Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to coppicing
well written and informative book on all aspects of coppicing and the crafts associated with it. A must have for any one considering getting involved in this ancient craft.
Published 24 months ago by Simon M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit lame.
Just a bit disappointing, the info is sound enough but thin on detail, there are better books covering this topic.
Published 4 months ago by Bosky Badger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to coppicing, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written and informative book on all aspects of coppicing and the crafts associated with it. A must have for any one considering getting involved in this ancient craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good teacher imparts knowledge without thinking of themselves. They are open and transparent and want to give over what they know to their audience. This book does just that. I first read about Rebecca Oaks in Ben Law's "The Woodland Year". Her passion for coppicing and woodland crafts are tangible and infectious. The Co-writer, Edward Mills, is just as enginging. I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in copice work; be they gardener or archeologist, bushcraft instructor or gamekeeper. It is full of practical advice that facilitates the learning without being condecending. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works for me!, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've found this to be an incredibly enlightening book, with a good format, useful illustrations and wonderful contextual information. I can only assume that the one negative review I can see, came from someone with considerable experience. As a 3D Design for Sustainability student, I, and my fellow course-mates, have found this book to be a valuable access point to many key traditional processes and contemporary applications, that are otherwise very hard to find practical guidance on. Thanks Oaks and Mills!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely book., 4 Jan 2014
By 
Lisa Allen (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really lovely book, bought for my husband for Christmas. We have a small coppice that is in need of some TLC and this book is perfect! Ideas with regard to looking after the trees, correct planting. Also loads of ideas for crafting your own things from the coppice - fencing, weaving, etc. My hubby is very happy with this book & is thoroughly enjoying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational and encouraging book!, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really helpful book for those people who like the idea of making coppicing work for them, but also for people like me who enjoy small scale wood crafting. It clearly explains the qualities of different woods and how to work with them, and is easy to follow as it is presented and written in user-friendly language, with plenty of references for further reading if required. It's inspired me to plant more hazel and ash in my little bit of woodland in France, and to try my hand at charcoal making and simple hurdles for the garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book on woodcraft, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as a gift well recived . plenty of clear photos and well laid out information , ideal for a basic over view of woodland crafts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practicioner's guide, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good overview, covering a wide range of considerations and aspects. Worth it, as a baseline, on which to set ones own foundations/level of ambition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was bought as a present for my partner and he loves it! really good read and we would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need, 8 Feb 2014
By 
T (Thatcham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppicing and Coppice Crafts: A Comprehensive Guide (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book, full of information advice and realistic advice. All you need to get going or reinvigorate your interest in this ancient art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews