Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Near Future SF Thriller
Nexus is an nano drug that takes the mere human and make them into a transhuman; able to interconnect with others, is far more aware and is permanently connected to the web.

Kade, the main character has just upgraded it to Nexus , and is trailing it when he is pulled in by the ERD, an American organisation charged enforcing the Copenhagen agreement and stopping...
Published 13 months ago by Half Man, Half Book

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun story let down by editing/proofreading
This book is right up my street. Essentially a technothriller set in the near future where nano-based drugs have enabled people to build an OS on top of the brain and interconnect. From that setup we're sent around the world in an international espionage mission. There's a few subplots too addressing various issues centred around the military. Throughout the characters...
Published 22 months ago by CFB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Near Future SF Thriller, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Nexus (Angry Robot) (Paperback)
Nexus is an nano drug that takes the mere human and make them into a transhuman; able to interconnect with others, is far more aware and is permanently connected to the web.

Kade, the main character has just upgraded it to Nexus , and is trailing it when he is pulled in by the ERD, an American organisation charged enforcing the Copenhagen agreement and stopping these technologies becoming widely available. Three of his friends are pulled in, by an ex special ops guy escapes. As part of the plea bargain he agrees to help them spy on a Chinese researcher who has developed a similar technology. His partner in this sting operation has also taken the drug, and they are always in conflict as to whether it should be released to the public, or restricted. Other parties are looking to use his knowledge and after surviving an attempted abduction, the pace and action starts to increase until the explosive final scene.

I really enjoyed this. The technology is really cool, from the weapons that are linked to the DNA of the user, to the stealth items. I found that the technology was plausible, even though we are a few years away from realising it. The pace was fantastic, after some of the scenes I'd need to take a breath before ploughing on with the next.

Great book, will be getting the next one soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of all the post-human weirdness., 24 Nov 2014
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
We now know where the post-human weirdness so beloved of modern science fiction will begin; inevitably, a bunch of bright kids messing about customising a mind expanding nano-tech drug. The current street version (Nexus 3) gives a temporary neural network interface with other users in the vicinity; great for parties, no doubt. The authorities, just for a change, see it as dangerous and a threat to the status quo so a special unit has been created to prevent the proliferation of Nexus and its derivatives. Not surprisingly, and suitably hypocritically, the authorities are themselves enhancing the drug to turn their operatives into super-agents and for military applications. Nice.

So the scene is now set. Young Kade and his chums have developed Nexus 5 which persists in the brain and allows permanent connection to other users in the locale while the aforementioned government heavies (the ERD) try to track them down and generally bust them. What ensues is a splendidly taut sci-fi conspiracy thriller and while not multi-threaded, the narrative is by no means linear with enough well developed characters to maintain plausibility while the pace generally bowls along at a cracking rate. There is a bit of a lull in the action mid-way during the conference in Bangkok but it is necessary for the introduction of a raft of new characters & motivations and to get them into position for the blistering finale.

Needless to say, I really enjoyed this book. Proper speculative near-future science fiction, well written by an author who has plainly put a great deal of thought into the background science but without feeling the need to show off or bore the reader with huge info-dumps. Excellent stuff and the sequel, Crux, is now on my wish list although I’ve got to wait until April 2015.

Thanks to Amazon’s apparent trend in stocking fewer ‘minority-interest’ books (hoping, I expect, to boost sales of E-books & Kindle thingies), I bought my proper paper copy via the splendid BookDepository dot com. Interestingly, I believe that BookDepository is now owned by Amazon so I’m sure they won’t mind me plugging them in an Amazon review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun story let down by editing/proofreading, 8 Feb 2013
By 
CFB (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
This book is right up my street. Essentially a technothriller set in the near future where nano-based drugs have enabled people to build an OS on top of the brain and interconnect. From that setup we're sent around the world in an international espionage mission. There's a few subplots too addressing various issues centred around the military. Throughout the characters are put into difficult situations and tested to the maximum. Ramaz Naam clearly knows his science and manages to squeeze in a lot of 'could happen' extrapolations without bogging the story down too much with dull facts or explanations.

I would have given the book 4 stars, but I'm afraid I was annoyed by the editing and formatting. I'm used to a few errors in ebooks as it seems most publishers still haven't nailed the process yet, but this one had so many errors within it (I can't speak for the print), that I was frequently pulled out of the story.

For the benefit of the publishers the errors were: typos, inconsistent formatting of internal/nexus dialogue, hyphens where there shouldn't be any, and sometimes none where there should, missing words, and inconsisten italics. The hyphens were mostly a problem in the Thai names; sometimes they were there, other times they weren't (in the same name).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the future as imagined by someone who's creating it., 1 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Barrie J. Suddery (Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
A stunning "what if" view of future human development and evolution and a morality tale about modern "security" concerns regarding the web and internet free speech issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent action sci-fi – a solid plot, some engaging characters, credible-enough science and really good action scenes., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
A solid near-future action thriller, with some nice techomagickery (indistinguishable from science), well-written fight scenes featuring badass augmented superspies, some cursory philosophising and a cast of engaging characters. It's easy to read and a lot of fun, if not nearly as profound as it seems to be trying for.

For a little light reading, it's worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
Superb ideas and well written. Takes serious imagination and knowledge to write a piece like this in a way that is engrossing from the first chapter. Four stars simply because towards the end character development may have slightly given way to intense action and violence and I wasn't quite satisfied with the ending. Nevertheless brilliant read and food for thought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a page turner., 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
Naam paints a fantastic picture of what the world might be like in 2030 in this sci-fi thriller. The plot moves quickly and gathers a lot of pace as it moves. The characters are fairly well developed and believable. Usually I read books in small bursts, but this was such a page turner I could hardly wait to read the next part. Well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A high tech Pandora's Box?, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
Came across this browsing in Waterstones. I hadn't heard of the author before, which isn't surprising as it's his first novel. The concept looked interesting so I thought I'd take a chance on it. I wasn't disappointed.

The author does have a lot of real life experience in the IT field (working for Microsoft and Apex Nanotechnologies) so I guess he's well placed to write this book.

By and large the book is well written. There are a few points where the plot does drag a bit, but in my experience there are few books that avoid this! The technology is well integrated into the plot without getting too technical, and the action sequences make the most of it. Ultimately it's the story of the battle between those who believe that enhancements to human brains (via Nexus) are to be supported and further developed and those (in authority) who oppose them. The age old plot of human advancement verses those who fear change.

I suggest that it would make an excellent movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
Definitely a good read and worth my time and money. Explored an interesting area but as usual could have been much longer. The bad guys could have been portrayed as being more strategically complex, with more pragmatic objectives. I hate when the baddies have one single minded goal. The hero/heroine adapts but the bad guys don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, gripping and interesting, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nexus (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book very much. A real page-turner and sometimes so intense I had to put it down for a rest! A book based on software and action sounds an unhappy mix, but actually works extremely well. The action sequences are outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nexus
Nexus by Ramez Naam
£3.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews