Customer Reviews


1,976 Reviews
5 star:
 (615)
4 star:
 (524)
3 star:
 (342)
2 star:
 (247)
1 star:
 (248)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


266 of 277 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, tense and compelling.
I haven't come across this author before, but on the strength of this read, she's on my list of favourites.

This is a tale where every character has a different and totally plausible voice. I can't say I felt empathy toward any of them, but that was of little consequence in a story where the complexity of the plot takes the reader on a journey which is truly...
Published 23 months ago by Bookie

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly bizarre
With 2.5 stars given (I know rounded up to 3) I'm settling right in the middle with this one. After the first couple of chapters I was ready to give up but it got marginally better later on.

Good points:
It's a detective story which rattles along without getting bogged down in technical detail. At no point does it really sound like a police report...
Published 19 months ago by R P Rochford


‹ Previous | 1156 157 158198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars At 59pence felt I was cheated, 27 July 2013
By 
JOHN "John" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Lost the will to live after about 30 pages, even at the knockdown kindle price felt that I should be recompenced for spending my time reading this drivel. The author should learn that "less is more" and cut all the (unnecessary) endless descriptive passages that didn't move the plot along. I did try to get through it, unsucessfully, life is too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Could this be the worst detective novel I have ever read? OK, it was cheap but that does not excuse the strange plot, characters who bear no resemblence to human beings and the very odd style. Oddly, a bit of the plot centres on one of the character's phobia about a hue of green referred to by its Pantone number - that must be some kind of first! Other 'features' of the novel include an obsession with cleaning, a man who secretly lives in people's houses and the kind of London Underground driver that would scare the users of the Underground. Weird stuff - don't waste your time on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Help, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most disjointed books I have ever read and I was tempted many times to give up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt get into it, 4 July 2013
By 
Jennifer Philp (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I am sorry i just couldnt get into this book.. i was confused with all the different characters at the begining that i actually lost interest in the book and where it was going so stopped reading it which is a shame as i never often do that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of 59p, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Never read such a load of old rubbish. Gave up a quarter of the way in . Absolute disappointment. Avoid at all cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars needed editing but gripping story, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Needed some more working on before being published good to read but tedious in parts due to too many descriptions and not getting to the action at times frustrating but good storline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars zzz, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
John H. Foster "Surrounded by Books" (Monmouth. Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cheap downloads are a bit hit and miss this was the latter. Some interesting concepts but it just went on and on until I just got fed up with turning the pages even at the 94% mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great classic detective, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a classic detective, I really enjoyed reading it. If you like an uncomplicated book, offering suspense and character development, this is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the detectives daughter, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detective's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Quite enjoyed reading this book would recommend it too other readers who like mystery things it was a bit slow to get good but after that it was enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Constantinos Theocharides (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book from a good writer. Its plot is very interesting and keeps the reader alert through the whole book. Very good price for hardcover edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1156 157 158198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Detective's Daughter
The Detective's Daughter by Lesley Thomson
£2.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews