Customer Reviews


1,992 Reviews
5 star:
 (623)
4 star:
 (527)
3 star:
 (347)
2 star:
 (248)
1 star:
 (247)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


267 of 278 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, tense and compelling.
I haven't come across this author before, but on the strength of this read, she's on my list of favourites.

This is a tale where every character has a different and totally plausible voice. I can't say I felt empathy toward any of them, but that was of little consequence in a story where the complexity of the plot takes the reader on a journey which is truly...
Published 24 months ago by Bookie

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly bizarre
With 2.5 stars given (I know rounded up to 3) I'm settling right in the middle with this one. After the first couple of chapters I was ready to give up but it got marginally better later on.

Good points:
It's a detective story which rattles along without getting bogged down in technical detail. At no point does it really sound like a police report...
Published 20 months ago by R P Rochford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a boring, boring book!!!!!, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
B. Harkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be so boring that I abandoned it about half way through. The plot and characters were absolutely ridiculous and I had no empathy with them what so ever. Good fiction has to have characters and a plot which in the readers' minds are credibly - this was not good fiction. Stella goes to look at the scene of the murder which happened on a July day thirty odd years ago. Fair enough I hear you say but when did she elect to go and check it out? On a pitch black January night with snow falling and a torch on her key ring for light!!! Why? This is the type of nonsense which litters the book. The character Jack is another piece of nonsense, living for weeks on end undetected in peoples houses, becoming Stella's confidant and being the best cleaner she ever had as well as being totally insane!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If this was a film..., 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Stella would be the hard faced, deluded, self important Nicola from Emmerdale. Jack would be Anthony Perkins reviving his Norman Bates character. Ivan would be smooth, handsome Nigel Havers morphing into David Walliams hamming it up as Miss Haversham halfway through. Sherri Hewson could play Isabel Ramsay to perfection and poor old Jack would be David Jason playing Jack Frost with a hint of the ever tenacious Colombo thrown in for good measure. The airhead of a mother who carts her son to her illicit assignations with her lover could be played by Helen Flanagan. Eddie Marsan would make a perfect Paul, the stalking pathetic ex.

What a load of rubbish! The murderer was obvious from about half way through but took so long to be 'revealed' that it was an insult to the reader's intelligence. There were so many red herrings that you could open a new Billingsgate and not one single character would you want to meet in a dark alley.

All of the characters (caricatures!) were mentally disturbed to the point where it became ridiculous. What grown man goes around talking about "my mummy"? Would you really want to spend any time with someone who is so odd that they can recognise what air freshener is being used not just by scent but by brand?

I did not like any of the characters and could feel no empathy for them. The plot was convoluted. The character development was all over the place. One minute Jack was stalking "hosts" and living in their houses, the next he's portrayed as perfectly normal.

I think it is this that threw the story all over the place. There was no consistency in behaviour by any of the characters and therefore it made the plot very hard to follow. The author didn't seem able to commit to who her characters were. The loose ends tied me up in knots and the typos and mistakes were really annoying and basic. In the acknowledgements the author thanks her editor - for what?

To sum up, the book was so full of waffle that it felt like walking through the River Thames mud at low tide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A variation on the cold case genre, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
The novel is based on an interesting premise. A retired police detective (Terry Darnell) has been haunted by a crime in the 1980s that he was unable to solve. While continuing to work on it he has a heart attack and dies. His daughter starts working on the case. She wants to solve it for her father, though they were estranged after he had left her mother when she was a teenager.

Kate Rokesmith was the victim. One summer’s day she took her four-year-old child on walk towards the River Thames where she was murdered. Although the child was with her, he was unable to say anything about the incident. Nobody was ever charged but her husband was the prime suspect. A neighbour, Isabel Ramsay, had seen Kate leave her home and this, therefore, gave the time of death. There were other suspects in the frame, but they had an alibi for that particular time.

The detective's daughter is Stella Darnell she runs a successful cleaning company. She employs Jack, a driver on the London underground. He is obsessive about numbers which he is getting from a battered copy of an A-Z. He wheedles his way into her confidence and assists her in trying to solve the murder. But he is a strange cove. He seems to live in other people's houses while they are still there – they are his hosts. This is a peculiar aberration which doesn't really have a lot to do with the plot other that make it less believable. Both Jack and Stella are idiosyncratic and obsessive. So too is Paul, Stella's boyfriend.

The concept it interesting, but the repetitious cleaning, tracking through snow, following obscure numbers, trudging the streets of London in the dead of night, and behaving in a totally unrealistic way really means that the plot doesn't work. There's plenty of tension, complexity and twists and turns so that the reader keeps at it but in the end it's a rather unsatisfactory journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Detective Story, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I have to confess, reading this was a struggle. It has a very good storyline (4 or 5*), but is written in an unusual and frustrating way (1 or 2*). Like many reviewers I had to decide whether to carry on after reaching 30%. I did and after 45% it becomes more interesting and worth persevering. The chapters yo-yo between past and present. References to cleaning methods and products abound (The Detective's Daughter owns a cleaning company) and were irritating. However, I enjoyed it enough to try the second book Ghost Girl (just started so cannot give review yet). If you like Whodunnits, it's worth a try, but it is likely that you'll either like it or hate it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The only book I couldn't finish, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
This book is memorable because it's the only one I haven't managed to finish. The characters and the storyline were completely lost in the endless descriptive writing. I stuck with it until I was about halfway through as other reviewers said it got better but unfortunately it never managed to grab me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry I could'nt get past 24 %, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I tried again and again to make progress with this book, but found it impossible. Why a narrative needs to contain so many peculiar people with mental problems I cannot imagine and the lengthy and seemingly endless overdone descriptions of places and things which fill the book, become very tiresome. I gave up before I was driven mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitty, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I am trying to read this story but I am finding it very hard. It just seems to be hopping about. Sorry! I just don`t like it. I am trying to read it all the way through but I find I am tempted to just delete it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars confusing !!!, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
M. E. Nagle (ilford, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Was looking forward to reading this book , but i'm afraid i gave up in the end, it just seem to be jumping backward & forwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed., 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
This is another cheap Kindle purchase which has disappointed. I must stop being tempted by them as they are turning out to be a complete waste of money! I got bogged down by a slow start which seemed to lead nowhere. We are introduced to quite a lot of characters early on, but the descriptions are confusing and tell us nothing (some people have called this atmospheric.) None of these characters elicits our sympathy. Their different "voices" tell the story, but it is very difficult to work out what this story is! and after several times having to go back and reread, I lost interest. Other critics have said it becomes clearer eventually. In my opinion, the author needs to get the reader's interest and understanding much sooner in order to keep him reading on. I gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 21 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
One of the most confusing books i have read, you keep going thinking it will get better and it does but not for long, a lot of unnecessary dialog very strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Detective's Daughter
The Detective's Daughter by Lesley Thomson
£2.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews