Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2009
I love this book. It is so easy to use and I don't lead workshops or rehearsals without it now. The layout means you can just dip in and grab a game at a seconds notice and it has games for all ages, purposes and group sizes - it really is brilliant.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
Having read a copy of this book, I have bought one for each year group of my primary school. This book contains a wide variety of drama games, in categories such as warm-ups, trust games, characterisation, etc. Each game is clearly explained, with suitable ages from 6 to adult, length of activity, follow-ups, and so on. This is great to dip into but can also be used as a stepping stone for further in-depth activities in a drama lesson.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2009
What a great book. Loads of ideas which can be used as a starting point in a workshop or linked together to make an enjoyable and focused session. Completly invaluble. Creating workshops would be so much harder without this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
A clear and easy to read guide to a range of games. Each with age recommendations and instructions for resources and playing rules. For those who have been working in this area for some time there may not be many new ones but for those who are new to drama it will prove an invaluable resource. Would also be useful to those working with children in day care or teaching as many of the games can be used outside the drama workshop.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
this has got loads of great ideas for drama games - ideal for teachers or brownies/guides/summer schools/after school clubs etc. Clearly written and easy to follow and you mostly don't need any equipment etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
I use this regularly in drama clubs and in a variety of lessons for KS2 children. It offers a range of games categorised by purpose (eg training voice, energising, imagination etc)so it's easy to pick starter games for the particular session you have planned. I've also used the games in Xmas parties and such like as well as time fillers at the end of the day. An invaluable resource for any teacher.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
After an interesting and worth reading introduction, Jessica Swale launches into the body of the work. Well organised and explained, this is a brilliant tool to help you plan drama workshops and includes material that I have not come across before. At the present price it is a must have.
(also check out the Improv Encyclopaedia that may be downloaded free of charge)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I bought this book to help me plan an after-school drama club for primary school kids.
It's a great book and offers a good variety of games.
I had a limited space to work within, and this book offered plenty of games for small spaces.
The games are perfect for primary school kids and I can see how they'd be good for older groups as well.
The book is formatted in an easy-to-skim way. Great to grab and flip through at a moment's notice.
I'm very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
I've been a freelance drama teacher for 7 years and have read nearly ever book on drama teaching and drama games/exercises, and this is by far the best. It's very practical to use, with lots of excellent exercises for drama lessons explained very well. I have recommended this book to all of my drama teaching friends and they all love it too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Have started a drama group at primary school recently with having little experience or confidence in drama myself, so bought a couple of books for inspiration. This one is an absolute MUST!!! Every activity is easy to follow and categorised for everything from facial warm ups to improvisation games. The kids have loved all of them and I have too. I've been running the club for two terms now and there are still many, many activities we haven't tried yet. Most ideas would suit a wide range of age groups, right up to late teens (I teach year 5) and are easily adapted to suit topics and extendable for more in depth work. An absolutely brilliant book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse