (dare I say) an epic, with exciting stunts/action, with a well-developed story & deep-enough characters to make this phenomenon ideal for all action film enthusiasts.

Now, Universal Pictures have released several box-sets in the past collecting all-current Fast Films as time's gone on. The franchise has no signs of slowing down anytime soon, what with Film No. 7 out next year, and chapters 8 & 9 having been confirmed also. So, if you still don't own any of the Fast & Furious films on DVD, now seems as good a time as any to collect all the films (currently) on one bargain box set.

This box-set contains all (to-date) six films; The Fast & The Furious (2001), 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003), The Fast & The Furious: Tokyo Drift (2006), Fast & Furious (2009), Fast & Furious 5 (2011) and Fast & Furious 6 (2013). One slipcase, with three DVD cases containing two-discs (movies) each. In total, you've got under twelve hours of rollickingly good entertainment with plenty of thrilling stunts, yet also enough story & character to make it more than just mindless fun.

Throughout the series, there's a range of excellent, distinctive main characters, all of which are portrayed with the grit, determination & emotion that their roles require. Of course, Vin Diesel is the star of the series as anti-hero Dominic Toretto, the violent criminal with a moral code & heart of gold (deep down). Plus there's Brian O'Conner (the late, great Paul Walker RIP), the undercover-cop turned fugitive, Mia Toretto (Jordanna Brewster) as Dom's strong-willed, capable sister & Brian's love-interest, and Letty Ortiz (Michelle Rodriguez), the feisty, tough & tragic lover of Dom.

All these characters, plus the rest of the main-cast, are truly ones to love. There're no duds whatsoever. You can laugh with them, you can feel for them, and (as I said earlier), they're all so well-developed as the series progresses, that it makes the films even more special. And some genuine moments of hilarity & heartbreak counter-balance the films' high-octane action nicely. This is a series that's really quite remarkable.

Alas, the Fast & Furious franchise isn't a thing of absolute perfection, with the movies themselves varying in terms of quality. The Fast & The Furious deserves recognition for starting it all, and while it's still an entertaining spectacle with a good story, it IS surpassed by later entries in the series. 2 Fast 2 Furious suffers from Vin Diesel being absent altogether, but it deserves props for developing Brian O'Conner's character, and introducing the likes of Roman Pearce (Tyrese Gibson) & Tej Parker (Ludacris) as future mainstays to the series.

Sadly, the series is let down by the third movie, Tokyo Drift, which is truly the worst entry by far! In its attempt to further expand the Fast & Furious setting, it fails due to its cringing story (which resembles that of a god-awful teen flick) and the stunts themselves proving inferior to those in the other films! However, Tokyo Drift is of great importance to the series' overall spectrum, due to it (chronologically) being the final film of the series (before Fast 7), and it DOES have the likeable Sean Boswell (Lucas Black) & the EVEN-MORE likeable & ill-fated character Han Seoul-Oh (Sung Kang).

Despite Tokyo Drift being a major letdown, Director Justin Lin REALLY hits his stride with the following trilogy (Fast & Furious 4, 5 & 6), delivering the next three chapters with more-blistering car chases & hard-hitting action than ever before! As well as taking the overall story-arc & family of characters to new heights, with fab development and major twists & turning points along the way. Introducing more great characters in the form of Gisele Yashar (Gal Gadot), Elena Neves (Elsa Pataky) and Agent Luke Hobbs (Dwayne `The Rock' Johnson), the second Fast & Furious trilogy showcases the series at the height of its brilliance, due to its tighter story-structure and the action/excitement being at its peak! Watch out for the ending of Fast 6! I can't wait for Fast 7 next year!

Finally, special-features. There's an excellent range of extras on each film disc (barring Fast 6 which comes without any special DVD features here), boasting trailers, documentaries, audio commentaries, deleted scenes etc. Plus this set comes equipped with the option to copy the films onto other media devices. There's plenty to sink your teeth into, and all this plus the films themselves make this set an absolute bargain at twenty-five quid!

Overall, the Fast & Furious 6 Movie Collection is ideal for fans. If (like me) you love/like the series, yet haven't purchased any of the films (together or separately) before, then now's definitely the right time. Is any of this Oscar-winning-material? NO! But we don't love Fast & Furious for THAT! We love it because it's exhilarating and it's fun! That's all that matters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars #RIPPaulWalker, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan from the beginning. I have seen all of the Fast & Furious franchise bar F&F 6. I always watch the repeats on TV. Just love it and actions films. I would highly recommended buying the set. After the recent death of one of the leading stars (Paul Walker). I decided to buy the set in his memory. #RIPPaulWalker #Foreverinourhearts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Value Collection of a Great Series, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious: The 6-Movie Collection [Blu-ray] [2001] (Blu-ray)
Fast and Furious came about when boy-racer-ism was at its highest and preceded the likes of Need For Speed: Underground which marked an important date for street racing culture.

Fast and Furious: The early roots of the series where we follow a cop - Brian - who is looking to infiltrate and arrest a gang of criminals stealing goods from trucks. The first entry in the series focuses a bit more on street racing than the rest of the series.

2 Fast 2 Furious: Dropping one of the leading actors - Vin Diesel - 2 Fast 2 Furious introduces us to one of Brian's friends, Roman Pearce. Working for the police once again, Brian and Roman need to infiltrate and arrest a drug baron and his ring. To do so, they aim to become his drivers - tasked with beating other two-man teams to getting the job. This is where the focus of the series starts to stray from underground racing and becomes more about the criminal underground.

Fast and Furious Tokyo Drift: As if just to make me contradict myself, Tokyo Drift takes us back to street racing - if only for a fleeting moment. We follow a new protagonist - Sean Boswell - who is sent to Japan to live with his father after causing too much trouble in the US. Given his love of cars and street racing, it's only a matter of time before he thrusts himself head-first into the world of underground Tokyo. The difference being that this isn't just normal street racing, this is drift. Through a series of events, Sean ends up intertwined with a criminal ring and has to walk a fine line to stay out of trouble.

Fast and Furious 4: We return to Brian and Dom - Vin Diesel - and Dom has upped himself, taking on much bigger gigs than stealing electronics. Brian, working for the police, has been tasked with taking down a much bigger drug baron than he faced before and through a series of events, Dom is also targeting said drug baron - But Brian and Dom aren't necessarily on the same side in all of this.

Fast and Furious 5: Following the events of Fast and Furious 4, Brian has left the police force and Dom has a plan. Marking what could be the end of his life of crime, Dom enlists a crew to do the impossible - Steal 100 million from Reyes. But they're not just going to drive in and shoot up the place - Dom got a hold of the location of the money and has a plan, this is going to be a heist.

Fast and Furious 6: Dom is met with a ghost from the past and will do anything to get them. The problem is, this ghost from the past has no memory and is working directly under a new criminal - Shaw. Shaw has taken crime to a new level and incorporates technology into everything he does. He has eyes and ears everywhere and Dom looks to be outmatched. Dom gets a crew together to attempt to take down Shaw and get to the ghost.

The series gets off to a somewhat B-movie-ish start as the first two movies use a lot of cheap special effects, but as the series progresses it becomes apparent that this is a really great movie series and especially Tokyo Drift, 4, 5 and 6 which were directed under Lin - who seems to absolutely adore the series - the quality shows.

One problem with this box set in particular is that the discs for Fast and Furious 5 and 6 don't have any numbers on them and - in my case - were reverse positions from what all four of the other discs were. To make things a bit easier for you if you are unsure: 5's disc has one car on it, 6 has many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great films . R.I.P. Paul Walker, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious: The 6-Movie Collection [Blu-ray] [2001] (Blu-ray)
With the recent passing of Paul Walker it made my purchase of these movies even more poignant. Paul walker was great in these movies and worked off Vin Diesel so well . If you like cars then these films are for you . I highly recommed them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we want more, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
TREVOR SIMMONS "GNASHER" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious: The 6-Movie Collection [Blu-ray] [2001] (Blu-ray)
Love these films always have always will and can't wait for numbers 7,8 and 9 and (spoiler alert) the fact that Jason statham is the villain in the next instalment has me excited and the fact that we now know that this is the last film in the second trilogy and set before Tokyo drift is good news to carry on the franchise confused?
So was I so let me explain the order they run and you will understand so from that start,

The first trilogy

The fast and the furious
2 fast 2 furious
The fast and the furious Tokyo drift

The second trilogy

Fast and furious
Fast five
Furious 6

The 3rd and final trilogy
Fast 7
Fast 8
Fast 9

Oh and 4,5 and 6 are set between 2 fast 2 furious and Tokyo drift
Hope this clears up any confusion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB,FAB.FAB, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best films I have ever watched. Will get very good use out of these discs. If you haven't watched yet I strongly suggest you do! Well worth the price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great package for the fans., 15 April 2015
This review is from: Fast & Furious: The 6-Movie Collection [Blu-ray] [2001] (Blu-ray)
The collection contains only the film blurays (No extras/DVD etc etc) and is split into two discs per case and all three cases are then inserted in a sleeve that you see on the picture. The only complaint I have is that the sleeve is a bit thin as compared to other box sets that I have bought, makes it more flimsy.

Video:
All six films had great transfers. Good amount of detail and sharpness. The last two parts, Fast 5 and 6, looked the best.

Audio:
Fast and Furious 1,2,3 have a higher base level audio, meaning it was louder on lower volume as compared to usual blurays. And I really loved how the songs had an overall loudness to them, gave a really nice beat in every scene.

Fast and Furious 4,5,6 had the more usually audio level and coming from the previous three, the songs were mastered in a relatively lower level. Quality was great though, especially in Fast 5 and 6, probably owing to bigger budget.

I'm glad this arrived just in time for Furious 7. All previous parts on Bluray at such a great price. I got a chance to re-watch all of them just before going for the latest part and it was a profound experience. R.I.P Paul Walker, you will be missed. :'(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ride or die, 1 Aug. 2014
My favourite franchise of all time fast and furious with fast driving scenes and action scenes look no further even if it's the 10 second races in the first film the drifting toxics of Tokyo drift or the perfected planned heist of fast five. The brilliant bond dom and Brian has in the movie is what makes this movie because they are just like brothers striving to be better than each other it's hard to say you don't see it all in these movies as they include love scenes between Mia and Brian and you see an intense rivalry between Dom and Hobbs with a great fight scene. With included additions into the movie with comedy from tyrese and ludacris , brad and muscle from vin and dwayne the Beaty of Mia and michelle and the driving skill and brains of Paul walker ( May he rip) .after the sad occasion of the emotional resting of Paul walker who was a great man it's sad to see how fast and furious 7 shall be like but I haven't looked forward to seeing fast 8 like any think else

Well after all of that one bad thing is the artwork on the discs and cases is very bland and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent set of films its a must see box set for any fast and furious fans. Roll on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movies at an Awesome Price, 1 May 2014
By 
bikerchick77 (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought these for my son (6 yr old lol) (and myself ;)) who is a big F&F fan who loves cars and 'Brian O'Connor' Ordered on Tuesday at 4pm and they arrived Thursday Morn at 10.10 - great service guess who is gonna have to watch all 6 this weekend lol I Love It !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fast & Furious: The 6-Movie Collection [Blu-ray] [2001]
£21.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews