Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Five Star - Another winner from "Cherry Pop"
This review is for: "The Remix Anthology - The Remixes 1984-1991" Five Star (Cherry Pop 2CD)

Cherry Pop spoils us with yet another Five Star CD - this time a very generous double CD which is crammed to capacity - Disc 1 is 77:17 and Disc 2 is 76:23. Who would have thought we would get all of these mixes on CD over 25 years later? Many of these tracks are...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. D

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans
I bought this album because I recently stumbled across the back catalogue of Five Star. Being from Australia, they never made a dent on our charts but comparisons to the Jacksons (both the Jackson 5 and Janet) are justified. However this album really doesn't add anything to the standard greatest hits packages which are out there (and half the price). There are some 7"...
Published 8 months ago by James Lazenby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Five Star - Another winner from "Cherry Pop", 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
This review is for: "The Remix Anthology - The Remixes 1984-1991" Five Star (Cherry Pop 2CD)

Cherry Pop spoils us with yet another Five Star CD - this time a very generous double CD which is crammed to capacity - Disc 1 is 77:17 and Disc 2 is 76:23. Who would have thought we would get all of these mixes on CD over 25 years later? Many of these tracks are previously unreleased on CD, so this is a dream for the fans, but casual buyers should note that this is not a comprehensive collection of the group. "Rain Or Shine" is not included here at all and neither is a vocal mix of "System Addict" (see my note at the bottom of this review for more on those two tracks), so casual buyers may be best looking at the original albums those tracks come from or the Five Star "The Greatest Hits" CD. Although having said that, the "Greatest Hits" does not include the hit single version of "The Slightest Touch", which IS on this remix collection. So, there isn't a one-stop solution to getting all the best tracks. But if you like Five Star's 12" mixes and remixes this is an essential collection. The sound quality is excellent. Here's what is included:

Disc 1: (77:17)

01) "Hide And Seek (Extended Dance Mix)" - Despite being remixed by the legendary Francois Kevorkian, this single unfortunately failed to chart. However, the record company's faith in the group saw them having releases in America and across Europe. Interestingly this single was co-written by Trevor Horn associate Anne Dudley of Art Of Noise fame.

02) "Crazy (12" Version)" - Released on 12" only in the USA. This is a longer version of the track on "Luxury Of Life".

03) "All Fall Down (12" version)" - Five Star's first hit, reached number 15 in the UK singles chart. Surprisingly the first time on CD for this original 12" mix

04) "Let Me Be The One (Dance Mix by Hardrock)" - This was the second mix on the A-Side of the Philadelphia Remix 12". The mix goes through different flavours including sections with saxophone, a section with a harder beat and bassline with turntable scratching and samples from "All Fall Down".

05) "Love Take Over (12" Version - Paul Hardcastle Mix)" - Produced by Oattes & Van Schaik (who had their own hit in 1984 as The Limit with "Say Yeah"), their version was released as a limited edition remix 12" cleverly titled "The Limit edition mix" (which is included on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Luxury Of Life"). Paul Hardcastle was hot in 1985 thanks to his global smash hit "19" and his mix was released as the main 12" version.

06) "R.S.V.P. (12" Version - S'il Vous Plait Mix)" - The Urban Remix was included on the Cherry Pop special edition of "The Luxury Of Life", but included here is the original 12" version produced by Nick Martinelli (Loose Ends) and remixed by John Morales from the classic M&M remix team (John Morales & Sergio Munzibai).

07) "System Addict (Dub Addict)" - This is the M&M dub mix that follows the M&M vocal mix on the 12" single. The vocal mix is available on the Cherry Pop special edition of "The Luxury Of Life".

08) "Can't Wait Another Minute (M&M Remix)" - This is the hot U.S. remix which was the main 12" mix in the USA, but in the UK was featured on the 12" B-Side of "If I Say Yes". The standard 12" mix is also featured here on Disc 2.

09) "Find The Time (Shep Pettibone Remix)" - This is the Remix 12". Part 1 included here is the vocal mix, Part 2 was the dub. Most of the mixes the legendary Shep Pettibone touched turned to gold and this is no exception. No wonder Madonna enlisted Shep to produce the massive hit "Vogue". At this time he could do no wrong.

10) "If I Say Yes (Lew Hahn US Dub Remix)" - 12" B-side. The Urban Remix from the limited edition Remix 12" is also here as a bonus track on Disc 2. The original 12" version is available on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Silk & Steel".

11) "Stay Out Of My Life (12" Version)" - PWL's Phil Harding on the mix. This was previously available on the scarce CD single of "There's A Brand New World", but good to see this now available to a wider audience.

12) "The Slightest Touch (Slightest Dub)" - Shep Pettibone's dub mix from the 12" B-Side with Latin Rascal's style edits courtesy of Tuta Aquino. The A-side 12" version is available on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Silk & Steel".

Disc 2: (76:23)

01) "Are You Man Enough? (Shep Pettibone 7" Mix)" - USA-only single remixed from the "Silk & Steel" album.

02) "Whenever You're Ready (Crazy Dub Jammy)" - This is a vocal dub mix which was track 2 on the 12" A-side. The main New York Mix 12" version is available on the Cherry Pop expanded edition of "Between the Lines: Expanded Edition".

03) "Somewhere Somebody (Pettibone Mix - Short Version)" - From the 12" B-side. The long version is available on the Cherry Pop expanded edition of "Between the Lines".

04) "Another Weekend (Friday Night Dub Mix)" - From the 12" B-side. The Friday Night vocal mix is available on "Dance Classics Vol.31&32". The Saturday Night mix is available on the Cherry Pop expanded edition of "Rock the World: Expanded Edition".

05) "Someone's In Love (R&B Dance Mix without rap)" - USA-only 12" mixed by David Morales. A very nice track that deserved a wider audience, so it's good to see it included here.

06) "With Every Heartbeat (12" Mix)" - Produced by Wayne Brathwaite who worked with artists such as Melba Moore, Billy Ocean, Kashif, and Glenn Jones. It's well worth investigating this track if you don't know it already. This is an incredibly underrated soul track and every bit as good as Loose Ends, S.O.S. Band and Cherrelle. If it had been released under another artist's name it would have had more credibility, but because it was Five Star it got missed... until now.

07) "Treat Me Like A Lady (Tough Mix)" - Remix 12" version. The original 12" mix is available on the Cherry Pop CD "Five Star [Deluxe Edition)".

08) "Hot Love (Full Rub)" - 12" B-Side Mix. The original 12" mix is available on the Cherry Pop CD "Five Star [Deluxe Edition]".

09) "Shine (Slick-Hop/Boom Mix)". 12" B-Side Mix. The original 12" mix is available on the Cherry Pop CD "Shine [Special Edition]".

10) "Hide And Seek (7" Version)" - Still sounding fresh today. Punchy and immediate in this 7" single version.

11) "Winning (Extended Version)" - From the 12" B-Side of "System Addict". This is an extended version of the track from "Luxury Of Life".

12) "Can't Wait Another Minute (12" Version)" - A more straightforward mix than the M&M remix on Disc 1. I was surprised when this wasn't included on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Silk & Steel". But here it is now.

13) "If I Say Yes (Urban Remix)" - The Shep Pettibone Mix from the limited edition Remix 12". The standard 12" version is on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Silk & Steel".

14) "The Slightest Touch (Shep Pettibone 7")" - Virtually every Five Star CD and compilation has included the album version. So it's nice to have this mix included here. Shep Pettibone's magic sprinkling of fairy dust made this 7" single version shine bright and it's still sounding awesome in 2013. The full Shep Pettibone 12" version is on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Silk & Steel", although it sounds better quality on "Dance Classics 19 & 20".

As a side note for anyone looking for 12" mixes of "Rain Or Shine" or "System Addict"; "Rain Or Shine" is best obtained on "Phil Harding Club Mixes of the 80s" where it sounds superb (far better than on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Silk & Steel"). The "System Addict" 12" mix is available on the Cherry Pop special edition of "Luxury Of Life".

I hope that helps :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry Does It Again, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Gortonandy (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
Why can't the major labels do this??
A comprehensive remix collection remastered to the highest sound quality standards which gives the fans everything they've been asking for.
The eighties was the decade of the twelve inch single and it's taken all this time for some of these tracks to appear on CD. You will have your own favourites so I'm not going into detail - suffice to say it's a bargain priced double set and if you love 5 Star or eighties pop - or even just extended remixes - you should have this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for everyone who loves Five Star!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Shaun L. Houghton "Hotstepper1973" (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
Having been a Five Star fan since 1985, I have followed their career and loved everything they have produced musically. Fans have always dreamed of having a collection of Five Star's extended remixes on CD and finally, our wishes have come true.

There are some amazing remixes on here. Everything from the very early 5 Star days to the later releases from Sony/Epic is here in full crystal clear CD re-mastered sound! Deniece sounds better than ever! Five Star had it all, great pop songs, good looking, talented, a tight knit family unit, great choreography, slick videos. They were the epitomy of the 80's.

Personal favourites are The bonus tracks! Winning (Extended Version), Can't Wait Another Minute (12" Version) and If I Say Yes (Urban Remix). A special mention must go to Michael Silvester and Cherry Pop for their never ending hard work to keep fans happy with some superb re-issues and this stunning collection of musical mastery! I really hope Five Star themselves see how many die-hard fans they still have after all these years!

The CD comes with stunning artwork and a booklet telling the Five Star story from the people who masterminded their career at RCA Records and a mention too from Doris Pearson herself.

Buy this and all of the other re-issues if you loved the 80's, Five Star and some magical pop/soul tunes.

Far better than any of the tripe that's around today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The missing mixes!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
I purchased the first three Five Star re-issues,Luxury of Life,Silk And Steel and Between The Lines on their respective release dates,primarily for all the 12 inch mixes that they contained.These three releases had most of the mixes that I was after as I was a big fan back in the 80s and had all the singles on 12 inch vinyl.Five Star made the most of the format with long extended versions of the singles that didn't deviate too much from the original 7 inch mix.i hate it when bands change a mix so much the track is unrecognisable! This release ties up a few loose ends,with two 12 inch mixes of Can't Wait Another Minute,which did not appear on the first three cherry pop re-issues and is the main reason why I purchased this double cd.most of the other singles appear here in remixed form,another gem being the dub mix of System Addict.One for the hard core Five Star fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
wow finally a cd with all the 12 inch remixes of five star singles all in one place a must buy for any fan with a great booklet with loads of info and pictures well done to cherry pop please can we have more five star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star - The Remix Anthology, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
What can we say about this stonking great release from Cherry Pop? Its like hearing the tracks for the first time but with the clarity never before known. There are enough tracks on the two discs to give everyone what they love and we (the fans) love it. This makes a very welcome addition to our catalogue of remastered and expanded editions from Cherry Pop. Very well done to all concerned with bringing this excellent Anthology to fruition, you have done a marvelous job. Right! I'm off to play this CD again and again and again and again......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars for Five Star!, 20 Feb 2013
By 
L. W. Bowler "Lee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
Do you like PWL, Shep Pettibone, Polished 80s pop/soul? If yes, this CD is for you.

Cherry Pop have compiled a Five Star Remix collection, the first of its kind ever for Five Star. The collection spans their career 1984 to 1991 and includes all the hits you know and love. There are plenty of gems on this album, rare and vinyl only remixes. As a Five Star fan, I have been waiting many years for an album like this.

The sound quality is pristine, the artwork/booklet is immaculate - it's extremely well presented.

So go on, treat yourself - play it loud and let the music take you back in time. A truly talented musical family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 80's Revisited, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
This is a must for any Five Star fan. Brings back so many good memories. A must for all 80's babes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a fantastic remix CD, 21 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
This collection of remixed Five Star tracks is wonderful. It contains a massive chunk of their top Tunes from 84 to 91. My particular favourites are the Shep Pettibone mixes, the sound of these mixes is wonderful CherryPop have done an incredible job sourcing all the Master tapes..
So looking forward to the next CherryPop releases, from Five Star.

Highly Recommended not just for Five Star fans but fans of Eighties music and mixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star product, 21 May 2013
By 
T. Lamplugh Harrison (Tiverton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 (Audio CD)
Excellent reviews elsewhere so won't drone on..excellent collection for all tastes and nicely chronologically compiled with great 'bonus tracks' but I'm sure there's enough mixes, remixes, 12"s, 7"s, dubs, extended, M&M, US, Shep Pettibone mixes left for a volume 2...or even 3?!?...please Cherry Red...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991
The Remix Anthology: The Remixes 1984-1991 by Five Star (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews