Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and up-to-the-minute wisecracks
Fred Metcalf wrote many of David Frost's best lines, he's also anthologised jokes and quotations for Penguin in the past. This collection is fresh, drawing from sources such as Twitter (which justifies a new purchase) and quirky.

I was pleased to discover some writers I'd never heard of before like Sally Poplin, who is quite sharp, and Michael Deacon, who...
Published on 24 Nov 2012 by William Cohen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok
its ok to dip in and out of if you are bored to while away the time but it is not for along read
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. Beverley Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and up-to-the-minute wisecracks, 24 Nov 2012
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Fred Metcalf wrote many of David Frost's best lines, he's also anthologised jokes and quotations for Penguin in the past. This collection is fresh, drawing from sources such as Twitter (which justifies a new purchase) and quirky.

I was pleased to discover some writers I'd never heard of before like Sally Poplin, who is quite sharp, and Michael Deacon, who writes sketches for the Daily Telegraph. It was also fun to find many of Boris Johnson's best.

As a speechwriter, I bought the book to add to my armoury of witticisms to relax audiences (as Metcalf points out many speeches fail because of lack of humour). You can't always see the value of a quote until you've tried it out, but these quotations are short and the familiar feedline -punchline structure is there in most of them. One quibble, there is no index of contributors in the back, which is useful when you're trying to find a quotation you half remember.

Still, it will be the first book I turn to in 2013 when I'm struggling for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Interesting & Funny Read, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. I. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable and insightful book for those who enjoy wit at its best. It makes you realise the power of a few well-chosen words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Beverley Evans "B. Evans" (Swansea, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
its ok to dip in and out of if you are bored to while away the time but it is not for along read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for dipping in to, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book to keep,to hand for those times when you're waiting around for something or someone. Be warned though, you will get glared at by other sitters and waiters, as you find yourself chuckling at some of the witty, or even cutting remarks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Humorous Politicians, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
An amusing enough collection, though most / all are already in the public domain. Passed an airport hour or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Political Humour., 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
You may like it depending on your sense of humour. There are of course some very good humorous quotations some you will have heard many times before. Nevertheless it could be useful to quote some of these at gatherings like weddings, etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars true to this day, 31 July 2013
By 
Mr. David D. Ryan "rasher" (worcestershire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
very good i think its quite funny its very true to what goes on in guverment they all hate each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A chuckle on every page, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a compendium of quotes on politicians, politics, political and other issues, such as equality, war, government etc. All delivered with wit and wisdom. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Neat and Nice - in its 18th Century sense, 9 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
Well organised with plenty of cross-referencing. The selection is broad and refreshingly unusual at times. While it may be useful for those who are writing professionally, it is also highly entertaining just for personal enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giving a speech?, 3 July 2013
By 
Tom Hannan (Stonehaven, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biteback Dictionary of Humorous Political Quotations (Biteback Dictionaries of Humorous Quotations) (Kindle Edition)
You'll find some cracking quotes in here, some attributable, and quite a lot of unattributed. Great fun reading it and thinking, "Ye Gods! How can I use this one in my day to day conversations?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews