Customer Reviews


348 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong, dark journey into the heart of a fractured family.
A journey into the dark heart of family secrets. Well written with a lot of pace and depth. The Douglas family would appear on the surface to be the 'ideal'. As layer after layer is stripped away in a clever series of revelations it soon becomes obvious they're not. The plot's centred around the suspicious disappearance of mother and wife Lauren Douglas. However; it's...
Published 20 months ago by JK

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ugly, heart breaking tragic, unpleasant reading
I found this book to be unrelentingly disturbing and unpleasant. There are really no redeeming features, everything is black.

So much violence, grief, and anger, all acted out in front of a very well written, vulnerable and entirely believable small boy.

As a side dish, an unfortunate school of whales beach themselves hopelessly on the beachfront...
Published 4 months ago by Katharine Kirby


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong, dark journey into the heart of a fractured family., 25 Mar 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
A journey into the dark heart of family secrets. Well written with a lot of pace and depth. The Douglas family would appear on the surface to be the 'ideal'. As layer after layer is stripped away in a clever series of revelations it soon becomes obvious they're not. The plot's centred around the suspicious disappearance of mother and wife Lauren Douglas. However; it's really much more about the relationship between father and son, Mark and Nathan, which is well portrayed. As we begin to learn about the true extent of Mark's problems with anger there's a slowly building fear for the safety of Nathan. He's lost his mum and now his dad is slowly spinning out of control. There's anger, danger and uncertainty all around the little boy as he tries to deal with his new circumstances. The police seem to be in no rush to complete their investigation into Lauren's disappearance. Why? Is Mark implicated? We know he's lost his temper before and the way he's ramping up his frustration and rage he seems capable of murder. I'm not telling you anything - read the book!

Without a doubt the best part of Gone Again are the characters and the close look at what holds a family together and what can drive them apart. Overall a decent read with strong, contemporary themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
I've read all of Doug Johnstone's novels on my Kindle and was really pleased when this was released. I had it on my wish list and snapped it up when it was on the 99p Daily Deal.
Once I started to read it, I simply couldn't put it down. A fantastic story based around the relationship a man, whose cosy life is suddenly spun into turmoil, has with his son.
Changes in his life make him consider and realise aspects of his past and potential future, revealing thoughts and behaviours he never dreamed possible.
Johnstone writes in the real world and with depictions of emotions and reactions to circumstances which make you think about how you would behave in similar circumstances.
A great book and a fantastic read, would recommend this to anybody, already can't wait for his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and honest emotion, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
Gone Again is another top read from one of my favourite writers, Doug Johnstone. There's no larking about in this tale of one man's battle to discover why his wife has vanished but the raw emotion that Johnstone manages to capture is heartfelt and although I found it difficult to read at times, the honesty that comes over makes this such a worthwhile read. I was terrified not about what had happened to the wife but what was possibly going to happen to the father as his life got out of control. It's difficult to write realistic dialogue with a child but Johnstone pulls this off very well, and shows a good understanding of what makes children tick and how their little minds flash about from one emotion to another.

A great story of human emotions mixed up with a few gangsters and howling weather on the east coast of Scotland. One not to miss and I can't wait to find out what Johnstone comes up with next - a very classy writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
Never saw that end coming , kept me tutning the pages to the very end cant recommend this title enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
First book I have read by this author. Finished it in 2 days. Really gripping story. Would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read and well written, a real page turner, highly recommend this book, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
Intriguingly well written, believable and happy to recommend, good detective genre and captured the mood of the main characters perfectly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone against, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
It got to be one of the best books I've ever read. I really Didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from this author, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
Although the plot may not hold many twists or surprises, in a weird way this book is not about the story, the true enjoyment of it comes from Doug Johnstone's excellent writing skills, crafting characters and evoking moods and emotions superbly. I enjoyed this very much, reading it in two sittings (I had to sleep inbetween times!) and would recommend it, although if I'm honest, I enjoyed 'Hit and Run' by the same author more than this one. He has a knack of letting you get inside the characters and be there right with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Gone Again (Paperback)
This was a page turning read which started off slowly and grew in suspense until around half way when the pace picked up. It than ran all the way to the end. Fantastic evocation of life in and around Edinburgh. The descriptions of raw grief and life were excellent. And the characters of Nathan, Ruth, Mark and Taylor were well depicted and insightful. Thoroughly recommend this book for an enjoyable few hours reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ugly, heart breaking tragic, unpleasant reading, 8 July 2014
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone Again (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be unrelentingly disturbing and unpleasant. There are really no redeeming features, everything is black.

So much violence, grief, and anger, all acted out in front of a very well written, vulnerable and entirely believable small boy.

As a side dish, an unfortunate school of whales beach themselves hopelessly on the beachfront where the action mostly takes place.

Not my cup of tea, although I understand that there has to a peg on which to hang a tale, and most often that will be an untimely end for someone undeserving.

Maybe I'm a wimp but the fighting and rough stuff just took over. I felt it was too depressing and was glad to get to the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gone Again
Gone Again by Doug Johnstone
£0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews