Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDMUNDS ALBUM MIX TO TREASURE
I have been really disappointed by the murkiness of the sound quality of most of the other Dave Edmunds compilations, I love this one. Sit back, grab a large (Penderyn) whiskey and play "Born To Be You" loud! It's almost as close to heaven that an aging rocker can get.......
Published 20 months ago by N. Brown

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong place, wrong time.
This is American music from the fifties, don't expect for another Rockpile. Listen before you buy. I prefer the originals.
Published 13 months ago by Cicero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDMUNDS ALBUM MIX TO TREASURE, 28 April 2013
By 
N. Brown "garcon de la plage" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
I have been really disappointed by the murkiness of the sound quality of most of the other Dave Edmunds compilations, I love this one. Sit back, grab a large (Penderyn) whiskey and play "Born To Be You" loud! It's almost as close to heaven that an aging rocker can get.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome re-issue - great music with numerous extras, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
Apart from numerous compilations, CDs of Dave Edmunds original 1970s and 1980s albums have been few and far between.

Maybe at last someone is taking a lead and re-assessing Dave Edmunds back catalogue. 'Subtle As A Flying Mallet' was something of a 'lost' album coming between the cart success of 'I Hear You Knocking' and 'Girl's Talk'. Very much a one-man band at the time, Dave recreates with skill and feeling, the sounds of his heroes from the 60s and 50s.

The original album is made even better with the addition of the long unavailable tracks he created for the David Essex film 'Stardust' and excellent informative booklet filling the background to how the album was created.

If you like Dave Edmunds, you will enjoy this re-issue; if you don't know Dave, but like good old rock and roll and 60s music, you should not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars retro rock, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
this is an ace cd dave Edmunds produced a great run of retro rock albums solo and with rockpile.
it's time they reformed and toured again like a lot of lesser talents.
I saw them live once supporting Robert plant at the top rank on his first solo tour.
this cd includes the tracks performed by the stray cats in the movie stardust.
i'm not sure if david Essex's vocals are included, or they are Edmund's demos.
if so this should be heavily promoted for more sales.
remember when skirts went up and hair came down!
Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Expanded Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Edmunds, 27 Mar 2014
By 
S. Lake (West Midlands ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
He is a rare talent,a musician and vocalist with the abilty to see the big picture and measure his own perfomance accordingly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This cd is not subtle but brilliant., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
As a younger man I had this on cassette as well as having the singles. I always wanted the instrumental b side Pick axe rag on cd, and here it is at last. Brilliant & thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece., 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
This has to be Dave's best effort ever. When you think of the loving care and attention he has put into every track one must sit back and appreciate what a talent he is.
RPM,as usual, have done a lovely job with this reissue and all I can say is that you should have this cd in your collection as it truly jumps out of the speakers under the hand of a true Master.
Bonus tracks are thoughtfully included and the booklet notes are as informative as always from RPM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unsung Hero, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a replacement for my original tape version. This expanded album represents a good overview of Dave Edmunds work. Dave is without doubt an 'Unsung Hero'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great to finally have the Stardust Soundtrack items on CD at last, 31 May 2013
By 
S. Cant "Stevie C CD" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
A really nice remastered version of a classib - Great to finally have the Stardust Soundtrack items on CD at last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle in a rockin' kind of way!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
You can't beat a bit of Dave Edmunds, a man who knows how to rock with the best of them. The remastering has done wonders for the sound quality, in fact it's like hearing the album for the first time all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Listening, 6 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Subtle As A Flying Mallet (Audio CD)
Not a ground breaking album by any means but a really enjoyable listen.
I find the production over the top but I suppose that is how DE meant it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Subtle As A Flying Mallet
Subtle As A Flying Mallet by Dave Edmunds (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews