Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2011
I have read all of the authors previous works and always found them to be thoroughly interesting and written with the knowledge gained from a vast experience. This book is about the lives and work of ten of the best detectives to have walked the corridor's of Scotland Yard. His research is second to none and he delivers to the reader, stories of how these detectives investigated and dealt with serious crime and the perpetrators of it in bygone days. Unfortunately, without being critical of todays hard working detectives, we will probably never see the like of these ten again. As always, a fabulous read.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
I found this book interesting and enjoyable. I have read all of this authors previous publications, and like them, his knowledge of the subject, enthusiasm for telling a good story backed by his obvious commitment to researching the subject thoroughly does come through. It is does give the reader an insight as to how policing of days gone by were vastly different as from today. Personal knowledge of miscreants, their habits and haunts, when conjoined with the detectives guile and gut feeling makes it, to my mind, a good read. Just some of the `tricks' that they used to apprehend a felon allows one to imagine the almost `chess game' that went on between the two sides, rather than sitting down and waiting for scientist to solve the case as is today's way. The fact that my Grandfather was at the siege of Sydney St and had recalled to me his story of the happenings, made the book just a bit more of a connection to me than most others. I would recommend it and any of Mr Kirby's other works.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Once again, I found Dick's writing very interesting and informative. He conjures up images of the good old days when Policemen were allowed to get on with their job - that of protecting the law abiding public and locking up the baddies, which they did with tenacity and professionalism. Sadly, the do-gooders have put an end to that with their insistence on preserving the civil rights of the criminal, without any thought for the victim.
I couldn't put the book down - read it in one sitting and enjoyed it immensely.
Well done again Dick. keep 'em coming.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
The Guv'nors is a departure from Dick Kirby's usual style of presenting police anecdotes. This book is very entertaining and informative - a 'must read' for every armchair or aspiring detective. To understand where policing is today, we should understand its origins,complete with human failings, personal tragedy and unorthodox methods. Mr Kirby has drawn from this trilogy of requirements perfectly. It is not an exaggeration to say that British society creates its own police service. The ten 'Guv'nors' were tacticians of their time: times when the courts, the politicians and the public connived at allowing the police to keep criminals in check by maverick and robust means because they knew that the alternative would lead to an explosion of lawlessness. Mr Kirby's book captures so well, the danger, the inventiveness and unshackled bravery of past police heroes. In my opinion it will ultimately take its place as an important historic document. Let us hope that Mr Kirby has ink left in his pen for many books of this genre to come.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Having a healthy interesting in the history of the British Underworld, I was thrilled to come across `The Guv'nors' by Dick Kirby. The book features ten of the most feared and respected of Scotland Yard's best, Greeno, Fabian, Butler and more, they are all here in fascinating detail. What a page turner this book is, I couldn't put it down and I was left feeling a bit sad when I finally came to the last few pages knowing that it was the end. For me the best chapter was the one on Fred Wensley, the man that started it all. With such and interesting and well written account of these legendary men who kept our streets safe for so long, it makes you release that they were a dying breed, and I for one want to thank the tireless efforts of the author Mr Kirby for bringing these men back from the dusty shelves of history so that the younger readers can read about the exploits of these amazing men.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
A great easy reading compilation of 'Guvnors' from the nineteenth century to almost present day highlighting not only human strengths but weaknesses also. If you have been in the job you can identify with a number of the issues raised which gives the subject more credibility, if you haven't the author has the skill to bring you in to the subject. Dick Kirby speaks about his subject in all his books with facts and honesty and is always a great read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
ANOTHER FIRST CLASS BOOK. THE AUTHOR HAVING JOINED THE MET AND SPENT THE VAST MAJORITY OF HIS CAREER ON THE *COBBLES* AND STAYED IN TOUCH WITH REALITY.HIS OBSERVATIONS OF 'THE GUVNORS' WERE MADE OVER THE YEARS HE SERVED IN HARNESS AND THE HIGH ESTEEM IN WHICH HE HELD THEM,FOR THE WAY THE 'JOB'WAS SUCCESSFULLY DONE IN THOSE FAR DISTANT DAYS,COMPARED WITH THE 'FORCE'AS IT IS TO-DAY SADLY.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
Once you start reading it, you will put it down when you finish it.
You will never see the likes of these men in the police force again.
So read how it used to be. If this is the first book of Mr Kirby's
you have read, try his other books about the Flying Squad. You will
not be disappointed.Thoroughly recomended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
How policing used to be, well detective work anyway, without all the modern electronic aides. From reading this you can work out how lawless London in particular would have become without these guys.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Fantastic explanations of how great men became great through dedicating themselves to the public service and motivating there team members to do there best
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse