Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book and then pass on the information that you have learnt to others
I came across Dr. Campbell's 'The China Study' and then read 'Whole'. Both books have the ability to change your life, or rather, SAVE your life. There is mind-blowing information here that will never reach the general public via the governments, nor the so-called 'health' industry, because it goes against everything that we've been taught and doesn't make anyone...
Published 12 months ago by VeggieRules

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult reading.
While the book is compelling, I felt there is too much repetition with "paradigm" and "reductionist" used ad nauseum throughout. The information provided is very detailed, and I feel could be made more simplistic, which would make it a more pleasant read. Not for the faint hearted.
Published 8 months ago by Maurice Hannon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book and then pass on the information that you have learnt to others, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
I came across Dr. Campbell's 'The China Study' and then read 'Whole'. Both books have the ability to change your life, or rather, SAVE your life. There is mind-blowing information here that will never reach the general public via the governments, nor the so-called 'health' industry, because it goes against everything that we've been taught and doesn't make anyone rich.
I honestly thought that I knew a lot about nutrition and I was convinced that my lacto-vegetarian diet was healthy.
Then I read these books.
Thank you, Dr. Campbell.
You deserve a Nobel Prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 31 Aug 2013
By 
R. Porter (Rochdale Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
This book should be read by anyone interested in health matters. Campbell shows us why the simple ways of avoiding and recovering from illness will be very slow to be accepted by mainstream medics, partly because mostly the solutions are in our own hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as usual, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
As a fan of The China Study, I could not wait to read Whole. And it did not disappoint! Thorough, informative and highly interesting. A must-have for anyone who wants to live healthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very important book, in my opinion., 4 Jan 2014
By 
L. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition (Kindle Edition)
I got this book to compliment a nutrition course I was taking and found out there is a lot more to the book than I expected. It explains why the nutrition industry functions as it does and why facts about nutrition are presented to us the way they are. Strongly enough,it's all down to money.

It has changed the way I think about nutrition and the health-care system. A very important book, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely informative, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Helen MacAllister (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
Professor Campbell's China Study was a most useful read so when this book was published I wanted to follow up on the issues surrounding Prof Campbell's philosophy. I wholly applaud the thinking - makes such a lot of sense as a lifestyle choice to become vegan. Good for health and a wise environmental choice too. No-one seems to take on board that consuming dairy products is so illogical. Cows' milk is the perfect food - for baby cows. Contains the goodies to make large baby mammals grow very quickly into very big animals. Not suitable ingredients for human babies who grow from tiny infants.slowly over many years into people sized humans. No-one(normally) goes up to a cow in a field and suckles from her udder - why do it from a bottle that has been whizzed up (to homogenise the fat content), rapidly heated and cooled (pasteurised) to kill some but not all of the bugs it might contain, extracted from a cow whilst she might be passing dung, transferred into a plastic bottle, wrapped up in a crate whizzed around a warehouse , then around the country on a lorry, then stored on supermarket shelves, then possibly frozen at home, then defrosted - and you think it is good for you?. Quite apart from the health aspects, the environmental downside of dairy farming is hideous and as for the animal welfare issues? New baby calves taken from their mothers on day one (so that the milk can be made available for humans) leading to stress for both cow and calf, heifer calves (females) being grown on to suffer the same hard life as their others and the males either crated up in the dark to be eaten as veal or shot as economically useless. An allowable amount of pus in every litre of milk is officially permissable and antibiotic residue is often present as well. Many cows suffer from mastitis (infected udders from where the milk ids drawn by machine) and lameness from the heavily swollen udders having been made to produce (by hormonal and artificial growth factor drugs) much more than they would naturally produce. The dairy industry engages in some very clever marketing designed to make consumers think milk is a good idea - but it is plain daft! I hated being made to drink it at school, frequently rancid and, in a third of a pint bottle sitting in an open crate piled up outside the school building, it was often not very clean and certainly really horrible. Professor Campbell's books are convincing because they are based not only on proven science but because they contain a lot of common sense and they highlight the industry skullduggery as well. Worth a read if you are interested in such things. I recommend both this book and its predecessor the China Study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What are you not being told about the latest nutritional research?, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
Colin

Colin Campbell, author of the China Study, ( where he presented the undeniable evidence for the benefits to health of a whole food plant based diet ) here presents an in depth argument of why and how the information has been largely kept from the public. Your blood pressure will rise as it is revealed how time after time the interests of the food industry, government, big pharma, the medical establishment and even nutritional researchers have been given priority over the publics right to have access to the latest research which would enable them to take control of their own health
If your blood pressure goes too high then you need to go on a plant based butrition plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important and life changing book I have ever read., 22 Jun 2013
By 
Miss Alecock-Hill (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
This book is phenomenal, it shows how nutrition is key to understanding the science of the human body but does it in such a way that you don't have to have a science degree to make sense of the information. Well referenced and interesting it is such a good book. Warning, if you begin this book with a closed mind, you will finish it with an open one and a serious reevaluation of what you eat and how you live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new way of thinking on food, 18 May 2013
By 
Mrs. A. F. Fairbank "mrscuddles" (Gods Own County - Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
This should be required reading for all those so called 'experts' in nutrition. Dr Campbells first book The china study changed by way of life. This book explains why we should change the established paradigm before our modern society collapses under the weight of our sick, pill popping, hospital filling people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult reading., 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
While the book is compelling, I felt there is too much repetition with "paradigm" and "reductionist" used ad nauseum throughout. The information provided is very detailed, and I feel could be made more simplistic, which would make it a more pleasant read. Not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most important books, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whole (Hardcover)
must read for everyone who wants to change their life or the better .mr. Campbell is my personal hero !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition
7.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews