Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring read
Straight forward, easy to understand, description of why we do what we do day after day without thinking. A scientific book without the jargon together with numerous relevant examples to explain every concept. Unusually for such a book, the author is English and so the examples relate to everyday life in the UK: no baseball here.
Every aspect of habits appears to be...
Published on 15 Mar. 2013 by Tony Jarrow

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy, but some good sources
I nearly stopped reading before I reached the practical suggestions because the long stuff at the start about how important habits are was fundamentally flawed. As I read I realised that many of the phenomena the author was taking as habits weren't really habits at all. He also kept saying that habits are unconscious, which isn't always true.

So, not a good...
Published 24 months ago by Matthew Leitch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, overly academic and bleeding obvious, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
It was painful reading this book.

I could tell the author was a typical middle class white British professor who had been reading academic papers his whole life, with no to little real life/practical experience.

If I buy a self-help book, I want you to give me solutions - quick and to the point. This book is extremely descriptive - the author gives tons of irrelevant examples - such as why Einstein was more creative than his students.

This is not what I want to know. I want to know what exactly a habit is and how specifically I can form a good habit and get rid of a bad one - quickly and effectively. That's why I like American writers - they speak to the point: the problem is A. In order to overcome it, you need to do B, C and D. Failing that's try Z. Give specific, relevant and precise examples. Start a new chapter.

As such, this book is an exercise is verbosity. It is full of sentences like: 'Research has shown that the stronger the habit, the longer it takes to overcome it' following which the author discusses at length the participants of the research, samples etc. I am sorry but you don't have to be a genius to figure this out. Or: 'Happy people tend to focus on positive thoughts'. Yea - butter is buttery.

I am a practical busy successful man who needs solutions not some ephemeral 'research'. As such, I regret I wasted time reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of the same, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
Lots of research and information. However, a lot of reading for very little understanding or direction on how to make or break habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Alphi1847 (Northern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
Just about reradable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kicking the habit, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
Rather lengthy explanations about why people form habits that don't immediately suggest a self-help plan. I'm begiining to lose interest before I've got to the practical help section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Really good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
I purchased the Kindle version of this book. It presents the psychology of habits in an understandable and enjoyable way. The quality was good. Highly recommended as you don't have to have done a psychology degree to understand the content!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It arrived in good time abd I am pleased with the product, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reasonable condition as advertised.
It arrived in good time abd I am pleased with the product. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The information is in his website, 21 April 2013
This book is badly written and quite boring. The information is dispersed, and you can obtein it by free in the author's webpage in a concise way.

It is no recommended to waste yout money in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes sense...., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
Makes sense....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New way of dieting, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Habits, Breaking Habits (Kindle Edition)
This diet suggests a 5:2 regime - five days of ordinary eating interspersed with two days of 'fasting'. Seems like an idea worth trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Habits, Breaking Habits
£7.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews