Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
This story is very well written and is full of emotion and feeling. The characters are believable and the story moves quickly and you want to keep reading.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. V. Thomson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
I had to smile. It reminded me of an 11 year old writing for a level 4 SATS paper, who had been told to 'put in some big words every now and then' and to 'add some punctuation better than a full stop'.
It may have achieved a level 4 but certainly nothing higher. The writing style was incredibly old fashioned and vocabulary-poor, a cross between Agatha Christie and...
Published 6 months ago by Chris H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. V. Thomson (Lennoxtown, East Dunbartonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
This story is very well written and is full of emotion and feeling. The characters are believable and the story moves quickly and you want to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
I had to smile. It reminded me of an 11 year old writing for a level 4 SATS paper, who had been told to 'put in some big words every now and then' and to 'add some punctuation better than a full stop'.
It may have achieved a level 4 but certainly nothing higher. The writing style was incredibly old fashioned and vocabulary-poor, a cross between Agatha Christie and the Woman's Weekly my granny used to read decades ago.
Sorry but not for me, couldn't get further than 15% through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Self-publishing authors MUST employ a proofreader!, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
Her stories are quite good, and presented in an interesting way.
But (and it's a VERY BIG BUT) she MUST employ a proofreader!

(Hers are not the only self-published books to suffer from this problem, and even some Kindle books produced by so-called Publishers appear to have been read by OCR, or taken straight from an author's electronic copy, and not checked in any way before publication.)

Just on casual reading I found 205 errors in part I: of punctuation, wrong choice of word (e.g. 'hoards' rather than 'hordes'), words are omitted and sometimes repeated, her German is unbelievably badly spelt (considering that it's an important feature of the plot), and silly typing mistakes (e.g. 'in' instead of 'it').

If she wants a list of the errors in parts I and II, she can email me (john@rabancourt.co.uk), and I am also available as a proofreader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
I cannot recommend this novel as the author has a very poor command of the English language, and the subject matter proved somewhat far-fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
Loved this story,is there a sequel,,hopefully now that fransiska has arrived and Joanna has her baby Thomas.the story is set,not many miles from where I live.I like that.excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it, A bit far fetched but a good read. I have also read the sequel and enjoyed that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the prologue suggested a good read but, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (Kindle Edition)
awful!! the prologue suggested a good read but...!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleeping Dogs
Sleeping Dogs by Norma Elizabeth Rawlings
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews