Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Recordings from a Dinosaur.
I first started listening to classical music when I was fifteen - in 1964.
My first big crush was Herbert von Karajan.
I think I may have been influenced by the sheer look and feel of 1960s Deutsche Gramophon LP records.
They were twice as thick as American records, came in extra-wide plastic-lined sleeves, and didn't snap, crackle and pop like American...
Published 20 months ago by John Fowler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for klemperer fans a great feast
for Klemperer fans this is probably a great feast. Others may find some of these performances a bit indigestible. The big bonus of all the performances is the clarity and balance Klemperer achieved by dividing the fiddles on left and right. Listened to through headphones the results are really illuminating. However, despite my lifelong admiration for the rugged integrity...
Published 4 months ago by Robert Gardiner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Recordings from a Dinosaur., 4 Nov 2012
By 
John Fowler (urbana, illinois) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
I first started listening to classical music when I was fifteen - in 1964.
My first big crush was Herbert von Karajan.
I think I may have been influenced by the sheer look and feel of 1960s Deutsche Gramophon LP records.
They were twice as thick as American records, came in extra-wide plastic-lined sleeves, and didn't snap, crackle and pop like American records.

The infatuation with Karajan lasted about five years, until I discovered Otto Klemperer and Bruno Walter at my college record shop (what's a record shop?).
The American pressings were still pretty awful, but the music-making was revelatory: Walter was warm and comforting; Klemperer was imposing and majestic.
Still my two favorite conductors of the stereo era.

Both men were dinosaurs: holdovers from the Nineteenth Century who lived long enough to give us stereo recordings.

Bruno Walter made his conducting debut in 1894 and Otto Klemperer in 1905.
Both men's formative years were in the Nineteenth Century.

Young Bruno Walter could be tough. "Old" Bruno Walter with the Columbia Symphony was warm and fuzzy. Musicians loved him: Bruno Walter: The Edition

Otto Klemperer was never warm and fuzzy.
He conducted with his fists and a scowl on his face, and the music sometimes sounded like it.
He stood an intimidating 6 feet, 6 inches tall, and had a reputation (deserved) for mental instability and irrational behavior (nowadays he would be called bi-polar).
His intimidating appearance was the result of surgery to remove a brain tumor, which left him partially paralyzed for the last 30 years of his life.
The irrational behavior was with him all his life.
Intentional or not, this had an effect on orchestra players.

Pre-World War I musicians have a special mystique for me.
Inter-War musicians as well, but at a slightly less exalted level.
Post-World War II musicians much less so, though there are a few exceptions (Bernstein, Celibidache, Giulini).
The current crop, not at all.

I'm just too old for my own good.

EMI will be issuing eleven new Klemperer boxes at ridiculously low prices in the next 12 months.
This particular volume is basically odds and ends that didn't fit into other categories.

"Otto Klemperer Conducts Romantic Symphonies" seems like a contradiction in Twentieth Century terms,
but Otto Klemperer was actually quite a romantic character by Nineteenth Century standards
- something out of a Victorian melodrama by the Bronte sisters: Suffering and flawed.

5 1/2 CDs of the expected Klemperer repertoire: Mendelssohn, Schubert, Schumann and Weber.
4 1/2 CDs of wild card repertoire: Johann Strauss, Berlioz, Franck, Dvorak and Tchaikovsky.
The Mendelssohn is especially successful.
In this two-fisted performance, the Midsummer Night's Dream is not fairy music. I find it invigorating.
Johann Strauss sounds like Beethoven.
The biggest surprise for me was how well Tchaikovsky responds to the Klemperer treatment.

Warm Kingsway Hall and Abbey Road stereo.
Clarity guaranteed by Klemperer's old-fashioned seating arrangement - first violins to the left, second violins to the right - which was, after all, what these composers expected.
Not all violins scrunched together on the left, which is the modern preference.
Klemperer's strings were seated in an arc: First Violins, Basses, Cellos, Violas, Second Violins.

REMASTERINGS: The previously issued 1998-2000 EMI remasterings done in 24-bit resolution by Abbey Road Technology (ART) are here (about 80% of the contents of the box).
One disc was remastered in 2011 (Schumann Symphonies 3 & 4).

Highly recommended.

P.S. Toward the end of his life, Klemperer sometimes took up the baton again, but he just just stuck it in his fist. Not a baton technician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable cornucopia..., 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
Good things come to those who wait, as they say, and I have waited precisely eighteen years for EMI to reissue Klemperer's complete cycle of Schumann symphonies. The box set - Romantic Symphonies and Overtures - represents nothing less than an embarras de richesses - where does one begin? The set is positively bursting with classic recordings of such elevated status that it demands one's attention! Under Klemperer's baton Schumann's symphonies have both weight and transparency, losing that impenetrable thickness of texture whch obfuscates inner detail. These Schumann recordings are a revelation and I wouldn't want to be without them. Mendelssohn's "Scottish" and "Italian" symphonies exhibit similar clarity of instrumental texture and despite - at times - somewhat deliberate tempi and insufficient drama and urgency orchestral climaxes have power and conviction in abundance. The incidental music: "A Midsummer Night's Dream" is a true classic of the gramophone, fizzing and sparkling with magic and mystery. The "fairies" - the Philharmonia Chorus - "dance with heavier boots", as record producer, Suvi Raj Grubb, once said and the Scherzo's measured tempo lacks energy and could use a sprinkling of "fairy dust", but such minor shortcomings fail to detract from the overall performance which is truly magical.

Klemperer takes his scalpel - sorry baton - to the score of Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique and provides forensic analysis of the notes. The raging flames of romantic passion and unrequited love are somewhat subdued. Nonetheless, the subject matter, with all of its grotesquerie fully intact, is conveyed to thrilling effect. The Philharmonia play magnificently for Klemperer, making this one of the finest recordings of the work available. Franck's D minor Symphony gains in structural coherence when excessive emotionalism is absent and Klemperer's unmannered reading of the score unravels Franck's over-ripe orchestration revealing many details which are hidden in lesser recordings. Klemperer's reading of Schubert's Great C major Symphony is grand in scale and more imposing than is usually the case, as is the Eighth. Schubertian lyricism is more evident in the recording of the Fifth, but it too reveals its darker side under Klemperer's baton.

Klemperer brings Teutonic solidity and Brahmsian stateliness to Dvorak's Ninth Symphony. Once more, measured tempi allow the orchestra to breathe which allows much inner detail to emerge unhindered. There is some beautiful playing from the woodwind and power and precision from the brass and strings adds drama and dynamic contrast to this outstanding recording. Klemperer's recordings of Tchaikovsky's Fourth, Fifth and Sixth symphonies are lacking in orchestral colour and emotional depth - these are not the passionate outpourings of a wounded soul. Klemperer dignifies the music and spiritualizes Tchaikovsky's compositions adding to their stature. The various overtures, etc, are top-drawer recordings and brought much enjoyment, particularly Klemperer's heavyweight rendition of Weber's Freischutz Overture and Mendelssohn's invigorating "seascape", The Hebrides Overture.

The passage of time fails to diminish the impact of these recordings which remain relevant and highly desirable - a rich harvest indeed. I would have paid the asking price for the set of Schumann symphonies alone - my old set was stolen, back in 1994. As box sets go, it doesn't get much better than this, and at the asking price it's a steal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and original classical interpretations, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Ian Christians (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous bargain, bringing some long-deleted recordings back for us. They may be "romantic works", but they are conducted by a great classical symphonic conductor. The Tchaikovsky, Dvorak and Berlioz lose their national characteristics and stand extraordinarily well as written in the score, structure clear, almost no vibrato. To me their greatness is better revealed. I could go into detail but will just mention two. I was lucky enough to hear Klemperer conducting Berlioz' Symphonie Fantastique at the time the recording was made. The March to the Scaffold is terrifying, the Witches' Sabbath - taken at a uniquely slow tempo - totally macabre. The tension at the end - captured on the recording - was incredible. Schumann's Spring Symphony - seldom heard - has surely never come across more grandly - even the rather weak theme in the last movement is integrated perfectly. Klemperer was one of the greatest interpreters ever, his oeuvre has a consistency that is remarkable - integrity, structure and the shedding of new light. There must be a Klemperer fan working at EMI Classics to give us these great recordings for comparative peanuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning value and content, 22 Aug 2013
By 
George Hewitt (SOAS, London University, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
From the 1960s Klemperer's interpretations have always seemed to me compelling, and to find them available in such box-sets and such attractive prices (with MP3 downloads an automatic addition) proved too alluring to resist. The items arrived as advertised, in good order and speedily. Excellent value all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
A fine selection of OK's readings of some romantic symphonies and overtures.
He was over 75 years old when these were recorded and his interpretations
have a clarity and coherence second to none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great pleasure, 27 Dec 2013
By 
P. H. Walker "twearlie" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
As an official 'senior citizen' it is an gives an enormous sense of pleasure to be able to afford and easily download music such as this. I enjoy listening on fairly simple headphones or through a comprehensive hifi system and the results are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
Very different interpretations; clear, rich ,well played, powerful, thoughtful, not I`m sure everybody`s cup of tea and may be not first choice in a number of works but well worth listening to as valid alternatives. Particularly liked Berlioz, Schubert Dvorak and Tchaikovsky 4. Unfortunately, there were fault5s on 2 cds so returned to zoverstocks still waiting resolution, refund or replacement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for klemperer fans a great feast, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Robert Gardiner (Harrow, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Symphonies (Audio CD)
for Klemperer fans this is probably a great feast. Others may find some of these performances a bit indigestible. The big bonus of all the performances is the clarity and balance Klemperer achieved by dividing the fiddles on left and right. Listened to through headphones the results are really illuminating. However, despite my lifelong admiration for the rugged integrity of Klemperer's Bruckner, Brahms and Beethoven (particularly some of the earlier Cologne performances) and several fine performances of Mahler's resurrection symphony, I have to say that some of these performances are just too heavy and plodding for me. Compared with the vivacity of Zinman's Schumann, Klemperer makes the spring symphony into a lecture on spring by a professor of botany rather than a life enhancing walk in the garden. Although the Franck fares better it simply does not glow like the wonderful performance by Silvestri. Sadly the Frank also suffers by being separated on to two cds. This symphony really does need to be heard without a break! The Berlioz is very interesting and I surprisingly found Tchaikowsky's Pathetique quite revelatory. At the price being charged by Amazon the box makes splendid value for money but there are not many performances here that I shall be returning to frequently, and for people more interested in the music than Klemperer the Silvestri box with similar repertoire, at a similar price is a much more reliable recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romantic Symphonies
Romantic Symphonies by Otto Klemperer
Buy MP3 Album17.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews