Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story but disappointing no followup ?
A good story but disappointing no followup ?
Having read and enjoyed the tale which is leaves you hanging in mid air without a conclusion I discovered it appears the author has not written the follow on book, very irritating and disappointing. There were quite a few spelling mistakes throughout the book the transcript would benefit from a spell checker. I would read...
Published 15 days ago by D. Thomas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor attempt
0 stars.
Worst book I have ever read. The writing is naive in style and concept
There is at least one error per page. Poor grammar. Incorrect or mis-spelt words and sometimes extra or missing words. Lack of punctuation and capitalisation of words.
I kind of feel that I want my money back.
PATHETIC!!!
Published 11 months ago by thomas price


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor attempt, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
0 stars.
Worst book I have ever read. The writing is naive in style and concept
There is at least one error per page. Poor grammar. Incorrect or mis-spelt words and sometimes extra or missing words. Lack of punctuation and capitalisation of words.
I kind of feel that I want my money back.
PATHETIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story let down by typos, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
A good storyline that kept me reading and wanting more but the number of spelling and grammatical errors left me disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too dull for words, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
I can live with the many errors on almost every page- reign for rein, form and from, the complete absence of apostrophes and lack of the conventions of speech punctuation but the anachronisms of using precise dates and writing as though you have just downloaded a few pages of Wikipedia are inexcusable. The page after page of travelogue description was sleep inducing. The characters are well formulated but they will not make me buy another book by this author- he is just too dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful grammar, words missing, huge amount of spelling mistakes., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
Awful grammar, words missing, huge amount of spelling mistakes. Almost unreadable!!! WILL NOT PURCASE ANY MORE BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really really bad book. Don't buy this if spelling and missing or incorrect words will bother you.., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
I have been unable to read this book because every single page has spelling mistakes incorrect words or missing words. I will be trying to get my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book bad English, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
The book is rather slow and has so many spelling/ word mistakes that it means that you have to put the sentence to get her your self to make semce of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Templars, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
Having bought the book I glanced at the reviews; not the ideal sequence as the reviews were all bad. I thought I might as well read it to see for myself. It's a good story line based on historical elements, however the style is too basic for me with numerous repetitions of detail. Why does an author allow a book to go to print with so many spelling mistakes. I will not be buying the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the turnips, 28 May 2013
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
the plot was not too bad. however i was constantly distracted by the lack of spelling and poor grammar felt myself correcting the author. this book has not been proof read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was the author just learning English?, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
I've never read a book with so many spelling errors and words used in the wrong context eg. reign, rein and rain / bear and bare. You could be forgiven for thinking it was written by a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To Protect The Poor (not really, just very poor), 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars (Kindle Edition)
As previous reviews if you can get past the spelling mistakes, incomplete sentences and general untidy wording the result is still frustrating. I don't know whether the book was converted to Kindle by voice recognition or OCR but if it was the former it was possibly done by Albert E Arkwright or if the latter by an early ZX Spectrum. I found the story itself quite basic and with simplifications (or at least I hope they were intended simplifications) liberally coated onto political geography (really, "France" in the 1100's?) and religious beliefs of the Christians, Muslims and Jews in the Holy Land (surely "Outremer" at this time?). As has been pointed out why bother with the mysteries of the ages when a barely pubescent youth can sort it out without too much trouble? It is also slightly odd that a boy from a high value farm /vineyard can essentially just decide to be a Knight with next to no training (okay, the farm manager taught him a few good moves) to a standard where he is striking down battle hardened foes without too much bother. If you've ever read a Jack Whyte or Robyn Young book then my opinion would be don't buy this one unless you're the type of person who doesn't shout at televisions or, more to the point, throw Kindles. If you haven't read a Jack Whyte or Robyn Young book then my opinion would be to buy one of those instead - they might be several times the cost of this one but there's a reason for that.

Granville,....get your cloth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templars
The Templars by James Swinton
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews