Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, another Winner
Another scorchingly good read from C.J. Box. I discovered this series a few years ago with FREE FIRE and haven't looked back since. Strong characters, real dilemmas and great settings. I think this highly original crime series is one of the best around.
Published 18 months ago by Nicolas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine trail chase action makes this novel - 3++
"Breaking Point" is recognizably a C.J. Box work for mostly good reasons. Steadfast protagonist Joe Pickett is front and center through most of the book. The evocation of the Wyoming wilderness and the struggles of mere humans to survive in it, are matchless. And further along that track, one of author Box's classic chase/escape vignettes carries the book to its climax...
Published 17 months ago by Blue in Washington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
Was introduced to this author by a friend and he has never let me down with the story lines, excellent plot and the character so believing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't wait for number 14, 18 Oct 2013
By 
S. Ivory "Jamaica girl" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of the Joe Pickett books one after the other in order and am so sad I have now to wait until next year for no 14!

This last one was a really good read, as they have all been, and the twist at the end was a complete surprise.
The descriptions of the wildlife, the land makes one wish to be there. The people who live in these states are rightly proud of their land, and Joe is such a great find in a hero, who is never meant to be one. The interaction with family and locals make for brilliant reading, and the bureaucrats who spoil life for many, we all know someone like that!. Carry on Joe, we are all behind you for the next chapter in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Power corrupts, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
My first read of the Joe Pickett books so can not compare with others in the series, I certainly enjoyed this one.
Some of the descriptions, the forest fire for example, were quite outstanding.
A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Box at his best., 26 Sep 2013
By 
J. Newing "no longer boss" (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
I just love action thrillers. Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, Eve Dallas are three of my favourite heroes. But first equal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Pickett's latest adventure is gripping., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
Could not switch off my Kindle when I started this; good characters, strong storyline, with enough reference to previous tales to keep regular readers happy. Another winner from C.J. Box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Joe, 16 Sep 2013
By 
GelS (Walton-on-Thames, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
I've read one Joe Pickett novel, in[loaned] paperback form, so seeing a new one on Kindle at an attractive price meant a very quick decision to click the order button and download it. Just finished yesterday, this proved to be a wise investment.

For the uninitiated, Joe Pickett is a game warden in Wyoming who has a very firm sense of right and wrong that sometimes puts him at odds with the deskbound bureaucrats (Joe loves the outdoors aspect of his job). In this book two Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) agents are shot while delivering a notice to a local man clearing his land to build a home for his family. Assumed guilty without a trial, the man heads for the hills he loves and a huge, EPA-led, manhunt ensues. Joe senses something essentially wrong in the whole affair but is unable to escape involvement, with individuals vying for position and power instead of justice. The truth of the matter gradually unfurls, but not before events escalate alarmingly to a really shocking, satisfying conclusion, preceded by a roller-coaster sequence of events and excitement as nature shows her raw power. Even more dreadful is the author's note that the basis of the plot is a true story of big-brother manipulation (though not in Wyoming). C.J. Box lives in Wyoming and his descriptive skills all but transport the reader to the mountains and forests. A wonderfully absorbing series to delight the cowboy in us all. For under 3.00, this is a gem that could be a great introduction to a new protagonist and an author's work worth exploring further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
This is the 13th book in the series. I bought the first one about three weeks ago and have bought and read the rest one after the other. I adore Joe and his family values and his "Dudley-do-good attitude towards everything. Nate is an invaluable member of the books now and I want to read more with the duo in. Please hurry and release the next book, March 2014 seems too far away. C.J Box is an amazing writer and every one of the Joe Pickett books have had me hooked in the first few pages. Keep up the fantastic work only make it quicker for impatient people like me. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Point., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
My first reading of a book by C.J. Box went by quickly, because I couldn't put it down for long. It was a story based on a real life event, that shows up the awful bureaucratic system in the USA can easily be used to destroy people and places to history for no reason than a personal vendetta. Full of tension and a plot beyond imagination, it will encourage me to read other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
I am a fan of Joe Pickett and I enjoyed this book very much, Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle download, 31 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Sally P. Stackhouse (kent, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Joe Pickett 13) (Kindle Edition)
I've read all the Joe Pickett novels. Joe Pickett gets under your skin, his family are growing up in this 13th book. It can be graphic at times but it is so well written that somehow I coped with some of the horrific stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews