Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart of the Hero by Kari Herbert
Kari Herbert has brought a new subject to the table. We have heard for so long about the great explorers but little of that extra, essential, member of the team. I have always had an interest in the great explorers so this was going to be intriguing. Through her clever use of letters and journals she has woven a beautifully spun tale of desperate longing, utter pathos and...
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by Remus

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I didn't feel that I was learning much about the wives - really just a reflection of their explorer husbands.
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart of the Hero by Kari Herbert, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kari Herbert has brought a new subject to the table. We have heard for so long about the great explorers but little of that extra, essential, member of the team. I have always had an interest in the great explorers so this was going to be intriguing. Through her clever use of letters and journals she has woven a beautifully spun tale of desperate longing, utter pathos and extreme privation. These women were absolute equals to their partners. They were often a lot more interesting as they were less self-obsessed and prepared to take on the same challenges without the physical strength or experience. Kari tells their stories brilliantly, with a fine turn of phrase. She is not sentimental about them yet she allows their lives to come finally to life. It really is a tour de force and an incredibly important contribution for those who want to truly understand the subject of exploration as whole and what enabled our heroes to tackle such endeavours. It is well structured in that we don't follow one after another biographically or chronologically. Instead, each episode is dealt with separately so you don't get bogged down with one figure for too long. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget WAGs, the PEWs are far more exciting, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This brilliantly written book follows the lives of five wives of polar explorers (PEWs). For anyone with an interest in polar exploration this is a great addition to the vast amount of literature written on the subject. All these women are fascinating characters in their own right, free spirited, creative, energetic and all during a time when women were meant to sit at home. Nothing is exaggerated or dramatised, Kari Herbert tells the story as it is, quoting extensively from letters. And what a different world it was - months or even years between letters and perhaps because communication wasn't instant they wrote beautifully, at length and from the heart. Kari says she was advised by her mother to write truthfully but kindly and she has. The characters, both men and women were flawed, but aren't we all? Kari writes fairly and factually and I found this a riveting read and a book that will go on my shelf to be reread on a snowy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating stories of the colourful lives of the polar wives, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant read, describing the lives of the little known women behind the great polar adventures. Each has her own fascinating story - none were dull characters, and many had adventures in their own right as they played press officer and publicist to keep these expeditions in the public eye, while also keeping the home fires burning and the incomes coming in! Thoroughly recommended - indeed I have bought it as presents for several friends who have also been inspired by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A study of femine tolerance, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having attended a lecture in Southampton by the authoress, I had to obtain a copy of her book for my polar library to go with the other excellent books that she has written. There could not be a more informed authoress on this Polar subject, having been brought up with the Inuiit in Greenland by her Father, Sir Wally Herbert, and Mother, who epitomised feminine tolerance during her Father's long absences on his extraordinary expeditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredable, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart of the Hero: The Remarkable Women Who Inspired the Great Polar Explorers (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this book when i think what drove these women i feel a whimp!! but in all honesty it is aa great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book full of very interesting stories. Unfortunately, as with a lot of interesting books the print is so small that it makes it difficult to read for any length of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart of the Hero: The Remarkable Women Who Inspired the Great Polar Explorers (Kindle Edition)
I didn't feel that I was learning much about the wives - really just a reflection of their explorer husbands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews