Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars68
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2013
I grew up watching the original Dallas (I'm 36) and so was very pleased to leran it would be revived. I stuck with the first season, I didn't find it boring but nor was it addictive viewing, but this second season is Dallas back on form, lots of fun double-crossing, deceit and surprises, and I think the acting is very good, I think perhaps it just took a season to establish itself completely. Of course it's on the far-fetched side but that's what's so appealing about series like Dallas. It still doesn't beat Revenge for me but it has edged past Nashville.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I love Dallas and have been waiting for months for the DVD. The show is terrific on channel 5 and I can not wait for season 3. I have already pre ordered the DVD and for anyone that has not seen the show PLEASE watch it next year or catch up on the episodes.
review image
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I've watched it 4 times now and I am still seeing new things that I missed previously, JR is still the best soap villain ever, sadly missed, but John Ross is filling his shoes very nicely
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I'm an original 'DALLAS' lover from when the original series began. This new production lacks nothing of the original. It's spicy, sharp, and the plot gets thicker episode after episode; just the like the oil the devious family pumps! The demise of Larry Hagman was handled spectacularly; especially given that it was thrust upon the directors when Hagman died mid filming this season.
I love seeing the older cast; Lucy, Gary, Valene all return for a piece of the action. Sue Ellen rocks as she alwas did!! But love the new cast too. Josh Henderson and Jesse Metcalfe really deliver as the feuding cousins, John Ross & Christopher. Roll on Season 3!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enemies unite to destroy everything the Ewings have built. This, though, is not the most formidable challenge faced. What can be done about the shock death of Larry Hagman so early in the season?

Already guaranteed to fascinate, DALLAS 2 gains in stature as superbly it overcomes the problems that arise.

How it does so is revealed in bonuses. Larry Hagman was filming up to four days before he died. The search was then on for unaired parts of scenes, so JR could remain on screen a little longer - he perhaps in a car responding to phone messages yet to be created? Within two months major rewriting had created the moving Episode 8, a goodbye with emotions for real running high.

The rest of the season had already been planned, but skilful reworking gave everything a far greater edge. Here came a chance to pay homage to the most successful "Dallas" storyline. Thus another "Who shot JR?". (A word of caution. The answer is a stunner, one few would have guessed before revealed in Ep.15's dramatic climax. Unfortunately writer Cynthia Cidre twice gives the game away in the otherwise excellent extended Ep.8 commentary. Best to leave this until afterwards.)

As ever, action throughout is fast paced, full of twists and turns - some of them preposterous, especially where newcomer Emma is concerned. The show's veterans are all on fine form (Ken Kercheval clearly enjoying himself as the by now almost manic Cliff Barnes obsessively planning the Ewing downfall). They are well matched by Josh Henderson and Jesse Metcalfe as John Ross and Christopher. Mitch Pileggi proves an impressively evil Harris Ryland, Judith Light scary as his control freak mother.

Inevitably bonuses include memories of Larry Hagman, both moving and funny. Particularly enjoyable is the "Dallas at Paleyfest 2013" extra, key figures with much to tell, Josh Henderson hilarious reading from a 1988 script where John Ross is six.

For many reasons, this box set is a splendid souvenir for "Dallas" fans - a worthy tribute to one of television's greatest stars and characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
The second series of a new look Dallas, just as good as the old series probably down to the fact some old characters are back,
JR Ewing (Larry Hagman), Sue Ellen Ewing (Linda Gray) and Bobby Ewing (Patrick Duffy) along with Cliff Barnes (Ken Kercheval).
Unfortunately this is the last time we see JR Ewing as the late great actor Larry Hagman sadly passed away during the series.
The strong storylines and cast keep the memory of JR alive, great to have Dallas back on our screens for the original and new generation of Dallas fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
A seamless transition with the passing of Larry Bagman hangs over season 2. This is great Dallas fayre at its finest with the usual back stabbing and underhandedness youve grown to know and love. For die hard Dallas fans this keeps us happy - roll on Season 3.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Absolutely addictive television.

I remember watching Dallas in the 80's when i was younger and i loved it, and was thrilled when it came back.

No matter how miserable i was, i could watch it and the theme tune could come on and i would smile and think i am in for a great hur of tv.

It never let me down, it was well written, gripping, drama filled, was great to see JR again, shame Larry Hagman passed away, i have to admit watching the episode they dedicated to him and changed the credits had me in floods of tears.

Just fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Extremly good movie, can only be recommended to all Dallas fans, I love it, looking forward to see more, I love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Love this series, Dallas is better than ever. Look forward to Season 3. The cast in the show are exceptional.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.