Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent, sensitive social history
A fine, substantial history of an unusual woman, Hannah Greg who, near the end of the Age of Enlightenment, becomes an important player in the cotton industry. You should read this book.
Published 7 months ago by Robert J. Seidman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A lady of cotton: a detailed account of her life
I decided to read this book after watching the Tony Robinson 'Real Mill' episodes on TV. I was somewhat disappointed that there is very little detail about Hannah's interaction with the children of the mill and most of the book seems to concentrate on her religious beliefs and visitors to Quarrybank.
Published 1 month ago by funkybookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent, sensitive social history, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fine, substantial history of an unusual woman, Hannah Greg who, near the end of the Age of Enlightenment, becomes an important player in the cotton industry. You should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought for my wife, who has already read and enjoyed it, after watching the tv series. she would recommend this as a good read for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable and enjoyable book, 4 Sep 2013
By 
D. Layzell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this interesting an illuminating. having visited Quarry Bank Mill in 1961 certainly added to the enjoyment. I really must go back one day - or several days as I understand there is now much more to see.
The gentleman who met us showed us an actual Apprenticeship document which had a hand-made pin in the corner; the wire had been coiled round at the top to make the pinhead, astounding workmanship and just one of several memories of the visit.
Hannah's story really adds to my visit and the memories of this wonderful site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my Mother-in-Law and she loved it. She had a family member in the Mill so thought she'd find it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUARRY BANK, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved visiting Quarry Bank, and reading the book after being there, made it more enjoyable, Everything connected to Quarry Bank is interesting, when visiting the Mill and Apprentice house you get to feel very close to the people who lived and worked there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A lady of cotton: a detailed account of her life, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lady of Cotton: Hannah Greg, Mistress of Quarry Bank Mill (Kindle Edition)
I decided to read this book after watching the Tony Robinson 'Real Mill' episodes on TV. I was somewhat disappointed that there is very little detail about Hannah's interaction with the children of the mill and most of the book seems to concentrate on her religious beliefs and visitors to Quarrybank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lady of Cotton: Hannah Greg, Mistress of Quarry Bank Mill David Sekers, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Lady of Cotton: Hannah Greg, Mistress of Quarry Bank Mill
David Sekers.
Still reading this book. Bought this after visiting Quarry Mill and previous to the tv adaptation.
Enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews