Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting re-consideration of Nicholas and Alexandra
This is a well-written review of the reign of Russia's last Tsar Nicholas and his wife Alexandra. Be aware of two things - if you want facts you're better off looking in an encyclopaedia than a history book (although there are plenty of facts in the book) and secondly this book was written in the late 60s so feels a little dated. Even for those of us who remember and...
Published 19 months ago by Katelon

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of a romantic novel
It's okay read but if you want a thoroughly researched book into the revolution and the characters in it I would look elsewhere. There is 75% of conjecture and opinion and sometimes the author slips into a mills and boon romantic type novel with lots of descriptive mush that cannot be verified/accounted for. The book is not particularly balanced and is at odds with other...
Published 9 months ago by phil


‹ Previous | 112 13 1423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history lesson, 22 May 2013
By 
N Attfield "Neilatt-UK" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
Did not know much about Nicholas and Alexandra, except for the obvious, but very well written and very intereting. A real tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and tragic story, 20 May 2013
By 
MRS (KIRTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
I knew a little about this portion of Russia's history but this book made me aware of the undercurrents that influenced the actions of the people involved in this tragic true-life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling reading, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
Gave me a real insight into the personalities and traits of the Romanov family. It is possible to understand why the Russian populace became disillusioned with them looking from the outside inwards. Alexandra was clearly mesmerised with Rasputin but did what any caring mother would do to try and help her child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good follow on read after Peter the Great, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book as much as Peter the Great by the same author. A fascinating time in history and it helped me understand much better how Russia evolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but heavy going., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
I'm still ploughing through it. Heavy going history book with too many Russian names to remember. Never the less, compelling even though I know the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
This book gives good insight into the build up to the first world war, the reasons for it and the hopelessness of it. The sadness and arrogance of the Russian autocracy and their failure to understand the changing world is well depicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic and world-changing set of events that culminated in the First World War, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
This is a true story of how haemophilia carried by the Empress of Russia and passed onto her son, was a major contributor
to the Russian revolution and the murder of the whole Russian royal family. All set against the backdrop of the First World
War and interlaced with the intrigues of Rasputin.
Anyone interested in modern history should read this book to understand one of the reasons for the outbreak of the First World
War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A truly interesting book !, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
I was about 18 when all the stories came out in the papers about Anastasia having escaped the massacre and I used to rush home at lunch time to read in the French press any news about Anastasia, wishing so hard she was still alive! This book is very easy to read, informative on life in Russia at the time of the First World War and how and why it all happened. I would recpmmend it to anyone interested in History and in particular inEuropean History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nicholas & Alexandra, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
A really good read. The author brought the complicated period of history to life by making it interesting & understandable and at some points I couldn't take a break from reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very detailed, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicholas and Alexandra: The Tragic, Compelling Story of the Last Tsar and his Family (Kindle Edition)
very enjoyable if sometimes heavy reading. A lot of research must have been done. Maybe the best on this subject I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews