Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly useful R guide...
Would recommend this book highly. It is an updated version of what could be considered an R "Bible". Explanation of techniques together with samples of code. It is a valued reference book that should be in every university library.
Published on 6 April 2013 by gtkovacs

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK introduction
I started learning R from this book. It is a good book. Sometimes the information I'm looking for is scattered, ideas or commands are employed even though they are really treated later and the index could be better, though. It would be a good idea to by two books to learn R. I bought Robert Kabacoff's R in Action, too, and jointly the books are what I need.
Published on 20 April 2013 by Imareader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly useful R guide..., 6 April 2013
By 
gtkovacs (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
Would recommend this book highly. It is an updated version of what could be considered an R "Bible". Explanation of techniques together with samples of code. It is a valued reference book that should be in every university library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK introduction, 20 April 2013
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
I started learning R from this book. It is a good book. Sometimes the information I'm looking for is scattered, ideas or commands are employed even though they are really treated later and the index could be better, though. It would be a good idea to by two books to learn R. I bought Robert Kabacoff's R in Action, too, and jointly the books are what I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
If u want to use R, this book is a necessary equipment. You can use it as a dictionary or as a textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive and well structured., 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
It's a massive volume and although it's full of information, the pages are not very crammed and I don't feel demotivated just looking at them. I'm fairly new to coding of any kind, have never coded before and never took classes in school.
We were introduced to R at uni, so when I bought this book, I did have some very basic knowledge of coding, R, and stats, which I think is definitely useful when using this book. Although it really does start with the very basics, so I guess anyone with any background could use it. I don't know how useful it is for more advanced users, but I could imagine it to be a good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for R..., 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
For me, this wouldn't be the best book to start learning R with, I would go for "R in Action:..." as it gives an easier start on the learning curve. Once you've gone through that book then this becomes the bible for 'how do I do...' or 'what does X do...'.

The examples are clearly written with understandable commentary covering what each does.

So far, the book seems to cover every (general) R question I've needed to have answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You need this, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
I'm getting thru this book, very well written. I would also recommend discovering statistics using R, both play off each other rather too well ! Get this book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
Blaise F. Egan "blaisefegan" (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
The latest version of the R bible. If you write R this should be on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The R Book (Hardcover)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The R Book
The R Book by Michael J. Crawley
£44.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews