Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Seven Classic Albums
Price:£10.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Grant Green's
"Seven Classic Albums" with forty tracks on four CDs means you get an awful lot of music.
But at the price which is close to £20 at the time of writing makes this not the bargain that other collections in the Real Gone Jazz range are/
the others come in at about a tenner which is amazing value.
You can of course get it for about £7 plus postage from an Amazon associated seller which is lot closer to the bargain that it's brother collections are.

The albums are
"Grant's First Stand (1961)",
"Green Street (1961)",
"Sunday Mornin' (1961)",
"Grantstand (1961)",
"Reaching Out (with Dave Bailey Quintet)(1961)",
"Born To Be Blue (1962)" and
"The Latin Bit (1962)".

The Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews.
The collection is on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case.
Did I mention that it is enhanced to boot for `superior quality' to make it a tempting buy?
Amazon, at the time of writing, has not provided a track list.
So this may be of interest and use?

As always if you see any typos add a note and I will correct and credit you with the correction- just add a comment......

[Disc 1]
Grant's First Stand
1. Miss Ann's Tempo 5.37
2. Lullaby Of The Leaves 7.39
3. Blues For Willarene 7.05
4. Baby's Minor Lope 7.17
5. Ain't Nobody's Business If I Do 4.24
6. A Wee Bit O'Green 7.47
Green Street
7. No1 Green Street 7.18
8. Round About Midnight 7.01
9. Grant's Dimensions 7.53
10. Green With Envy 9.43

[Disc 2]
Green Street (Cont.)
1. Alone Together 7.10
Sunday Mornin'
2. Freedom March 8.41
3. Sunday Mornin' 3.59
4. Exodus 6.58
5. God Bless The Child 7.20
6. Come Sunrise 4.31
7. So What 9.47
8. Grantstand 9.01
9. My Funny Valentine 9.06

[Disc 3]
Grantstand (cont.)
1. Blues In Maude's Flat 14.59
2. Old Folks 4.09
Reaching Out (with Dave Bailey Quintet)
3. Reaching Out 5.21
4. Our Miss Brooks 6.44
5. A Flick Of A Trick 7.45
6. One For Elena 6.05
7. Baby You Should Know It 9.10
8. Falling In Love With Love 5.22
Born To Be Blue
9. Someday My Prince Will Come 6.26
10. Born To Be Blue 4.53
11. If I Should Lose You 6.03

[Disc 4]
Born To Be Blue (cont.)
1. Back In Your Own Backyard 8.01
2. My One And Only Love 5.47
3. Count Every Star 6.19
4. Outer Space 8.43
Take A Number From 1 To 10
5. Mambo Inn 5.48
6. Besame Mucho 7.09
7. Mama Inez 6.37
8. Brazil 4.58
9. Tico Tico 7.43
10. My Little Suede Shoes 6.20
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2014
Some classic Jazz guitar by one of the genres finest exponents.
An essential collection for any Jazz guitar fan at a very reasonable price!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Idle Moments
Idle Moments by Grant Green (Audio CD - 2000)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.