Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roddy Lumsden & Villains
Reg McKay is fast becoming the godfather of Scottish true crime books. It helps that he often has in tow Paul Ferris, once a notorious, feared Glasgow gangster. Ferris now seems to be on the straight and narrow, nearly six years after being released from prison for gunrunning (he claims he was only moving a box as a favour for a villain from whom he was picking up...
Published on 5 Nov. 2006 by Carrie C

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Not my kind of thing read it from curiosity how the other half live.I never read it to the end only half way i thought it rabbited on a bit.i felt a lot of the stories where skimmed over not any great detail but I would expect that kind of storyline wouldn't have to many details due to the delicate nature of some of the characters.
Published 2 months ago by sandieG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roddy Lumsden & Villains, 5 Nov. 2006
Reg McKay is fast becoming the godfather of Scottish true crime books. It helps that he often has in tow Paul Ferris, once a notorious, feared Glasgow gangster. Ferris now seems to be on the straight and narrow, nearly six years after being released from prison for gunrunning (he claims he was only moving a box as a favour for a villain from whom he was picking up counterfeit banknote plates - for 'one last big one', as the criminal cliché has it).

McKay and Ferris's latest volume (following last year's Vendetta which shifted plenty of copies) is called Villains (and wryly tagged 'It takes one to know one'). Though the narration is given in the first person voice of Ferris, McKay's style is unmistakeable, and it makes you curious as to how they collaborate. Villains is a lucky bag of tales of lowlife wretches, bent cops, con merchants and, as Ferris calls them, 'men of honour'. Some stories are offcuts from the Arthur Thompson saga, some are vitriolic accounts of those who have crossed Ferris, others are retellings of violence, derring do and audacious cons, from criminal raconteurs of Ferris's acquaintance.

Paul Ferris is hard to get to grips with - for a start he looks more like an affable football manager than a career hard man - and in The Last Godfather (McKay's book on the Thompson dynasty of Glasgow gangsters), he came over as something of a hero. That Ferris, as a small and bullied teenager, found the courage for revenge seems undisputed, tracking down his tormentors (mostly from the feared Welsh family, sworn enemies of the Thompsons) one by one and leaving one of them with his scalp hanging off. He soon had a reputation. After several years as one of Thompson's lieutenants (alongside Tam Bagan), Ferris was wanted for a high number of serious crimes, many of them carried out against other villains.

Vendetta caused a bit of a stir, not least in accusations of the involvement of various authorities and individuals in the wrongdoings of Paul Bennett, a Liverpool gangster who Ferris evidently thinks has got off lightly for his many crimes. Even Deadly Divisions, a novel written by the McKay / Ferris pairing caused ructions apparently - Ferris claims the police dug up graves in Glasgow's Necropolis cemetery, convinced that a scene in the book must have a basis in truth.

The revelations in Villains are not so shocking and indeed, MI5 are unlikely to be interested in Ferris's outing of Glasgow hard man Jaimba McLean as a secret bingo player. But the yarns are good. The most intriguing sections are those dealing with villainous exploits outside of Scotland - including the latter drugged-up days of Rab Carruthers, a Glasgow street player who later transferred himself, and his power, south to Manchester.

In the early 90s, before his last, lengthy jail sentence, Ferris spent time with him there, and also in London, where he and McLean, after an almighty pub brawl, almost set off a war between the Arif and the Adams families, still two of the most potent criminal families in England. The chapter on the Adams family struck me as the most revealing - with McKay's help, Ferris can come across as a likeable rogue, a campaigner for the 'honest criminal', who plays by the rules of the street, over the ruthless thugs and junkies who care nothing for innocents in the way. But I don't buy his portrayal of the Adamses as a misunderstood bunch who have been demonised by the media.

These days, Ferris is sticking to the business of making legitimate money out of our eternal interest in the illegitimate, with plans for documentaries on villains, including the life of TC Campbell, the former robber who was jailed for the so-called Ice Cream Wars arson murders. There are plans for a film about Ferris, with Robert Carlyle up for the lead (a chapter of the book charts Ferris's dealings with the brother of rock star Jim Kerr, who initiated the film, but is no longer on Ferris's Christmas card list, shall we say). Villains is another success for this writing team and I recommend it to fellow readers who lap up these racy, psychology-free, true crime confessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, 5 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit that I have purchased all the books by this author, and i heve enkoyed this book as much as I have the rest. you will not bee disappointed if you buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Villains.....Cracking read!, 22 Oct. 2006
Having already read and enjoyed the previous two efforts by Reg McKay and Paul Ferris The Ferris Conspiracy and Vendetta. I knew i wouldn't be disappointed by this recent book Villains - It takes one to know one, and i wasn't.

Villains takes the reader for a stroll down memory lane with Paul Ferris as he recounts incidents in his life and tells the story of some of the 'interesting' individuals he met while leading a life of crime as a notorious Glasgow gangster.

Some of the characters are evil individuals like the monster 'Hammy' a truly repulsive creature with a lust for young boys. Others are capable and once feared gangsters such as Rab Carruthers a ruthless Glasgow born drug dealer who ran a crime empire in Manchester. I found the book to be compulsive reading....I just could not put it down.

Once again Reg McKay and Paul Ferris have delivered the goods. I cannot wait for their next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 29 Dec. 2006
I bought this book for my boyfriend for Christmas. He read the book and really enjoyed it. I read a few of the chapters and thought it was a really good read with lots of interesting stories. If you are interested in gangster books then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet, 28 Dec. 2006
Another good entry from Mckay and Ferris. This book is of average length with a number of short chapters that are short and sweet so keep the reader engrossed in the book.

We meet a wide range of villians in this book and some are really colorful. We gain a rare insight into the Adams Family which is interesting.

Overall, a good buy and a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villains: It Takes One to Know One (Kindle Edition)
Not my kind of thing read it from curiosity how the other half live.I never read it to the end only half way i thought it rabbited on a bit.i felt a lot of the stories where skimmed over not any great detail but I would expect that kind of storyline wouldn't have to many details due to the delicate nature of some of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary folk., 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villains: It Takes One to Know One (Kindle Edition)
These guys have had some life,crazy fearless. I enjoyed this book very much, at one point I actually laughed out loud, never done that before with a book, luck I was by myself :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villains: It Takes One to Know One (Kindle Edition)
Once a opened the book a could not put it down. Good entertaining stories about different kind of villains. Wish there was more.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good to understand where they all fit in, 10 Jan. 2015
Your hear all the names flying about the street.good to understand where they all fit in. Fantastic read, made sense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villains: It Takes One to Know One (Kindle Edition)
Very good book to read. Gets inside of some of the people who know the streets. All of Paul's books are good reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews