Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work, 1 April 2013
By 
M. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work (Paperback)
I am retired now after a lifetime of work but these exercises and commentaries are useful for everyone, after we all have to do housework and no doubt voluntary work, cooking and so on. In fact the division between work and everyday life can be interchangeable just some of us still have to travel to do a job or have certain hours set aside for 'Work'. I am reading through it to give my life some meaning and strengthen my wobbly concentration. It is a useful practical little book and you can take one exercise a day and experiment with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't recommend this book too highly., 19 Jun. 2013
By 
A. S. Allen "Steve" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work: How to Find Joy and Meaning in Each Hour of the Day (Kindle Edition)
As always from Thich Nhat Hanh simple, profound and gentle advice on how to live a better life now - not tomorrow. I can't recommend this book too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, gentle, thought provoking book., 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work (Paperback)
I love Thich Nhat Hanhs work - reading his books, feels like massaging your brain. They bring a sense of calm and wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Gem!, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work (Paperback)
I always smile when I read Thich Nhat Hanh's prose. It's so clear, deft, and calm, not a single word out of place, yet full of deep meaning. He makes everything seem so simple. And so it is with his book 'Work', subtitled 'How to find joy and meaning in each hour of the day'.

'Work' is the perfect tool for any Buddhist who is looking to deepen their practice by integrating it further into their everyday lives. Whether you're brushing your teeth, eating your lunch, or in the middle of an important business meeting, mindfulness is achievable!

How can we deal with all that the world has to throw at us and remain clear-headed and mindful? is perhaps the book's overriding theme. And Thich Nhat Hanh continuously answers this question with joyful invention. At one point he playfully says, 'You don't need to become a full-time Buddha. You don't need to be fully enlightened. A part-time Buddha is good enough.'

But whether you're a Buddhist or not, 'Work' is a delightful read that brims with wisdom from cover to cover. It ends with a mini-manifesto entitled: 'thirty ways to reduce stress at work'.

It's an absolute gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 10 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Work: How to Find Joy and Meaning in Each Hour of the Day (Kindle Edition)
As always with Thich Naht Hahn books I start reading thinking of the pure simplicity of the suggestions shared and offered in the book. A great and interesting read a come back to book to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 14 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Work (Paperback)
Easy to read, nicely written, thought provoking. Makes a lot of sense and is very helpful. I have a couple of Thich's book and really enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work: how to find. joy and meaning in each hour of the day, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work: How to Find Joy and Meaning in Each Hour of the Day (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book. There are many exercises you can practice and it gives you a real insight into how you can improve the quality of your working life and life in general. Thich Nhat Hanh put s things in a way that is easy to understand and his words are full of compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for bring peace into your work place and within yourself during your working day., 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work (Paperback)
I found the book to be very inspiring, great tips for make your work place, a great place to be instead of thinking of it as being a task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work: How to Find Joy and Meaning in Each Hour of the Day (Kindle Edition)
very helpful and healing book.Many thanks.
I found the strategies very useful and look forward to using them every day in my workplace. If you are stressed at work,I would highly recommend this book. Very transformational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mindfulness....., 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work: How to Find Joy and Meaning in Each Hour of the Day (Kindle Edition)
Everyday situations either at work or at play.....explored wonderfully. What we always take for granted...almost redefined so wonderfully....Helps us get in touch with our own higher instincts.....enjoy the read and benefit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews